We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had unforgettable moments in life”
Review of MAHAMAYA Gili Meno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gili Meno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent our honeymoon for 3 days here. And yes we had wonderful time! Delicious dishes with free mineral water which was truly needed, good room and eco friendly, great staffs, they're super kind and friendly and polite, the most unforgettable thing was the nature. The beach, the sunset, the blue sea, the sunrise, quite and small island that perfect for your honeymoon. We also did activities such as diving, riding the horse cart, relaxing by the beach, waiting for the sunset which was stunning! (there's a staff that pulled the seat for us so we could sit and feel the wave touched our feet gently while we're gazing the stars at night!) We got a very romantic honeymoon! Thank u so much mahamaya!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Novi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy to for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!

How amazing for us to hear that you had unforgetable moments in life, we are so pleased as this is our ultimate aim to make our guests happy!

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
There are newer reviews for MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 716 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

September this year we've stayed in MAHAMAYA for 5 nights. Just a delayed review from us now. Being at home the worklife quickly continues, unfortunately! :-) We have absolutely LOVED our stay here. The design, the rooms, the Island, the staff, the environment, the pool, the food, the view, the sea. It shows: we were happy about everything!

Ofcourse, you can't make everyone happy, let me say: I can't agree with the negative reviews i've been reading, i'm sorry! Our time at MAHAMAYA was perfect for us. So come with me to our short flashback of MAHAMAYA.................

It's a small Island, so ofcourse watersupply is sometimes hard. Most liters of fresh water is being brought to the Island by boat! Realise that! We've found the place so relaxing, we did not bother at all there sometimes was a difficulty in hot water. It's like 35degrees (celcius) so i'd loved a cold shower at times. Gili Meno is a hot Island during the dry season! When you're at an Island like this.... are you serious..... is a hot shower 'like home' really that important? ;-)

Breakfast time! Our almost favorite moment of the day. Not a (continental) buffet like most hotels. But a small menu with aprox. 8 dishes wich you can choose from. Complimented with a fresh juice, a (real espresso) coffee, fresh fruits and homemade cakes. Gili Meno is slowly waking up when you are enjoying your start of the day. It was really our moment, at the Super Breakfast (right?? ;-))

Restaurant! After a few weeks traveling Lombok and Bali, and enjoying the delicious Indonesian cuisine, we were delighted about the international influences this restaurant offers! With local ingredients they manage to provide all sorts of dishes. Curry's, perfect garlic pasta with large shrimps, grilled steaks, cayun-style chicken and ofcourse the famous MAHAMAYA sateh, LOVED THAT! The chef and his team really make an effort, it shows!

The hotelrooms around the pool were clean, light, spacious and luxurious for Indonesian standards. Cleaned twice a day and in really good condition.

The outdoor shower was superb. Showering and tanning at the same time, timesaving Gili Meno style!! We even had a short visit of a HUGE spider in there (size of a female hand) my husband managed to scare him (her?) away to our neighbours (sorry neighbours hahaha!).

But hey, we were in Indonesia! These moments made our holiday, the time we've enjoyed.

The pool is a welcome place for relaxing, cooling down or a light workout in the morning. Even on our last day we've could enjoy these facilities till the moment we were being picked up by the arranged speedboat.

The staff! MAHAMAYA has done a great job finding good and suited staff for this place. Everyone was kind and English speaking, staffmember ánd interns. We had great talks and laughs with all of them!

The sea! We were lucky seeing 4 turtles on our last day, around 10am, loved it! Make sure you'll bring the right equipment, like protecting footwear and good snorkling gear. Maybe a tip for MAHAMAYA: you can inform guests about these things in the confirming reservation e-mail? Something like: for the best experience, don't forget to bring 'this and that' :-)

The beach has a lot of coral. We, experienced and prepared travellers, had brought special footwear (on the internet you can find Gili Meno has a coral coast on the westside!!). But a lot of guests did not or don't bring these. Please do so!

The underwater world is lovely. Ok if you have been to other places like Maldives (we have) Great Barrier reef or Raja Ampat....it's not the same! Keep that in mind. It seems like a few guests were not prepared for that. Like the Australian older couple during our stay. The waters around Lombok and Bali are nice, very comfortable in temperature and have enough sealife to enjoy. Just keep it in mind, you won't be disappointed!

Dear staff, everybody at MAHAMAYA, thank you so, so, so much for everything. Well done, you've created a place Gili Meno didn't have before!

We would love to come back!!!! Next year there will be three of us :-) the time we were in MAHAMAYA i was allmost four months pregnant ^_^ But maybe in a few years we can enjoy a second visit in Gili Meno!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kristel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy to for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!

We can see that you LOVED your time at MAHAMAYA and thank you also for your comments about the previous negative review, our team work very hard to make sure everyone has a happy holiday at MAHAMAYA.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights for our honeymoon. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, we had high hopes for our stay. Indeed, the setting for the hotel is idyllic and the island is very peaceful - the ideal setting for our very special holiday.

However, we were bitterly disappointed with the hotel - issues that we encountered were as follows:

- We pre-booked a transfer with the hotel from Gilli T to the hotel. We had to wait over half an hour for the boat to arrive from the hotel for the boat to arrive - given that we paid RP425K for the boat transfer (one way), this was very disappointing - especially given we could have got a direct boat for RP190k (the price we paid to transfer off the island);
- On arrival at the hotel, we were not acknowledged - we waited 30 minutes to check in - this is not what you would expect when you are paying nearly £200/night;
- We had a beach villa - this was a fairly average room with average amenities. The only reason why the hotel can charge the prices that it does is because the beach front view is spectacular and the Mahamaya has no real competition from other boutique hotels;
- In particular, issues with the room include (i) a safe that can easily be removed from the room as it is not secured to the wardrobe (ii) an outside shower which is variable at best in temparature - we had a number of cold showers (iii) hot water was provided in the room but no coffee or tea was provided which I find strange given the hotel markets itself as a premium hotel (iv) Infestation of ants in the room on arrival - this was rectified once we notified management (v) a gap between the doors and the floor - reported but not rectified during our stay (vi) the sink plug did not work so water continued to drain - again reported but not rectified during our stay.

- Breakfast was OK - there was a fair choice but we did have to repeatedly ask for things e.g. fresh fruit to be put out when it runs out, fresh milk etc. Also, there were a number of items on the menu which were not cooked properly e.g. menu advertises 'French crepes' as an option - these are not French crepes as they are far too thick - they are American in style; French toast with honey - one morning we were presented with sugar disolved in water as a substitute for honey.

- Beach - this is not a sandy beach but a coral beach which is hard on your feet and can make swimming a challenge. The hotel doesn't even forewarn you to bring special shoes which you can buy to protect your feet when walking on coral / rocks in shallow water.

- Restaurant - the restaurant is extremely expensive and offers European style food - this is very strange given that one of the reasons for coming to Indonesia was for the food! Things such as cajun wraps or curry were on the menu a number of times and only once did we receive a fish option.

In summary, a very pretentious hotel offering terrible value for money. The hotel needs to better its offering because once competition arrives at the island, it will suffer - and deservedly so.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paulie149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARoberts, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Paulie149,

As your first review was removed by Tripadvisor for the personal attack and inappropriate content that it contained, we are again deeply saddened to read your latest review.

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and that you were disappointed with your stay. Our whole team worked extremely hard to make your stay as wonderful as possible and most of our team had significant interaction with both of you during your stay and they are very disappointed that you were not able to recognise their service performance; even if there were some minor operational issues during your stay with us.

We would like to respond to your specific points :

We are very sorry that you had to wait for the speedboat to collect you from Gili Trawangan. You arrived in August, the busiest month of the year in the Gili islands and the speedboat operator runs back to back due to the sheer volume of guests and importantly due to the restrictions placed on boat operators because of our fragile marine environment. On departure, you chose to save money and arranged your own simple wooden boat, which is perfectly acceptable but please do not infer that the transport options were the same. A speedboat charter costs more than the simple wooden boat that you arranged. The price you allegedly paid was also cheaper than the official price from the harbour but we prefer to pay a fair price to the operators we use, so that they can enjoy a good standard of living.

It is not true that you were not acknowledged upon arrival – You were welcomed by our staff on the beach and they then carried your luggage to the lobby for check in. I also personally welcomed you to the resort. Please remember that you arrived early, hours before our check in time and we even gave you early check in. You stayed with us in beach villa during peak season when our rates are actually £145 but after government tax and service charge the rate is £184. Our low season rates start as low as £103.

Concerning your points about the room :

We have since attached the safety deposit boxes to the wardrobe and we do apologise if this made you feel uncomfortable. You did not inform us that there was an issue with water temperature during your stay. Since your departure, we have installed a new hot water system and this is running well.

I personally attended to you when you complained that there were ants in your room. The ants were actually on the terrace in front of your room and we dealt with that immediately. They were not inside your room. Your actual complaint about the sink was that the water did not drain quickly enough. We were even forced to take the extreme measure of making a video to prove to you that the sink drained with a “Normal draining speed.”

Concerning your points about breakfast :

We are glad to read that you felt that there was a fair choice. We do our best to refill the fruit and pastries/cakes as fast as we can and we are sorry that you were so inconvenienced in having to ask for additional items. We remember the morning that you complained that there was no honeydew melon on the fruit platter. Once replenished, you refilled your plate and then left the restaurant after eating one small piece. We had to throw the rest of it away.

It would seem that you did not actually have a complaint about the breakfast being cooked properly; i.e. undercooked or overcooked. It would seem that your complaint was actually about the thickness of the pancakes and we apologise if we failed in getting them to the correct size and shape that you required. Our menu offers French toast with cinnamon or plain. We apologise if honey was not available if you requested it and I would imagine that my staff did their best to please you, by inadvertently providing sugar syrup. Please remember that we are located on a tiny coral island. There are no supermarkets next door for us to pop out and get emergency supplies. Most of our guest appreciate and understand this.

Concerning the beach :

As we are located on a tiny coral island, there is coral on the beach. One of the amazing benefits of this is the large amount of turtles that swim in the waters facing our resort, as they eat coral. National Geographic voted Gili Meno the 4th best beach in South East Asia. Most of our guests love snorkeling off our beach and had the chance to see many turtles. We are sorry it was not to your linking.

Concerning the restaurant :

Our restaurant offers International classics and Asian fusion dishes. The most expensive dish on our menu costs £9.70 for a plate of amazing grilled King Prawns. Having checked your bill, it would seem that you dined with us on 3 occasions. The first time you spent £9.55, the second time you spent £6.46 and you splashed out on your last night spending £29 on a meal for two with all drinks and 21% government tax and service charge included. We strongly disagree that our restaurant is extremely expensive. We converted all prices from Indonesian Rupiah into Pounds Sterling using a rate of 17,800.

We explained to you that we only serve whole fresh fish when we can guarantee the freshness. Apart from yourselves, we have never had any other guest that would want to eat fish that was not fresh.

You did not mentioned the many things that we provided free of charge such as a complimentary beach flower breakfast, the free drinks, the free food items. My team and I spent a large amount of time interacting with both of you. Indeed, one night I personally sat at the bar drinking with you and bought you free drinks because you were drinking alone at the bar until late most nights, entertained only by my staff. You informed me that your new wife went to bed alone very early most nights and so we kept the bar open late for you every night, so you could keep drinking because we felt sorry for you. We do not understand why you hope that we suffer but we do still wish you all the best for your future life together.

David Roberts (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in the Cookie Villa and did not want to leave. We enjoyed every single minute of our stay! The whole location is more than beautiful and with its peaceful atmosphere perfect for relaxing. Although we do not like corals at the beach, it did not bother us at all but if you want to go swimming you should probably bring swimshoes. If you do that, however, you can go snorkeling and see numerous fishes and even turtles right at the beach.The rooms (I can only speak for the villas) are nice and spacious (especially the bathroom) and have an outdoor shower which is in line with the open architecture. The food is definitely the best we had during our whole trip to Bali and Lombok (even better than at Ubud Hanging Gardens) and great value for money. It is always fresh (one night we could literally see how they caught the fish we had for dinner) and everything we tried tasted amazing! Altogether, the hotel has great value for money, the service charge is already included in the price, as well as breakfast, afternoon tea with fresh cake, and supplies like bug spray. Above all, however, the service is exceptional - comparable to St. Regis resorts (where you pay 3 times as much), yet not as artificial. Every single staff member makes you feel welcome from the minute you arrive and it was as hard to say goodbye to THEM as to this unique place itself! We would love to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a valuable review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy to for our whole team to read!
Such positive reviews really do inspire our team to continue to deliver outstanding service and ensure you have a happy holiday!

It sounds like everything was perect, thank you for your wonderful comments.
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Mahamaya Boutique Resort is the perfect Island getaway. Just chill and relax on a secluded island. The beach front Villa is a must. The room is very spacious, lovely comfortable King Bed overlooking the white sands and turquoise sea. The décor is tastefully modern, colorful and inviting. Outside the front of the villa there is a table and chairs plus two banana type sun lounges with padded cushioning and umbrella. The bathroom is very spacious with the shower being outside in a private courtyard. There is no TV or shops pure relaxation. The restaurant and bar is very good, good food and drinks on offer. The property is very clean, behind the beachfront villas are 7 pool villas that all face the pool this was available for all guests to use. In the evening the dinner was served on the beach as they set up tables and chairs and lighting for romantic dining. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall exceptional I would highly recommend this property and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Beach front Villa just perfect
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear salros,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a five star review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.
We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed the design, comfort and layout of our resort and our facilities.

Thank you again for all your positive comments, it was a joy to read!
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA the perfect island getaway!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Me and my husband spent 5 nights at Mahamaya in the cookie villa, with the beach right at our tippy toes. The modern decor, the high-end meals (some of the best food we had in all of Indonesia in the 3 weeks of travel), the service, the location, the staff -- all would have justified a per night cost of $500 in the US, and we were lucky enough to have experience true luxury for the price we paid. I would return in a heart beat, and I know my husband would say the same. The management was there to help us with everything, from securing a fast boat ticket back to Bali, to helping us out with the safe's locking mechanism. The servers, in particular Morgan and Phi, were so kind-- we will never forget them (but they were all so amazing, if we only had the chance to get to know them all). The outdoor shower was sexy and just felt so good showering in the sun after being in the water. I could go and on about this place but do yourself a favor and experience it for yourself. Thank you Mahamaya for creating some amazing memories for us.

Claudia & Sean
NY

Room Tip: Cookie Villa
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roro_fathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear roro_fathi ,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.
We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed the design, comfort and layout of our resort and our facilities.
How amazing for us to hear that we made your honeymoon so special.
How nice also for us to hear that your felt you received such amazing luxury and value for money.

Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen work extremely hard to create an interesting, varied, healthy and unique menu on our tiny island!
Chef does indeed pride himself in offering fresh and tasty dishes, so nice to hear how much you appreciated his food.

Our service team work very hard so we are happy to hear that they provided you with such good service.
They will be very happy to hear this and very excited to read their names in your review!

We loved having you guys to stay and we very much hope to see you back here soon to MAHAMAYA!
We will pass on your kind comments to our whole team, as this really does encourage them to provide continuous great service.
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA for your anniversary!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Mahamaya for 3 nights in the Candy Villa. The room was very nice and comfy. We had an awesome time apart from the fact I was recovering from Dengue fever! The service was amazing and the food was fabulous. Especially the steak! The water out the front was so clear and snorkelling was fantastic. We saw turtles both times we went for a snorkel. Highly recommend for a quiet romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Ian S,
Thank you so much for your amazing review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.
We were very touched by your kind comments about our resort and your especially kind comments about our food and service.
Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen work hard to create an interesting, varied, healthy and unique menu on our tiny island!
We offer both our popular set menu but also a host of fresh daily specials using seasonal ingredients.
The filet steak is a very popular item on the menu and is one of our own personal favourites!

We were concerned that you when you arrived you had been ill with a fever in Bali and we do hope your stay at MAHAMAYA allowed you enough time to rest and recuperate.
We very much hope you are now back to full health.

We loved having you guys to stay and we very much hope to see you back here soon with the MAHAMAYA!
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA for clear blue and snorkeling with the turtles!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Meno
0.4 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
#3 of 11 in Gili Meno
208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,795 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahogany Cottage
Mahogany Cottage
#5 of 11 in Gili Meno
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
9.2 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,550 reviews
1.1 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#6 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MAHAMAYA Gili Meno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAHAMAYA Gili Meno

Address: Turtle Point, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Meno
Price Range: $136 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MAHAMAYA Gili Meno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meaning of MAHAMAYA is ultimate paradise. And that's exactly what you'll find at our chic, eco inspired resort. So if you're looking for the perfect, leave-it-all-behind, luxury beach destination, we'll be delighted to welcome you to the idyllic island of Gili Meno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your MAHAMAYA Gili Meno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing