We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic return”
Review of Villa Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Nautilus
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was a wonderful return visit - 10 lovely days. In our opinion this is the best place to stay on Gili Meno and now that Gili Air's reef has all but disappeared (from a combination of heavy seas, coral removal and boat anchoring) we didn't regret our decision to bypass Gili Air this year. Amazing what can happen in a year.
The villas are as lovely as ever and the garden has had some beautiful additions.
We found the most beautiful and almost deserted swimming spots further North and spent much of our time swimming, walking and reading. The only problem with Gili Meno is the paucity of places to eat. Rust's Warung (at the harbour) was pretty shocking this year. We ended up eating almost all our evening meals at Nautilus' own restaurant - great food but a limited choice over 10 days. There are a few more places for lunch up the coast serving pretty good food - eg. Ana's. And Tropical Hideaway up the road alongside Nautilus serves quite good food but no one else seems to eat there.
Nautilus staff are all good but a special mention must go to the wonderful Sena - you won't find a better masseuse anywhere, and she is also one of the main cooks.
We will be back.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank AnthSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 121 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Nautilus holds a prime position nearby but not too close to the main harbour. Meno is not like the other islands and so this is one of the more impressive places to stay. It is a bit quieter than Trawangan but a bit more classy and developed than Air. To call it a villa is incorrect as it is several individual bungalows with their own balconys and space. The rooms are spacious and clean. Yes it looks a bit worn but we are talking about an island retreat here, no motor vehicles. The restaurant does some wonderful pizzas which cant be beaten in the area for sure even on Trawangan I think. Sure take the repellant. The island is going to go through a boom soon so get there before it becomes Trawangan and still has some island feel to it. You get a wonderful opening balcony and the staff are more than helpful; Some helpful hints though: They can organise a car and boat to pick you up from the airport, this is very convient but the car was not very comfortable and windows a bit hard to see out. The taxi is way cheaper so give it a go. The individual boat ride was lovely to have (avoided the crowds of the main harbour on Lombok), but we did the crowds on the way back and no issues. Flying is ok, very short trip and flights very accessable, even to book the day before the flights are ok priced. The fast boat journey is favoured by many, sometimes the sea is rough so be warned, although covered modern boats they still sway alittle. E-mail the hotel in advance as we found no availability online but turns out there was one villa free. Bargain when you get there with the services around, especially for fishing/ glass bottom boat. Walk around the island very nice, and dont forget to walk through centre also.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littledinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

gili meno is wonderful island, we stayd in trawangan, but it is very dirty compared with gili meno, green with fantastic sea water...nice snorkelling, and the part opposite the harbour is very wild...we love it!!! Nautilus so and so....villa are quite old now and you havent any facility!!!! restaurant food is not good at all!!!! but overall nice experience!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dadda88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to the Gili Islands - we love the quiet Gili Meno - but there is plenty of action on Trawangan if you like (-; Gili Meno is very small and many resorts have closed over the last 4 years a bit sad and they are just left to collapse - on the boat harbour side are a cluster of villas and a general store - about 8 in all. Nautilus is the pick of the resorts - 5 stand alone bungalows - nicely appointed and in the main clean. our only complaint was the insects - there seemed to be a lot in and around our bungalow - we did our best to spray repellent but still had lots of bites!

snorkelling right out the front and a local boat to other reefs showed a us some turtles YEY

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

If you are not on a tight budget and you are looking for the best place to stay on Gili Meno, don't look any further. I looked around on all the places on the island and if you simply want the best on the island, this is your place.

There are 5 bungalows. The rooms are large, have nice furniture, are clean and the lay out is nice. Enjoy things as air conditioning and fresh warm water for showering, a luxury on Gili Meno. You get sat. tv on a little flatscreen, a fridge and a separate toilet.

All bungalows face the garden and the sea. You can see the sea from your bed and the living room area. The beach, which is particularly nice on this side of the island, is 20m away from the rooms which is a good thing because you have more privacy this way. I stepped into the sea in front of Villa Nautilus for some snorkeling and ended up swimming with a giant turtle for 20 minutes!

Breakfast is good and the lady who makes the breakfast also does some killer massages. The best i've had on my last trip to Indonesia. The guy who i think is the local manager will not win the award for most smiling Indonesian but he was very helpful when needed. The only problem on our 5 night stay was 1 power outage of 30m and when we were leaving and wanted to pay, the telephone line (needed for credit card transactions) was broken so the manager had to travel with us to another island, credit card machine and all.

I can recommend this place. If it were up to me, i was there right now.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iwan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in November and thought it was absolutely lovely! Fantastic location, way more luxurious than most other places on this side of the island but with no airs & graces. Staff extremely friendly, nice breakfasts, comfy bed and lounge area and spectacular verandahs big enough to invite a few friends over! Only criticism was the cockerel in the property next door which was very vocal at all times - a decent pair of ear plugs soon sorted that out ;o) Would definitely recommend staying here - so lovely!

Room Tip: There are 3 villas at the front & 2 at the back - the front ones have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank napiersworldtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The pics on this website don't do it justice, you nee to go and see for yourselves. Was very comfortable to stay in, and was quite luxurious for the price! They are in probably the best location in Meno, all the restaurants and the local store are right there. Be sure to eat at Nautilus, the food is excellent!! We felt guilty paying so little for so much! The staff were unbelievably friendly and always attentive. We would definately consider going to Meno and staying there again. We thought the stay was going to be average, since it's a remote island etc.. but were pleasantly suprised. I've stayed in villas and bungalows all over the world, and this was the most luxury of a standard type of bungalow that you fill find, and for 1/8 of some of them's prices.. We caught our own fish and had them cook for us, the pizzas were unbeliveable!..highly recommend!!

Room Tip: the front villas are preferable, that's where we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denisekunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Meno hotels
0.9 mi away
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
#1 of 11 in Gili Meno
733 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mahogany Cottage
Mahogany Cottage
#6 of 11 in Gili Meno
45 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adeng-Adeng Bungalows
Adeng-Adeng Bungalows
#5 of 11 in Gili Meno
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Karma Reef
Karma Reef
#2 of 11 in Gili Meno
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avia Villa
Avia Villa
#4 of 11 in Gili Meno
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seri Resort Gili Meno
Seri Resort Gili Meno
#1 of 31 in Gili Meno
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nautilus

Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Gili Meno
Price Range: $58 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five beautifully appointed self contained villas with views to the ocean and Mt Rinjani directly across the grassed area in front of your villa. Each villa has its own large king-sized bed, full air/con, hot water showers, an extensive lounge seating area, a safe and TV and served by an al la carte restaurant on the beach front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nautilus Hotel Gili Meno
Villa Nautilus Gili Meno, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing