We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected surprise”

MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Gili Meno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our stylish restaurant and bar offer stunning views of the beach. Should you tire of gazing across idyllic tropical seas, you can always watch our executive chef Hamzar create mouth-wateringly irresistible dishes in his open kitchen from your table. We cook fresh, simple and – wherever possible – organic food. Our highly acclaimed Asian Fusion restaurant delivers delicious food of an International standard – with a twist – carefully created by our executive chef. Enjoy a luxurious lunch or a sublimely romantic evening dinner in one of our popular and magically-lit waterfront beach tables. Cool off from the tropical heat with a refreshing drink at our seafront bar. Or enjoy the perfect end to a perfect day with a classic cocktail and spectacular sunset views.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Don't be intimidated by the chic, sleek facade of the hotel like we (2 families with 6 children between us) did. We passed by this restaurant several times during our stay on Gili Island thinking it was probably too expensive, and maybe even pretentious for this otherwise sleepy, laid-back budget island destination. After a terrible dinner experience at another restaurant on the island, we decided to try Mahamaya and were totally surprised how reasonable the prices were given the quality of food. They also had a children's menu where all the food was delicious (not your standard breaded fish fingers and fries) and very reasonably priced too. The other surprising bit was how polished the service was - not at all what we were expecting. We ended going back for dinner then again for breakfast. I wish we had discovered this place earlier in our trip!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dewi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear dewi8,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fabulous review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a lovely experience whilst dining with us.
We are so pleased that you were not too intimated by our sleek modern design and you did choose to dine with us several times during your stay.
We feel very lucky that you found us and that you were so pleased by our quality and price that you chose to visit so many times.

Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen work hard to create an interesting, varied, healthy and unique menu on our tiny island!
We offer both our popular set menu but also a host of fresh daily specials using seasonal ingredients.
Our local service team are truly fantastic and work hard to ensure that guests have a complete dining experience.
Thank you for your kind comments about our team it will really make them happy.
We are blessed with our location and it it truly beautiful to sit on the beach, in the shade of the trees enjoying a leisurely lunch or a romantic dinner whilst gazing at the tropical turquoise seas.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back to MAHAMAYA again soon for some more surprises!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    95
    27
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
“Scrumptious cuisine in paradise”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This restaurant was undoubtedly my most favorite in all of Indo! No where else could we find mouth-watering vegetarian delights like delicious roasted vegetable panninis on authentic french baguettes or had a choice with a variety of fresh al dente pastas in tomato or creamy sauces. The huge selection of scrumptious deserts at Mahamaya were decadent and moreish - you MUST try the lemon/kafir lime cheese cake with honey/biscuit base, the sticky toffee pudding or the chocolate brownies.
Breakfast was delicious - fresh fruit platters, authentic fruit muesli, perfectly cooked omelets and wholesome western bread, and fresh muffins.....Yum Yum Yum! Excellent quality food all round and great value for money!
The Chef 'Jar' is really personable and humble and staff are astute to meet your every dining need without being obtrusive. When experiencing such fantastic food in this idyllic setting you will pinch yourself to check if you are dreaming - true paradise!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Jai S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a totally charming review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant.

We are very pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant experience during your meals with us and for providing us with such a long list of your favourite dishes! We are truly touched by your review and Chef Jar is indeed very humble and hardworking. Thank you for your lovely comments about our food, chef does work hard to ensure that he creates a menu that is delicious, different and innovative. Chef tries so hard to please the guests and we are so happy to hear that he excelled himself with your dining experiences. Chef will be overjoyed to hear such positive feedback.
The beach at MAHAMAYA truly is a beautiful spot to enjoy a luxurious meal and relax in our comfortable surroundings.

Thank you so much for your very touching review, our whole team will enjoy reading this.
It is not possible to underestimate the importance of great feedback in driving a team to deliver continually good service and high quality food. We will be certain to pass on your kind comments to our whole team.
We very much hope that we can welcome you back to MAHAMAYA again soon for some scrumptious cuisine in paradise!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly overrated and overpriced”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Visiting the Gili's for the second time (and for a longer period of time), we have had diner and lunch in many different restaurants all over the Gili's. Because of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, during a boattrip we decided to have lunch at Mahamaya. The resort has an appealing atmosphere, but lunch was a big disappointment. We had lunch with a family of seven, all the 'today's specials', and it was just not good. Tasteless food and highly overpriced, to us the worst on the Gili's so far! Furthermore, when we asked for a glass of rose, a very unfriendly English (?) man informed us that we could only have a bottle of rose, because 'today the glasses of rose are finished'. One highlight: the local staff was very friendly.
Don't go there.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CecileNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear CecileNetherlands,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our restaurant.
We only wish we you had shard your thoughts during your time at our restaurant.
We were saddened and surprised to read your comments because we have received no complaints at any point in the restaurant. It saddens us that a guest would prefer to write an anonymous negative review rather than provide us with an opportunity to make them satisfied during their experience. We would have welcomed the opportunity to make sure you that you were truly satisfied with your experience at MAHAMAYA had you allowed us to do that during your meal.
To clarify the point regarding the wine, we do apologise that we were out of stock of our house Rose wine. We are sorry that you didn't not feel able to buy an alternative house wine by the glass or an alternative rose wine that we sell only by the bottle. If you are a regular visitor to the Gili islands, perhaps you might be aware that we are located on a tiny island and sometimes we experience limited stock availability from our local suppliers. We do apologise if the lack of rose wine by the glass was a huge inconvenience to your group of seven people. We do not understand how the deliverance of this information could be taken as unfriendly, but his was never our intention.
We are a small family run restaurant and we all work incredibly hard to ensure that our guests have a great experience, however we do realise that it is not always possible to please everybody. We are very sorry that we fell short of your expectations on this occasion.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our idyllic location and we would welcome you back to MAHAMAYA to ensure that you have a truly memorable experience next time as do the vast majority of our guests.

Regards
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I had a few meals at Mahamaya on a recent holiday, the food was of a very high standard. Lunch time panini's were delicious (not horrible bread like you get in Asia a lot) and the dinner's were amazing. Some previous reviews talk about it being more expensive than other restaurants on the island, but you are paying for the quality and it's worth it. Compared to a meal in Australia it was still cheap. The staff were very attentive and service was great. And don't miss out on happy hour, the cocktails were fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chloelovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Chloelovestotravel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an amazing review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a great experience during your meals with us.
Thank you also for your lovely comments about our daily specials menu, chef has created a menu that is delicious, different and innovative.

We are blessed with our location which offers some of the best sunset views on the island, the perfect time to enjoy our delicious happy hour cocktails!
Thank you especially for your comments about our restaurant offering good value for money. We are also sometimes surprised that guests mention the higher costs for our restaurant.
As you mentioned, MAHAMAYA offers a very different experience with a high quality product, combined with an innovative menu.
It's so nice that you felt that our restaurant was good value and worth it and we agree, compared to a meal in Australia, our prices are still considerably lower cost!
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA to our great restaurant!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
2 reviews
“Love it”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Chef Jar and his team offer something out of the ordinary on GILI meno. The highlights were the lemon cheesecake, beef coconut curry and great lunch time grilled wraps. Curry puffs and prawn spring rolls were also delicious. The beach dining area cant be beaten under pandanus trees on the white sand sunset facing beach. The staff are relaxed and lovely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Lila L

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fabulous review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a lovely experience whilst dining with us.
Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen work hard to create an interesting, varied, healthy and unique menu on our tiny island!
We offer both our popular set menu but also a host of fresh daily specials using seasonal ingredients so we pleased to hear that you enjoyed our menu selection so much.
We are blessed with our location and it it truly beautiful to sit on the beach, in the shade of the trees enjoying a leisurely lunch whilst gazing at the tropical turquoise seas.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back to MAHAMAYA again soon so you can love it some more!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant also viewed

Gili Meno, Gili Islands
Gili Meno, Gili Islands
 
Gili Meno, Gili Islands
Gili Meno, Gili Islands
 
Gili Meno, Gili Islands
Gili Meno, Gili Islands
 

Been to MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing