We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Eco-Resort on a peaceful island”
Review of MAHAMAYA Gili Meno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gili Meno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A+++ Pure bliss, can not say enough good things about Mahamaya and it's brilliant owners (David and Ali). World class facilities (the huge outdoor showers are incredible), ridiculously friendly and helpful staff, great location, fabulous food, no cars/motorbikes on the island, only bicycles and horse-drawn carriages = very quiet and peaceful, wish we could have stayed many more days! Not to mention their fabulous eco-approach: rainwater, re-usable water bottles in every room to reduce waste, gorgeous chemical free pool - BRILLIANT WORK, I truly hope this ethical business model rubs off on some of the other islands/hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Jenn L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an amazing review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It was very nice to hear that you had such a fantastic time during your stay with us.
We loved having you guys to stay and we were also sad to see you leave!

Our eco policy is highly important to us at MAHAMAYA and we have invested heavily in modern technology to assist our endeavors.
We have a rain water collection system to compliment our complete bio water recycling system.
We actively encourage guests to minimise water consumption, which reduces our need for additional water-boat supply from Lombok.
We do have a reduce plastic policy and do not sell bottled water throughout our resort.
Drinking water is provided at no charge both in the room and throughout our resort in order to support this philosophy.
Our buildings are designed to maximise air-flow and the room doors can be opened both back and front to allow good air flow which in turn can reduce AC usage.
Our policies do help to reduce our impact on our tiny island, in the hope that you leave our tiny island as beautiful as when you first found it!
We are located on a small island with some limited resources and it's so nice to hear that you appreciate our sustainability efforts.

Thank you also for your lovely comments about our team and our facilities.
We very much hope we can welcome you back again in the future to our brilliant eco-resort!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 720 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

Mahamaya was outstanding. We hadn't planned the transfer to Gili Meno from Seminyak, so we rang Mahamaya and they organised everything for us, which was a huge relief.

Upon arrival, David, Achi, Ricky and Fi with other staff were very welcoming, and set us up very quickly in our beautiful waterfront Candy Villa. That night we ate freshly caught Giant Trevally, tasting Fi's delicious cocktails, and sitting within ten metres of the beautiful beach, watching the sunset.

The next day was a delicious breakfast, coffee, snorkelling, and a great massage from Mahamaya's contact, Lucy, who also teaches yoga. Then there was more relaxing, great food, and great drinks.

I cannot emphasise how genuinely friendly, approachable, and helpful the staff were. I've been to a lot of luxury accommodation in Asia, but it hasn't compared to the boutique and friendly vibe of Mahamaya.

Thanks to everyone there for an amazing stay, we'll be back as soon as we can!!

See you soon!

Sam van Meurs & Michelle Hanson

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samvan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Sam and Michelle,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a totally amazing review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It was very nice to hear that you had such an amazing time during your stay with us.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and layout of our boutique resort and especially the beach-front villa.

Thank you especially for your lovely comments about our team and our restaurant, the MAHAMAYA sunset and cocktails are truly amazing!
Guest comfort and great service are very important to us along with the family feeling we strive to achieve at our Boutique Resort.

We will of course pass on all your lovely comments to our whole team, who are already looking forward to your return.
We very much hope we can welcome you back again in the future for some more luxury of a lifetime!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Mahamaya is in a fabulous location, although so is the majority of accom on Meno. It's the standout luxury choice on the island and really rocks a Greek/ Middle Eastern feel. The beds are high quality, the rooms are spacious and modern, the bathrooms are oversized although the whole time we were there we could never get hot water.

The restaurant is very professional and meals are of a high standard and very well presented. Staff are friendly enough and facilities like free snorkelling gear and kayaks are a plus. The staff/ owner were helpful when I was unwell. The pool is lovely and not too hot like some.

Snorkelling just off the beach is fantastic but if you are there to swim only it can be difficult with a lot of coral around during very low tide.

Would recommend to travellers on Meno looking for Western standard boutique accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamliner83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Dreamliner83,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a fantastic review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and layout of our boutique resort and especially our chic, modern design.
We are very sorry that you had some issues with your hot water supply but our maintenance department are on call to resolve any issues immediately.

Thank you for your lovely comments about our team, we do work incredibly hard provide an excellent service level.
It's so nice to hear that you felt we are achieving such high standards of service.
Chef Jar was very pleased with your comments about his food and it's great to hear that the kitchen is maintaining high standards.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary water sports facilities provided by the hotel.
It is possible to swim directly in-front of the hotel at high tide but it is helpful if you have reef shoes to avoid the corals on the way our to see the turtles!
We were happy to assist when you were feeling unwell as guest comfort is very important to us.

Thank you for you high recommendation and we very much hope we can welcome you back again in the future to our paradise location!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Love the staff and the service! They really make sure you have a great time there. Villa is well designed and clean, facing directly to the beach. The location is perfect for people who are seeking for peace and quiet holiday. No tv in the room, internet is also weak. Bring your own reading, cards, or entertainment as there is nothing much you can do at night time.

Great time to visit is definitely summer time (May until Oct). The weather can be unpredictable as it was cloudy and drizzling when we stayed there in end of May, so we can't see muc when we snorkeled. Another downside is flies getting into our room.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssusanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear ssusanti,

Thank you so much for your nice review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s great to hear such positive feedback about our staff and so very nice to hear that you found the service of such a high standard.

Rainy season tends to be from November to April and it is generally sunny in the morning with tropical rain in the afternoon.
Gili Meno enjoys a micro climate and we can often sit on the beach in the sunshine and view the rain over Bali and Lombok.
The rainy season has been a little unusual this year and of course the weather can not always be predicted!
We do hope on your next visit that you will be able to join our long list of guests who have seen turtles in front on the resort.

Our eco policy is highly important to us at MAHAMAYA and we have invested heavily in modern technology to assist our endeavors.
As part of our eco-policy we do not provide TV in the room, rather we encourage our guests to enjoy the tranquility of the island and it's natural beauty.
Wi-Fi is provided at the hotel and sometimes on our tiny island the signal can be intermittent, however most guests do appreciate this free service.
We do provide fly spray in the rooms and housekeeping are always on call, you only had to ask if you required assistance.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA for another great villa holiday!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Mahamaya resort is easily the best accommodation on Gili Meno. The rooms are clean, the service is great, and the sunsets are beautiful. We loved being able to snorkel right off the beach, and saw huge sea turtles each time. Dinners on the beach are a must-do.

Room Tip: Get a poolview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoSidra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear TorontoSidra,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It was very nice to hear that you had such an amazing time during your stay with us.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and layout of our boutique resort.

Thank you especially for your lovely comments about our team, we do work incredibly hard provide an excellent service level.
We have a unique environment and we provide a total dining experience of a very high standard at MAHAMAYA.
We are blessed with our location which offers some of the best sunset views on the island, coupled with a magical evening setting that is truly beautiful.
It was so nice to hear that you joined our list of guests who have seen turtles in front on the resort.

We very much hope we can welcome you back again in the future to swim with the turtles!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Phenomenal. When my mind drifts back to Mahamaya (which means "Paradise" - aptly named), my body just goes, "Ahhhhhh..." .with the waves lapping at my feet.) Every little detail is so well thought out - almost ethereal - majestic yet relaxed and extremely well thought out functional breezy space that naturally transitions from outdoor to indoor and back to outdoor again within foot steps. High points for us were: the design, to the morning combing of the sand on the beach (other resorts did not do this and the sand builds up making it hard to walk on the pathway), to the high end lounge chairs, to the warmish but still refreshing Balinese pool in the centre of our suites, to the twinkling lanterns in the trees, to the romantic dinner tables on the beach, to the gorgeous sunsets over the blue water, to the outdoor (but private) Balinese showers, to the mosquito lotion in the room (just in case), to really funky art, to printing off airline ticket, to the breakfast (yummy and huge) and the dinners were delicious, having access to snorkelling and kayak etc. equipment for free - all great. The staff, the staff, the staff - they have obviously been hand picked and they never stop working and taking care of you in the most unobtrusive way. Friendly and attentive and authentically caring. Eny served us every night and we had so much fun with her. The wifi worked well for first two days and was down on the third day, so the staff let us use the main wifi userID and password. All worked well then. On the last day, a bracelet salesmen (yes they are here too, but not in the mass numbers as on the other side of the island I am told and not Nearly as bad as Gili T.) who promised to bring me a different colour of earrings that I had already paid for, didn't show up at the appointed time. My boat was leaving in half an hour, so I had written him off. A female staff member (after discussing it with the Security Guard) took it upon herself to call the missing bracelet salesman at home and told him to come now. The salesman arrived 15 min. later by horse and cart. To my total surprise, he did. Because of this thoughtful woman, I got my earrings and left Gili Air with a great taste in my mouth. I personally feel, though Mahamaya is more money than most places, it offers great value for what you get. We had one huge downpour and I realized ten minutes away from hotel, I had left my book on the chaise lounge by the water. I ran back to the hotel assuming it would be soaked. Nope, bone dry. A staff member had seen it and rescued it for me at the first sign of rain. Simple kindness, casually elegant pleasure. The owners and management of this hotel have their act soooooo together. No wonder other hotels bring their staff here for their own training. What an example of hospitality.

My husband is already promoting Mahamaya to colleagues and friends and feels it would be a great place to vacation with kids as well. (When we were there, there were just couples. Mahamaya creates an atmosphere where you are okay to be on your own and you are okay to socialize with the other guests.)

Negatives - one Planters Punch I had at Happy Hour was not up to par. I returned it, expecting nothing and they gave me a Pina Colada. Drinks are more expensive here but you can be assured they do use Brand name alcohol (no "fake" spirits). Red wine was served cold and tasted weird, till it warmed up, then it was fine. Cost for boat trip to Lombok/Bali or other Gili port was more expensive than simply walking next door and arranging same transportation. This seems to be a common theme though as you need to ask questions along the way on your travels to get best transport price. Not a biggie and we had no issue with what they charged. We just chose to go the cheaper route to get us where we wanted to go. Be sure to bring water sneakers or such for your feet as the beach going into the water is coral and hard to walk on. It is the only reason I ranked the Location as Very Good and not Excellent. But every other ranking was Excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WithAppreciation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear WithAppreciation,

Thank you so much for your amazing review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so great for us to read such lovely comments about your time at MAHAMAYA, you do make it sound so totally romantic in your description.

We are happy that you liked your experience at MAHAMAYA, our chic modern design, our idyllic location and the attention to detail of our service team.
Our staff work hard to make guests stay both memorable and enjoyable and they truly enjoy meeting all of our guests.
It was very good for us to hear such positive feedback about our staff and so very nice to hear that you found the service of such a high standard.
Our team do work incredibly hard to ensure complete guest satisfaction and make sure that our guest experience is both memorable and enjoyable.
It really is our ultimate aim to make all guests feel at home and to take care of every detail!

Thank you also for you comments about our restaurant and our very popular cocktails.
We only ever use premium imported spirits in our drinks and never use any fake or imitation alcohol.
Our bar staff are very talented and work hard to create new and innovative cocktails for individual guest sand we are pleased to hear that they were to your liking.
Due to the high temperatures we do serve our red wine chilled, but it warms up pretty quickly in the tropical climate!
We offer a unique dining experience and menu on Gili Meno and our dishes use fresh local ingredients in an unique and idyllic setting directly on the beach.

We are always happy to organise domestic transport services to ensure that guests have a smooth and trouble-free journey.
Thank you so much for your tireless promotion of MAHAMAYA with your friends and colleagues, it really is amazing to have such recommendations.
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA for another 'My Ahhh Mah-gnificent Ha-ppening!'

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 6 nights in April 2013. The location of Mahamaya is unbelievable. Right on the beach, almost touching the sparkling water. They've got the whole "outdoor living" thing down with the restaurant being this open, breezy space that extends right to the water's edge with clever table and lighting placement. We stayed in the Cookie villa which is one of two beachfront villas. If you can stay in a beachfront villa - do. The view is fantastic. There's also a huge bed and a really cool outdoor shower. We didn't spend much time in the room though. We lounged on the beach next to the water almost all day, every day. It's a coral beach, meaning there's a layer of dead coral on the sand. I found it best to wear reef walkers or thongs but you can go without them without too much discomfort. A little discomfort is such a small price to pay though when you get to walk into the water and snorkel right in front of the hotel! You can see the coral, bright fish, and yes, we did see a beautiful turtle one day. One thing I didn't expect were the people on the beach trying to sell pearls and sarongs etc every 20 minutes or so. I know they are just trying to make their living, but when you're dozing off under the beach umbrella in nothing but your bathers and suddenly you have men standing over you trying to sell you a necklace for $2 saying they won't be able to afford the boat trip home if you don't buy it, it can make you pretty uncomfortable. The reviews of the hotel restaurant are spot on in my opinion. Every meal we had was delicious, all accompanied by 2 for 1 cocktails and a glorious sunset. I don't think this place could get any better. The staff were super friendly and helpful and a special thank you to Achie for helping with all my arrangements. Ricky was great fun too and I want to say thank you to him and to all the other staff who assisted us when my partner injured himself. Your immediate response was very impressive and we are so appreciative. A final note to all the other girly girls out there: there were big brown spiders in the shower. There were geckos in our room. I woke up one morning with a big squished bug on my arm (I must have crushed the poor soul in my sleep). I even saw a small snake on the deck of our room one afternoon. This is an island, so there's bugs everywhere. It was a little hard for me to deal with, but with the abundance of creepy crawlies also came beautiful birds and butterflies, so there's an upside. I hope I can come back to Mahamaya again one day, I really enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: The Cookie villa is slightly separated from the rest of the hotel by a small fence and is therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 182Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear 182Sophie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a totally amazing review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It was very nice to hear that you had such an amazing time during your stay with us.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and layout of our boutique resort and especially the beach-front villa.

Thank you especially for your lovely comments about our team, we do work incredibly hard provide an excellent service level.
It's so nice to hear that you felt we are achieving such high standards of service.
We will share your comments with our team and this will encourage them to continue to provide high levels of service.

Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen will be very pleased that you thought the food was so enjoyable.
Chef prides himself on his fresh and innovative menu and we have to agree that our beach-front restaurant setting is totally idyllic!
His team were very happy to hear your feedback and the bar team were also thrilled by your comments about the special happy hour cocktails!
We will of course pass on all your lovely comments to our whole team.

Our housekeeping department does clean the rooms thoroughly every day we do not usually have any issues with insects in the rooms.
Occasionally we do have the tiny lizards, known locally as cecak's that can find their way inside, these are harmless and part of day to day living in the tropics!
It was nice to hear however that you enjoyed the island life!

We are sorry that the sellers on the beach bothered you a little, this is beyond the control of the hotel but we do ask the beach sellers to be understanding regarding guest privacy.
Our guests sometimes like to have interaction with the local people but the sellers sales techniques can be a little immoderate!
Our beach is a more coarse sand and It is possible to swim directly in-front of the hotel at high tide but the water can be shallow at low tide.
At low tide the corals can be exposed so access can be more difficult so with that in mind we do recommend reef shoes.
It was so nice to hear that you joined our list of guests who have seen turtles in front on the resort.

We very much hope we can welcome you back again in the future for some some island relaxation!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Meno
0.4 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
#3 of 11 in Gili Meno
214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahogany Cottage
Mahogany Cottage
#5 of 11 in Gili Meno
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
9.2 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,572 reviews
1.3 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MAHAMAYA Gili Meno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAHAMAYA Gili Meno

Address: Turtle Point, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Meno
Price Range: $132 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MAHAMAYA Gili Meno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meaning of MAHAMAYA is ultimate paradise. And that's exactly what you'll find at our chic, eco inspired resort. So if you're looking for the perfect, leave-it-all-behind, luxury beach destination, we'll be delighted to welcome you to the idyllic island of Gili Meno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your MAHAMAYA Gili Meno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing