We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT! food service & atmosphere”

Beach House Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 114 Restaurants in Gili Trawangan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT! food service & atmosphere”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

we ended up going to the Beach House after our horrible experience at SCALLYWAGS. and it was a total blessing. everything was fantastic. The staff was super attentive, professional & friendly. They went over & above. The food was made quickly & tasted great! The BBQ choices were amazing & the price was super affordable. The ambience is candle lit with great music & the sound of the ocean. It was packed every night we went. it has a fun vibe & everyones happy to be there. Would definitely recommend it and would definitely GO AGAIN!! -- side note: the side salad bar was very limited but we didnt go there to fill up on that. (the Snapper & the grilled Calamari was spectacular!)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    309
    102
    39
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Just good atmosphere and great cocktail”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I had dinner with my friends during my trip in Trawangan. I need to say that the food was just an average, well at least it was below my expectation. The salad selection was average, nothing special i guess. My friend ordered chicken taliwang, he was expecting for a very spicy and tasteful chicken taliwang. But i guess the restaurant had to lower the spiciness of the food because its customers were foreigner and not expecting a food that was too spicy. So the chicken taliwang was a letdown for us. We also ordered soto ayam, and again it was an average. For main course we ordered grilled seafood, prawn and squid. The prawn and squid were just another disappointment for us. We really think that they really have to put an extra flavoring on their grilled menu and make it more tasteful.

The cocktails were great, well at least that was what my friends said. Based on the confession of my friends, you should try their espresso martini. It was awesome.

The atmosphere was great, you can also enjoy a music from the bar next to it. The staffs were also great, and very helpful. But overall, despite the bad food they served, the ambiance and the drinks selection were great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rizki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This was my pick on gili!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This places makes ridiculously good banana pancakes for breaky!
Service was attentive, quick and the quality of food is great so we came back for more @ dinner time and had the seafood grill.
We had the snapper, prawns and calamari was amazing..included in this price is the array of fresh salads, baked potato and sauces...highly recommend!
Only thing to watch out for is the stray cats on the island might want to steal your dinner!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chasingthesun11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good BBQ but uninspired sides”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We went trough quite a few “choose-your-fish/meat-and-have-it-BBQ” places on the island. All basically have the same concept of super-fresh fish and seafood you pick and have grilled by the chefs. All places also have an included buffet with veggies, sauces and such. Beach house unfortunately just had plain tomatoes, salad etc. in separate bowls.

The BBQ itself was great and flavorful, especially the scampi’s that were super yummy. The place itself is lively and you could easily hang around for a beer or two.

Best – Scampis
Good – Ambience
Not so good – Side orders

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheSymmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Might be good for seafood, but...”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our hotel told us this was one of the top restaurants on the island, so we went there for lunch. I'm a vegetarian, so I wasn't expecting to be wowed since The Beach House is known for good seafood, but even my restrained expectations we're not met.

I have a pet peeve - menus that don't list all main ingredients (I understand a little editing is necessary). The saffron tagliatelle with roasted tomatoes and rocket arrived with a rich cream sauce and only a couple small tomatoes, cream wasn't mentioned on the menu - I never order creamy pasta dishes. We also ordered a veggie pie with pumpkin, goat cheese and spinach with mashed potatoes and a salad. It was bland, with no sign of goat cheese (which would have added a lot of flavor). The "salad" was a couple leaves of iceberg lettuce, more of a garnish than a salad. I appreciate restaurants making efforts to include vegetarian options on the menu, but I'd prefer one really well-done dish to a choice among several lackluster dishes.

If you're looking for good seafood, then this might be a good choice for you, but I'd steer clear of the non-seafood dishes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank panamajane2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House Restaurant also viewed

 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Beach House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing