We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Basic but comfortable”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed at Pesona for 4 nights & had a great stay. We were in a little bungalow that was actually quite comfortable & after staying in a couple of big resorts on Bali & Java it was nice to stay somewhere a little more rustic. Our room was nothing fancy, a comfy enough bed, ceiling fan & functional bathroom with a brackish (salt/fresh) water shower & a nice little porch out front to kick back on with floor mats & a hammock. The restaurant area was quite nice next to the pool & alongside the main street/thoroughfare & the included breakfast was quite nice as well. The staff were always helpful & friendly too. We did visit during ramadan which meant there were no parties but still a bit of nightlife going on, the sama sama reggae bar had great live music every night & the sunset bar was quite happening & open late, they had a bonfire on the beach there & music going till all hours. Next time we shall visit outside of ramadan & have a couple of party nights thrown in as well. We really liked the central location of pesona, a short walk to anywhere really, bars, restaurants & the little night market area. So if your after somewhere a little more authentic & not too fancy then I can highly recommend pesona, we felt it really typified gili trawangan in general..laid back, rustic & charming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shooftee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    145
    72
    35
    32
See reviews for
39
191
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in Pesona, took the Deluxe Bungalow. It was OK... quite spacious, clean, no-frill type of room, and although it was located at the front of the hotel, surprisingly the noise from construction is not audible. However, sounds from the street next to the bathroom can be heard. Didn't try the restaurant, but breakfast is very limited, got hungry again in the next 2 hours. It is a good hotel if you're looking for a decent place to stay and then roam around the island, location is great!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and really, really enjoyed our time here.
The original room that we had booked into wasn't suitable for our needs, and we were rehoused in another room with minimal fuss and maximum courteous efficiency.
Reading through previous reviews, I'm not sure why people would refer to this space as "backpacker" style accommodation: the rooms are lovely: clean, cool, comfortable, and private.
$70 per night for Gili T is NOT a lot of money for what you get here.
Also, we loved the food - real Indian, yum!
The pool is average size but perfect for a dip and, even though it's on the main strip, surprisingly private thanks to the hedge.
The staff are nice and not too chummy-chummy, if that makes sense? I like to have the craic with the bar and service staff, but it's nice to be left alone to relax too.
Big thanks to Sumira and her Husband and best of luck with the new dive-shop :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CommittedFoodie4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I recently stayed at Pesona for a week, I couldn't complain at all about my stay. Sumeena and the team here were very accommodating. The Villa wasn't available for the full duration of my stay the only room they had left was the standard room it had no a/c but that didn't matter, the room had fans and I never had a problem with the heat. I ate at the Indian Restaurant and the food was fantastic. Even though there was renovations going on at the front of the property I never once heard them going on. You are in a good location right on the main street near everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleBlackmore86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel is for backbackers, now there is nothing wrong with that as they are needed,but no need to charge a 3 star price! There is construction happening out front, noise from kitchens behind the bungalows,air conditioners that sound like the airport, blowing warm air into a room that has large hole in the fly wires , no fridge, and no shade at all by the pool.
We wouldn't mind all of this at say $30 per night,but not at $70.
We booked for 4 nights ,stayed 1, found quality down the main drag for $20 more, like chalk and cheese.
The manager was very helpful with our concerns and ensured that agoda gave us our money back on the remaining 3 nights, so thank you.
The location is great,the breakfast is terrible,and the front shisha bar is a top place to chill out.
Its a mixed bag,can get better but way overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank latinafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sannygowda, Owner at Pesona Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear all your concerns about Pesona Resort. To address your main concern, the price, we are a very well located establishment that offers all the necessary facilities for a comfortable stay on the island and as such, we are very well priced compared to our counterparts in the central area. Although you feel you were offered a lot more in the resort you moved to for not much more, I know you moved to a much larger place which does not suit everyone. We pride ourselves on being a small, friendly boutique resort.

It seems we were not to your liking but as other positive reviews show, we appeal to more than backpackers, we have a range of guests staying in our varied range of rooms.

I am aware you had some issues with your air conditioning which we did fix immediately. These things happen, but we resolved the problem as soon as possible as well as offering you another room. As you said, we accommodated your request to leave with a full refund as we pride ourselves on making our guests happy.

You mentioned the building work, which is contained in a small area at the front of the resort and during 9-5 hours only which is NOT impacting any of the rooms with noise. This building work is coming to an end in a few months at which point we will have 8 new rooms including some sea view rooms, a new kitchen/bar and a brand new Dive Shop...so watch this space.

Thanks Sandesh (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for a few nights in April. We booked pesona as it was in the same price range as the hotels we had been staying in Bali.

We were a little disappointed with it to be honest. It's certainly not a 'resort', more like a backpackers hotel and believe the excellent reviews for Pesona are coming from backpackers on a budget..

Snorkelling off Gili Trawangan is good, and we saw a big turtle feeding off the coral literally ten meters off the shore which was amazing. The problem Gili Trawangan has is the amount of rubbish floating about, if you just walk into the sea your certain to see plastic bags and other rubbish, then a little further out(we hired paddle boards) there is a lot of rubbish on the surface of the water and floating beneath the surface which is a great shame. We understand it's a small island and must be difficult with sewerage/waste. But surely something can be done to help this?

The average rating for cleanliness is due to the pool, we didn't see it getting cleaned once whilst we were there.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davedave46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sannygowda, Owner at Pesona Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Pesona Resort. I'm glad you liked the snorkeling, we have one of the best snorkel spots on the island right in front of our resort. There are many things being done about the rubbish on Gili Trawangan as a whole but as with any place that is developing so fast, it will take time to bring under control.

As for your stay, regarding cleanliness, we are disappointed you did not rate how clean the pool was, rather that you did not see it being cleaned. I know the pool is cleaned every morning around 6.30am-7am to avoid bothering guests during breakfast. Further, we add chemicals into the pool during the night so that it does not impact the guests using the pool. Were you around during these times? I know the pool is 100% clean as I see it daily and my kids swim in it any time they are at the resort.

I imagine you are disappointed about the value for money of our resort as you are comparing to similar priced accommodation in Bali. This is actually an unfair comparison as all accommodation is more expensive on Gili Trawangan compared to Bali for the following reasons, to name a few 1. There are more accommodation options in Bali that drives down the price; 2. Costs of staff, all cleaning products, anything for the rooms etc are MUCH cheaper in Bali than on the remote island of Gili Trawangan; 3. We have an amazing central, beach front location that would cost a lot more in Bali! 4. We have a small place but we offer anything you need for a great stay, including delicious food and drink!

Our new rooms and Dive Shop will only add to the appeal of Pesona Resort as a place to stay.

Thanks Sandesh (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I did not stay at Pesona but ate at the restaurant 3 times and enjoyed many hours lazing by the beach in their chill-out area.

The food was the best I had on the Island, and beats every Indian restaurant in Sydney that I've been to. You can't like curry, and not come here if you're on Gili T!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.2 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gili Palms Resort
Gili Palms Resort
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,695 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
0.7 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pesona Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pesona Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#8 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pesona Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pesona Beach Resort is located on the idyllic island of Gili Trawangan, just off the northwest coast of Lombok. Situated just a short walk south of the jetty on Gili Trawangan, Pesona Resort is an ideal place to spend your time here. We recently opened a 5* Dive center called Dive Central Gili which is PADI certified and a Spa to pamper yourself with all sorts of treatments. The pool overlooks the white sandy private beach and the turquoise ocean, with Gunung Rinjani as its backdrop. We have 6 types of accommodation available to our guests (2 Bed Villa Suite, Villa Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Sea-View Rooms, Deluxe Bungalows & Standard AC Rooms. All of our rooms are considerately furnished with quality in mind and have en-suite western standard bathrooms. If you want to experience something different from the local nasi dishes or the western fusion menus, why not come for some authentic INDIAN FOOD? Our specialist chefs lovingly prepare the food using the best imported ingredients and we have a comprehensive menu of authentic Indian cuisine to delight your taste buds as well as a new Lunch Menu serving up western food. The Sheesha lounge on the beach is a perfect way to end of the evenings. Book transfers from Bali or Lombok through easygili transfers to get here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pesona Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pesona Hotel Gili Trawangan
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing