We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bungalows”
Review of Alam Gili

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Gili
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful bungalows”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Alam Gili for 2 nights while in Gili T. The grounds are stunning and the bungalows were great. Traditional Balinese style with outdoor bathrooms. The service was also very good, the staff knew us by name our entire stay. The breakfast (included) was your standard American breakfast done Indonesian style, eggs, toast, fresh fruit and fruit juice served right on the white sand beach. They have bikes for rent, it's on the northern tip of the island away from all the crowds so you'll need a bike to get around (Or else those horse cart rides will add up).

Now, although it was a amazing place there were some cons. We found a gigantic dead cockroach in the room every morning when we woke up (3 total), and when the sun went down the Mosquitos got a little out of control in the bathroom. They did take care to put incense in the bathroom the second night which did help the mosquito issue a bit. That said.... it is a tropical island, bugs are inevitable. The only other complaint that guests may have is that it's kind of far away from the action. If you don't mind riding (and walking in some sandy parts) your bike a lot then your fine, or if your looking for seclusion you'll love it. Bring a headlamp for the rides back at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlsbadlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    76
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
66
156
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Based in the North of the island, Alam Gili is a really friendly and welcoming hotel on the beachfront. We asked for the Duyung room (the mermaid room) which was spectacular: the private veranda was enormous and the staff kindly bought us our breakfast every morning to enjoy up there in the warm morning breeze. The breakfast was really good, in fact the best I had during our trip – the pancakes are recommended!

The room itself was clean and comfortable in traditional Indonesian style and whilst the bathroom was a little basic (oh and evening lighting and only one small mirror can make things interesting!), it was the little touches by the hotel that we really appreciated: Each evening the staff bought a couple of mosquito coils up to the room and our four poster bed had a mossie net – have to say though, neither of us got bitten once during our four night stay. As well as towels, we were provided with sarongs. And you can fill up water bottles half price from the hotel.

There seemed to be enough sun loungers on the beach and the staff are close by if you need a cool beer. The beach itself has washed up coral so it’s advised to take jelly shoes or flippers if you are snorkelling- and get out first thing in the morning before the tide goes out.

All of the staff were really attentive but not intrusive and we enjoyed our meal at the hotel on our first evening. We ventured further south on other evenings where the meals were not as good. It’s much quieter in the north of the island and in fact we went for a walk around the whole island one day hardly encountering anybody else in the North. You are also located at the right end of the island to see the sunset over Bali…walk along the beach front with a can or two of Bintang and settle in to see the sun go down.

We will have everlasting memories of our time enjoying Gili T from the indulgent surroundings of our huge veranda at Gili Alam!

Room Tip: Get the Duyung room if you can - gorgeous veranda looking out to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineBaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaihingen an der Enz, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a lovely week at Alam Gilli. Great Service, very nice bungalows with open shower and good comfort. each morning we had our breakfast directly at the beach with very good service and options like fresh fruit, fresh fruit cocktail, coffee, bread, jam, egg variants. During the day you have a snorkeling opportunity directly infront of you and if you are lucky you see as well big turtles. Furthermore you have a very nice sunrise and as well sundown in the evenings directly at the Alam Gilli. This is a perfect location to relax as there is no noise around. Thanks to the team!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Wow!!!! What a place... Gili islands are beautiful but this place really is amazing. Bungalows set in lovely gardens.
Staff are welcoming and friendly, they knew my name from the second I walked in the place!!!
The room was big and spacious, with my own personal outside shower at the back of my room.
I had a verander with table and chairs and lounger bed with mosquito net. The staff come around at night time and cover your day lounger and bed with mosquito nets and leave a light on for you, put a candle on your table and light mosquito coils :)
The rooms don't seem to be very secure. I have a lock on mine but the doors can still be opened to a certain degree and a slim person could get in if they wanted to. I left my laptop with reception and occasionally left money etc in the room without a problem, theft on the islands is really not a problem.
Breakfast is included and it's more than you can eat!!!!! :) Also afternoon tea is included. During the day almost no one is around and you could be Limey to have the beach and sun beds outside the resort to yourself, I did!!!! :)
It's a long walk with a backpack in the midday sun, so I had to get a horse and cart, but walking without a back pack is 15-20 mins to main strip. It's soft sand most of the way so going can be tough in some spots. I hired a bike to cycle around the island, most of the way is ok but when the sand is too deep you can't cycle so there is a few spots where you'll need to get off and walk... But worth doing to see the whole island in less than an hour!!
I was extremely happy with my choice in booking here and I would defiantly come back. It's location is ideal for snorkelling on the northern beaches. :)

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cdub218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Qld
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

In my opinion, the northern beaches offer the best location for accommodation on the island, and Alam Gili, appearing like an oasis, is one of the few spots with shady trees providing all day cover from the sun, for lazy days spent snorkelling, snoozing and eating, and just a 10 minute stroll to the bars and restaurants along the 'party' strip.
We stayed in Suite Fish - a special treat - a grand 2 storey, 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom palace - exceptional value for 95 USD ++ per night. I was able to take a peek at the other rooms, all of which were beautiful, spacious, with that outdoorsy style bathroom. Breakfast, included in the rate, was very generous, we also tried lunch and dinner - everything was fresh and delicious. Afternoon tea, usually chocolate cake, is also included in the rate. Alam Gili scores extra points in my book for the staff - a lovely bunch of guys, always ready with a smile and happy to chat. There is a great reef right there for snorkelling with an abundance of coral and big fish - we came across turtles several times. If you are travelling with kids in the 5-7 age group i suggest you bring their own snorkelling gear as we found smaller kids sizes are not readily available. If you have soft 'office feet' you might also want to consider reef shoes. Other recommendations for food - Blu D'mare served the best italian food we have EVER had - Karma Kayak has a lovely beachside setting for delicious tapas and Scallywags has a most impressive menu. This was our first time to Trawangan and i have to say, the island and Alam Gili were definitely highlights of our trip. The so called party strip was certainly a bit tacky and crowded, with boats and backpackers, but not at all off putting should you want some music and a drink in the evenings.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, Suite Fish though is perfect for two couples or a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LJC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Our stay at Alam Gili met all our expectations and more. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The front desk manager was Putu and his smile would melt a heart of stone. Well, it did mine anyway. We commented that we were much happier being close enough to the centre of town to walk, ride our bikes, or take a pony cart but not so close that we were in crowds of people.
We rented bikes and snorkeling gear from the hotel, all very easy. Our breakfasts were large, delicious, and varied. There is an excellent Thai restaurant only two doors down.
The only effort we made during our stay was walking the 30 seconds from our villa to the beach.
Our villa had air conditioning but we never used it, all of us preferring the fresh breezes.
We are already planning a return trip and we’ll go right back to Alam Gili.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollyanna22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This lovely hotel is far enough away from the main drag that its peaceful, but close enough to not feel isolated. The adjoining restaurant serves delicious food and the service from both restaurant staff and hotel staff was fantastic. The rooms are set around a central garden area which feels like a mini jungle (in a good way).

In terms of the room itself....spacious, gorgeous bathroom, free selection of DVDs provided, noisy fan but not enough to keep you awake. There are large balconies outside the rooms with sofas and table and chairs which are perfect for relaxing evenings.

This is not luxury, but a great find nonetheless.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizChris_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.2 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
631 reviews
1.5 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
0.3 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
516 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Gili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Gili

Property: Alam Gili
Address: West Nusa Tenggara 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Gili 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alam Gili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Gili Hotel Gili Trawangan
Alam Gili Trawangan
Alam Gili Hotel Trawangan
Alam Gili Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing