We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens”
Review of Alam Gili

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Gili
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This lovely hotel is far enough away from the main drag that its peaceful, but close enough to not feel isolated. The adjoining restaurant serves delicious food and the service from both restaurant staff and hotel staff was fantastic. The rooms are set around a central garden area which feels like a mini jungle (in a good way).

In terms of the room itself....spacious, gorgeous bathroom, free selection of DVDs provided, noisy fan but not enough to keep you awake. There are large balconies outside the rooms with sofas and table and chairs which are perfect for relaxing evenings.

This is not luxury, but a great find nonetheless.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizChris_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    76
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
64
155
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Busselton, Western Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The villas are surrounded by an immaculately kept garden and are located on the northern coast of the island. The white sand coral beach is shaded by trees with one side being the dining area and the other side for relaxing on recliners. Right in front is the best snorkelling at Gili Trawangan. The well trained staff are both friendly and efficient and will arrange diving tours and anything else needed by their clientele.The included breakfast is delicious and the afternoon tea a treat. The restaurant can also provide lunch and dinner from their menu which includes the best Gado-Gado amongst many other inexpensive but delicious options.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianna_Busso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Loved the location, the breakfasts on the beach, and the service generally.

We can't complain about much except that we were unable to book a room with AC, and found it uncomfortably hot for sleeping, even with the giant fans they provide blowing right on us.

On the plus side, the pool remains refreshingly cool in the shade--even nicer than the sea itself for cooling off.

We rented bikes but found the stretch of road approaching Alam Gili was too soft for riding--we ended up walking the bikes for considerable distances.

Room Tip: Book one with aircon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spark_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

my boyfriend and i stayed at alam gili already in 2011 and we we loved it so much that we decided to come back in march 2012.
the staff is exceptional, very well trained, and extremely friendly - without being obtrusive. they definitely offer a service which fulfills all your needs and even more. you can enjoy the very yummy and fresh meals at the romantic beach or they bring it to your terrace....
they room rate includes breakfast, (large choice of fresh juices, home made bread and muesli, egg dishes and much more..) coffee and tea all day long and delicious afternoon cake from their own bakery.
you won't find any comparable resort on the island, especially the lush and neat garden with a little seawater pool, provides you with the paradise feeling :)
the very beautiful beach is cleaned every day and the reef is a dream spot for every snorkeler.
as we stayed there for more than a month we had the possibility to see all the rooms and bungalows, which are nicely furnished, tidy and some offer air condition.
all in all, we enjoyed our time at alam gili very much, and thanks to the staff, this vacation was one of our best so far!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathe79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
306 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I agree wholeheartedly with the previous review.
Alam Gili is a very nice small hotel with a very friendly team of staff. We stayed in the 'Mermaid' or 'Duyung' room which is gorgeous. It has the most fantastic balcony, overlooking the sea and is perfect for enjoying your breakfast or relaxing on with a 'sundowner' drink.
The beach in front of the hotel is well shaded and has plenty of sunbeds. The hotel uses the beach for its restaurant creating a romantic setting in the evening or a delightful place for meals during the day.
We did not use the hotel pool as the water was a lot colder than the sea. This is because it is positioned in the shade all day.
The hotel offers free internet use in its office and has a small massage room. It is situated at the quieter end of what is a rather overdeveloped and shabby island.
We were disappointed with the Gilis. We stayed on Gili Meno first and had a bad hotel experience there (see Tropical Hideaways Resort). This caused us to leave Gili Meno early and travel to Trawangan. We had a booking to stay at a private villa on Gili Trawangan but arrived too early. We walked around the whole island and looked at almost every hotel. In our opinion Alam Gili was by far the best. It has a great setting, the staff is good and our room was fab. We enjoyed our three day stay before moving to our villa - almost next door.
As regards to the Gili Islands. The development has been undertaken insensitivley, they are scruffy and dirty. We walked to the lookout point on the island through fields of household rubbish. The treatment of the 'cimodo' (horses) is downright cruel as they are overloaded, whipped and stand for hours in the sun with no shade or water. I would urge everyone not to use them. Nowhere is too far to walk on the island.
At night there is very loud disco music being emitted from the numerous bars on the more popular side of the island. It was certalinly not paradise in my opinion.
To make matters worse, we went for the supposedly great diving. My husband was very disappointed. Most of the coral has been dynamited. It was some of the worst diving he has ever experienced.
We enjoyed Alam Gili very much but would never return to the Gilis. There are much nicer places to stay.

Room Tip: The Mermaid 'Duyung' room is vastly superior to all the others at Alam Gili. It has the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The hotel itself is one of the very few good things on this island! Alam Gili is small but clean and green. The staff is very friendly and supportive. We had some accidents there and they helped us a lot. There was no one request which they did not satisfied. I believe they even red our minds and the service came before the asking. Very nice guys, always smiley! The breakfast on the beach was excellent. The location is great from our point of view - far from the crowd and still near enough to went out for a dinner around the central restaurants. We stayed in Star Fish bungalow - small but still enough for a couple. We had not AC but with three fans it was no problem at all. Sleeping quality is great. The staff treated the room with repellents against mosquitoes every day so we were just fine.
Generally we expected much more from Gili Trawangan island - small and green paradise with not too many people around, clean and natural. The reality was different - Gili T is very dirty island (I believe because of the tourists mostly) and it is full with drug sellers ("Magic Mushrooms" and marihuana were offered to us on every corner) which was very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregorexs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2012 and had a fantastic vacation. The villas are set amidst a lush garden which provides lots of privacy between units. Breakfast and afternoon teas are delivered to either the beachside seating area or your room. Service at the hotel was excellent - the staff went out of their way to make sure we had a comfortable stay from arranging our snorkelling trip to making sure that our rooms were free of mosquitoes at night. If we could have stayed for a month, we would have.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ima_kant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
502 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Gili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Gili

Property: Alam Gili
Address: West Nusa Tenggara 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Gili 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Alam Gili Hotel Gili Trawangan
Alam Gili Trawangan
Alam Gili Hotel Trawangan
Alam Gili Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing