We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to hot to stay in the room ore sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Soest, Nederland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“to hot to stay in the room ore sleep”
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We stayed here, half way our 2 week holiday for 3 nights. We arrived from Lombok .We booked this hotel with a package deal from the Netherlands. The first view of the hotel is nice, but kind of budget with a very small pool. They told us the rooms where with airco. That was also what our travel agent at the Netherlands told us. Wel let me tell you about that. The airco is only turned on from 12.30 in the morning till 7 ore 8.30 in the morning. During that time it is possible to sleep, but as our door from the bathroom didn't close the warm air and smell from the kitchen swarmed into the room. I put some incense on the keep the smell out a little bit. It was so hot and claustrophobic in the room you can not imagine. The room has no glass windows, only wooden panels. And when you open them you will be hit by mosquitoes and of course lots of noise. As we are there to rest and wanted to sleep before midnight this is not possible because of the terrible heat. I tried to sleep one night, despite the heat. I discovered at our new hotel the next day, where finally we had some cool air, my back was covered with little spots because of the heat. My husband asked several times during the night if they could please turn the airco on, but the said the owner did not want to invest in a good generator so that when the power shuts out they can proved with there own generator. Also they told us the hotel was so cheap that we shouldn’t bother about it. Well as we booked a package deal the price was not an issue for us. Also the fan was not working all the time. For the nice an clean beached you have to walk a long way out of the town.
The good thing is the dvd player in the room, but you can not watch a movie because of the heat. Futher the room is modern and nice an big bathroom with good shower.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saskianista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    145
    75
    37
    34
See reviews for
40
194
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

outstanding relaxing...in low season it is super cheap with western valuta..rich coral reefs perfect for diving and scooba diving ...Lombok is in 30 minutes with boat(depends what kind of boat) Bali is 4 hours medium speed boat or speedferry 80 minutes.. FOR THE HIPPIES -MAGIC MUSHROOMS ARE LEGAL ON THE ISLAND-

Gili Air and Gili Meno also at swimming distance ...BUT DONT SWIM IT!!

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Levi501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2009

(--)
Right in the middle of the village on the beach. Has a beaut small pool, bungalows are a/c with t.v and dvd player, ensuite hot and cold shower. Budget rooms fan cooled.
Has new family size villa, luxurious. Staff are efficient,always cheerful and friendly.
Next to many bars and cafes, & several PADI dive schools. There is also a nightly disco, small cinema, glass bottom boat tours, bicycle hire, snorkle gear hire,& great fish food within meters.
The island, Gili Trewagan is 4 sq ks, & off the coast of Lombok, it is accessed from Bali by fast cabin cruisers the 2 hour trips run several times per day for about $100 return. Also accessed from Bangsal harbour on Lombok by ourtrigger canoe. The surrounding coral reef is brilliant for diving, the white sandy beach is shaded by coconut palms, and close to cafes for fresh fruit drinks, soft drinks and cocktails. There is no motor traffic or motor bikes, transport is by small horse drawn buggies called "chidomo"
The evening sunset over Bali is worth the 1 k walk to the other side of the island.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewe44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here towards the end of our trip in Indonesia and thought it was absolutely brilliant. What's not to love about waking up on a paradise island in a comfy, cute bungalow and having money left over to really enjoy yourselves? (My boyfriend was particularly taken with the hammocks!)

The location was great - we were near everything. The best restaurants are 5 minutes away and the best bit of beach only 10. The food was excellent - especially the Chef's Special starters - it was tempting to eat here every night of our stay. And the staff were always so helpful and friendly: they gave great advice and would help us organise trips.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and if I do come back to Gili one day - I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seb28London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

I choose to book this hotel following the good reports of Tripadvisor, and boy i was disappointed.
I read reports saying "Great Rooms" or "Great Value" or even more enthusiastic one, but i found a hotel poorly managed, with a dirty pool, bad beach access and more importantly noisy beyond the level of tolerance.
Let's go into details of what worked and what did not...
First problem, the noise. Next to it there are renovations from a dive center. Of course it is not their fault, but a good management would go to the dive center owner and ask him to have the heavy work to start at least at 9 AM, and not 7.30. But this require attention from management, that clearly could not care less.
To add to this early morning problem, there is a night problem: the hotel is in between several very popular party spots, and the rooms do not have windows, so till late in the night (or early in the morning, to be precise) forget about sleeping.
Probably not much of a management issue, but this is definitely not the best location for a hotel...
Second problem: beach. In front of the hotel it is basically non existent. Not a major problem, if the pool was well maintained, which is not. So if you wish to swim, you need to take a long walk.
Again, the breakfast is BASIC. I understand the price is not high, but there is a lot that can be done better, without spending more.
Cannot judge their indian food, honestly i did not dare to try. I had some naan and they were nice, but hey, it's hard to mess up a cheese naan!!
All these issues could have been addressed to the management (or owner, i don't know), a tall blond lady that couldn't care less about her guests. But she didn't bother to ask any of her guests about their stay. Not a word with anyone, not even at the moment of check out. Always ignoring everyone.
The only positive of the hotel is the extreme friendliness of the local staff, very attentive and willing to talk to you.
I will return to trawangan for sure, but will choose a different accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Prol_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2009

The Pesona resort on Gili is a piece of **heaven on earth**. The food is scrumptious, the views are unbeatable, the service is amazing, and the rooms are big and clean! I stayed at Pesona for a little over three weeks and it was truly the highlight of my four month trip to SE Asia.

Each day I would get up in a cool and clean bungalow, walk over to the pool that overlooks the sea, and order a special island drink that comes with a piece of fruit that the staff likes to carve into cute shapes. They have a great restaurant on-site that serves both Indian and Indonesian fare and they also offer hookah or shisha...so fun!

If you're heading to Gili for the white sand beaches or surf, check this place out!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2009

picked pesona because of some pictures on the internet, food is amazing, and the bungalows are cute, clean with aircon,dvd,smalltv, hot shower, so no complaints, there are alot of power cuts on the island, atleast once a day, and some hotel have generators. but pesona doesnt have one for the rooms, which can be annoying, but your not on gili to sit in your room all day/night so its fine. only problem is the noise from the party's as pesona is so central, you can hear them on mon/wed/fri.
otherwise lovely staff clean great food

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nialljd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.7 mi away
Gili Palms Resort
Gili Palms Resort
#11 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
206 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Trawangan Resort
The Trawangan Resort
#17 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Bamboo Resort
White Bamboo Resort
#26 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pesona Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pesona Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#8 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pesona Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pesona Beach Resort is located on the idyllic island of Gili Trawangan, just off the northwest coast of Lombok. Situated just a short walk south of the jetty on Gili Trawangan, Pesona Resort is an ideal place to spend your time here. We recently opened a 5* Dive center called Dive Central Gili which is PADI certified and a Spa to pamper yourself with all sorts of treatments. The pool overlooks the white sandy private beach and the turquoise ocean, with Gunung Rinjani as its backdrop. We have 6 types of accommodation available to our guests (2 Bed Villa Suite, Villa Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Sea-View Rooms, Deluxe Bungalows & Standard AC Rooms. All of our rooms are considerately furnished with quality in mind and have en-suite western standard bathrooms. If you want to experience something different from the local nasi dishes or the western fusion menus, why not come for some authentic INDIAN FOOD? Our specialist chefs lovingly prepare the food using the best imported ingredients and we have a comprehensive menu of authentic Indian cuisine to delight your taste buds as well as a new Lunch Menu serving up western food. The Sheesha lounge on the beach is a perfect way to end of the evenings. Book transfers from Bali or Lombok through easygili transfers to get here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pesona Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pesona Hotel Gili Trawangan
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing