We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Agree with previous review - good hotel, disappointing island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alam Gili

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alam Gili
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
301 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
“Agree with previous review - good hotel, disappointing island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I agree wholeheartedly with the previous review.
Alam Gili is a very nice small hotel with a very friendly team of staff. We stayed in the 'Mermaid' or 'Duyung' room which is gorgeous. It has the most fantastic balcony, overlooking the sea and is perfect for enjoying your breakfast or relaxing on with a 'sundowner' drink.
The beach in front of the hotel is well shaded and has plenty of sunbeds. The hotel uses the beach for its restaurant creating a romantic setting in the evening or a delightful place for meals during the day.
We did not use the hotel pool as the water was a lot colder than the sea. This is because it is positioned in the shade all day.
The hotel offers free internet use in its office and has a small massage room. It is situated at the quieter end of what is a rather overdeveloped and shabby island.
We were disappointed with the Gilis. We stayed on Gili Meno first and had a bad hotel experience there (see Tropical Hideaways Resort). This caused us to leave Gili Meno early and travel to Trawangan. We had a booking to stay at a private villa on Gili Trawangan but arrived too early. We walked around the whole island and looked at almost every hotel. In our opinion Alam Gili was by far the best. It has a great setting, the staff is good and our room was fab. We enjoyed our three day stay before moving to our villa - almost next door.
As regards to the Gili Islands. The development has been undertaken insensitivley, they are scruffy and dirty. We walked to the lookout point on the island through fields of household rubbish. The treatment of the 'cimodo' (horses) is downright cruel as they are overloaded, whipped and stand for hours in the sun with no shade or water. I would urge everyone not to use them. Nowhere is too far to walk on the island.
At night there is very loud disco music being emitted from the numerous bars on the more popular side of the island. It was certalinly not paradise in my opinion.
To make matters worse, we went for the supposedly great diving. My husband was very disappointed. Most of the coral has been dynamited. It was some of the worst diving he has ever experienced.
We enjoyed Alam Gili very much but would never return to the Gilis. There are much nicer places to stay.

Room Tip: The Mermaid 'Duyung' room is vastly superior to all the others at Alam Gili. It has the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    75
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
61
151
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

The hotel itself is one of the very few good things on this island! Alam Gili is small but clean and green. The staff is very friendly and supportive. We had some accidents there and they helped us a lot. There was no one request which they did not satisfied. I believe they even red our minds and the service came before the asking. Very nice guys, always smiley! The breakfast on the beach was excellent. The location is great from our point of view - far from the crowd and still near enough to went out for a dinner around the central restaurants. We stayed in Star Fish bungalow - small but still enough for a couple. We had not AC but with three fans it was no problem at all. Sleeping quality is great. The staff treated the room with repellents against mosquitoes every day so we were just fine.
Generally we expected much more from Gili Trawangan island - small and green paradise with not too many people around, clean and natural. The reality was different - Gili T is very dirty island (I believe because of the tourists mostly) and it is full with drug sellers ("Magic Mushrooms" and marihuana were offered to us on every corner) which was very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregorexs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2012 and had a fantastic vacation. The villas are set amidst a lush garden which provides lots of privacy between units. Breakfast and afternoon teas are delivered to either the beachside seating area or your room. Service at the hotel was excellent - the staff went out of their way to make sure we had a comfortable stay from arranging our snorkelling trip to making sure that our rooms were free of mosquitoes at night. If we could have stayed for a month, we would have.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ima_kant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel, but did eat at the restaurant a number of times and it was great! The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. The setting, among the scrub trees on the beach, was beautiful especially at night when they put lights in the trees. Well worth the walk away from town for a romantic dinner.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Yozhik202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We booked Alam Gili as a second venue having booked into Alam Shanti for the first days of our stay in/around Bali.

Alam Shanti (see separate review) was fabulous, but you'd never guess this hotel is part of the same Group.

The service was friendly but amateur and with little apparent training. As such your patience would be tested at times beyond what you'd normally tolerate.The room had a minibar with no stock, which was also a slight irritant. Mmmmm - ok you might say - so what... well the service was overfriendly, which at times also was very irritating.

What caused us to check out early, however, was the aircon. As the hotel did not have it's own generator (at May 2009) the daily powercuts (sometimes several/day) meant that the aircon stopped working. In this hot and sticky climate that meant that.we couldn't sleep thus losing any tranquility we had built in the day and totally ruining this as a venue for us.

Being able to sleep is a key basic facility of any hotel hence the 1 rating.

Locationwise this is at the quieter end of the island, which was part of why we chose it, but be aware that the beach at this end is corally and thus painful to sensitive feet : it is much sandier/smoother further south.

Facility wise the property was good - and similar in many ways to Alam Shanti. Room sizes are huuuuuuuuuuge and spacious, the lack of tv etc helps add to the quiet and calm which is why most will want to get away to Bali/The Gilis; but may not be for everyone. That said the pool is tiny and cold...

The food was good - though the beach special was overpriced and far from the best meal we had in our stay.

When we left we decamped to Vila Ombak - and though some of that facility would not be our usual choice (potentially noisy with the large pool area and bars) we had a Lumbung Seaside Room : which was heavenly and nicely secluded with a private pool.

PS We are late posting this : we stayed in May 2009. (Oops!)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OwenAWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I loved this hotel!
The rooms are beautiful, spacious and airy. I loved the outdoor shower!
The food is delicious! We took our breakfast on the beach! It was divine!
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly! The best I've ever met!

I advise everyone and it is indeed a special place and that makes me great one!

The snorkel near the hotel is brutal and free :)!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Alam Gili is at the quieter northern end of the island - about 20mins walk from the main strip. It's a great spot on the island if you are wanting to keep yourself seperate from the partygoers. It's also away from the mosque and roosters that others complain about being noisy.

The facilities are lovely. Nice room with a big bathroom and lovely daybed out the front. The bed is quite firm though. The staff are just wonderful - all so friendly and helpful! Great restaurant too. Others were making the trip to the top of the island just to eat there.

Right out the front of the hotel is a coral reef - magical! Walk out over the coral and there you are - hundreds of beautiful bright coloured fish!

Room Tip: We had the Kura Kura bungalow - very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AWholeNewWorld10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.3 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
1.5 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Gili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Gili

Property: Alam Gili
Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Gili 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Alam Gili Hotel Gili Trawangan
Alam Gili Trawangan
Alam Gili Hotel Trawangan
Alam Gili Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing