We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gili Meno
Certificate of Excellence
Dili
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent in Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mahamaya for a few days before my birthday. I was given a birthday choice by my husband to either climb a mountain or stay on Gili Meno to swim with turtles and dive. Obviously, I chose the latter.

Mahamaya was idyllic. We had a villa for one just on the beach about 50m from the water. The room was beautiful and so peaceful. The staff were really nice and helpful. Dave and Ali were great and catered to everything that we asked for. The night before we left they even laid out a special dinner table on the beach for us with a flower arrangement for my birthday, which was very touching.

Another thing about Mahamaya was the food! It was excellent, fresh ingredients, great tasting, beautifully presented and you can eat right on the beach next to the water.

I also got to swim with a turtle as soon as I arrived - stepping into the water just outside our room - it was amazing.

We would definitely recommend staying here. If you want a romantic break, to chill out on your own or with a friend, it's lovely. Great diving to be had on Meno as well and it's much quieter and more far more relaxing and pleasant than the other two islands.

We will definitely go back again, this time with our baby and we are already looking forward to it!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room just on the beach and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Jess W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a such a lovely time on your birthday stay with us and congratulations on your pregnancy!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and layout of our boutique resort and especially the beach-front villa.
Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen will be very pleased that you thought the food was so enjoyable.
Chef prides himself on his fresh and innovative menu and we have to agree that our setting is totally idyllic!
Our whole team really do work very hard to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied and happy.
Guest comfort and great service are very important to us along with the family feeling we strive to achieve at our Boutique Resort.
We will of course pass on all your lovely comments to our team and they are very much looking forward to your return visit with the baby!

We are pleased that you have joined our special list of guests that have seen turtles swimming directly in-front of our Boutique Resort.
We very much hope we can welcome you back again in the future for another excellent stay!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    105
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
101
415
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were initially booked into another hotel on Gili Meno but it didn't have air con and we didn't think we'd survive without it. A day before we arrived we switched to Mahamaya and we're so glad we did. It's a really wonderful hotel in every respect. We stayed for 4 wonderful days/nights.

The hotel is new (1 year old?) and is very modern in design. Don't go expecting traditional Lombok or Balinese accommodations. We had a pool suite, which is actually a good-sized hotel room with an attached bathroom and an outdoor shower. All were fantastic.

We had a few meals in the area nearby and also had two dinners at Mahamaya. Both dinners were outstanding. Breakfast is also excellent, with a good variety of choices and enough food for us. Dinner prices are certainly higher than elsewhere on the island, but we felt they were well worth the cost. These were as good of meals as we've had anywhere.

The staff at Mahamaya is really outstanding. The English and Indonesian owners/resident managers have done a great job of selecting and training their staff members and it shows. All the staff in every area of the resort were totally dedicated to being of the highest level of service. They were friendly, gracious and enjoyable to be around. Every time we returned after a walk, snorkel trip, or a meal elsewhere we were greeted with a warm "Welcome home!".

Suffice to say, we highly recommend Mahamaya and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Rob G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a charming review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
Thank you also for choosing MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, albeit last minute for your stay!
We are very pleased to hear that you had a such a lovely time during your stay with us.
We just celebreated our 1 year birthday on the actual day you made your review!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the style, comfort and layout of our pool-view suites.
We have incorported a modern design in order to offer something unique and special on Gili Meno island.
Our design also incorporates many eco features in an effort towards sustainability and to ensure the future of our tiny island.

Chef Jar will be overjoyed that you thought the food was so enjoyable and our whole service team really do work very hard to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied and happy. As you know, we are a small family run resort and guest comfort and great service are very important to us along with the family feeling we strive to achieve at our Boutique Resort.

We will of course pass on all your lovely comments to our team and they are very much looking forward to your return visit!
We very much hope we can welcome you back again in the future for another outstanding stay!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gävle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a very good choose on Gili Meno.
Located whit the best sunsets there is.
The facility is small but very cozy, the staff is truly friendly and helpsam.
It is right on the beach and the beach is fine but at this side full of broken corals that makes the entry in the sea a bit tricky.
The kitchen is very good even if the breakfast is a bit limited, I miss the bread and cheese.
It here is a few shacks just around the corner that offers food at the beach, grilled fresh fish at a lower price but also not the same quality as at the hotel.
It is also a very good dive centre just a 100 meters away that I highly recommend.
Overall a good stay at Meno, in my opinion the best of the islands.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikaelH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear MikaelH77,

Thank you so much for your lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
We must agree that Gili Meno is the best island and that we do have the best sunset at MAHAMAYA!

It was very good for us to hear good feedback about our staff. Our team do work incredibly hard to ensure guest satisfaction and make our guest experience both memorable and enjoyable. It really is our ultimate aim to make all guests feel at home.

It is possible to swim directly in-front of the hotel at high tide but the water can be shallow at low tide, so it is worth considering using reef shoes. At low tide the corals can be exposed so access can be more difficult however many guests have seen turtles swimming directly in-front of our Boutique Resort.

Thank you also for you comments about the quality of our restaurant. We aim to provide a high standard whilst offering great value for money. We offer a unique service and menu on Gili Meno and our dishes use fresh local ingredients in an idyllic setting directly on the beach. All of our prices already include tax and service charge which goes directly to our staff.
We are sorry that you felt with our breakfast was limited. We provide an a la cate breakfast with serveral choices to ensure freshness and quality of the dishes. Chef is always happy to accomodate special requests if there was something in particular you felt you needed. Had we only known that you were missing bread and cheese then we would have happily provided this for you.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA for another exotisk holiday!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

The island gili meno was just what we were looking for: beautiful beaches, snorkling spots and not as many tourists as Bali or Gili Trawangan. We had an amazing stay here. It was definitely the best accomodation on The Gili-islands. Very clean rooms, beautiful bathroom, eco-pool and a very nice setting for dinner! The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. The price for the food is a little higher, which you probably are very willing to pay after seeing the very clean kitchen en the romantic setting on the beach. If you are lucky you might bump in to some seaturtles while snorkling right in front of the hotel. From time to time the plankton lights up at night so keep your eyes on the water after sunset...

The breakfast could be better, but that's really the only remark.

Be aware that reaching gili meno is not so easy. With a fast boat you can go to gili trawangan. There you can choose for a private speedboat which will easily cost you up to 30$ for a 5min ride. The other option is the public boat which only departs twice a day and will cost you 2$. This one takes you to the other side of Gili Meno. Since it is a car-free island you are obliged to go by horse and cart on the bumpy roads to the hotel. Once arrived at Mahamaya it will soon become clear to you that it was all worth the trip.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Leen B,

Thank you so much for your charming review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.

It was very good for us to hear such positive feedback about our staff and so very nice to hear that you found the service of such a high standard. Our team do work incredibly hard to ensure guest satisfaction and make our guest experience both memorable and enjoyable. It really is our ultimate aim to make all guests feel at home.

Thank you also for you comments about our restaurant. We aim to provide a high standard whilst offering great value for money. We offer a unique service and menu on Gili Meno and our dishes use fresh local ingredients in an idyllic setting directly on the beach. All of our prices already include tax and service charge which goes directly to our staff.
We are sorry that you seemed disappointed with our breakfast. We provide an a la cate breakfast with serveral choices to ensure freshness and quality of the dishes. Chef is always happy to accomodate special requests if there was something in particular you felt you needed.
We are always happy to assist with domestic travel arrangements to ensure that you arrive relaxed ans stress-free!

We have given your feedback to the whole team who were very happy to hear so many nice comments.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA for another paradise holiday!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had verey pleasant stay in Mahamaya. The staff arranged perfect transfer from and to Lombok, with a good car and boat, on time service and friendly drivers.

The beach front villa we stayed was nice, with comfortable bed and spacious bathroom with seperated open sky shower. The swimming pool is small, but the water is clean and well maintained. Overall the resort has a very interesting concept and well maintained.

One thing amazed me was the crew. They are very friendly and attentive. They always ensured that we always get what we wanted. I remember my partner expressed that he wanted fresh fish for dinner but the restaurant could not provide him one that night, but the next morning they approached us to select himself the fresh fish he would like for dinner. The other day one crew approached us in the afternoon and offered to book our favorite table at the beach for dinner before other guests came and filled out the restaurant. It was very thoughtful and we appreciated it very much.

The variety and the quality of the foods and cocktails were also very nice. The price might be a little bit high than expectation, but the scenic view and the taste was worth it.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3nandha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Trynandha,

Thank you so much for your lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It was very good for us to hear such positive feedback about our staff and so very nice to hear that you found the service of such a high standard. Our team do work incredibly hard to ensure guest satisfaction and make our guest experience both memorable and enjoyable. We encourage our team to wrok hard on the small details.
Thank you also for you comments about our restaurant. We aim to provide a high standard whilst offering great value for money. We offer a unique service and menu on Gili Meno and our dishes use fresh local ingredients in an idyllic setting directly on the beach. Chef is always happy to accomodate special requests if there was something in particular guests request.
We offer fish when we can ensure that we have a fresh daily catch as quality is of ultimate importance for our restaurant.

We are always happy to assist with domestic travel arrangements to ensure that you arrive relaxed and stress-free! We are pleased to hear that our airport transfer service was both efficient and friendly.
We have given your feedback to the whole team who were very happy to hear so many nice comments.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA for another great holiday!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked in for 3 nights but had to unexpectedly cut the holiday short after the first night. The resort is classic beach chic - simple, paired back but tastefully decorated. Staff are friendly and attentive. Food was just okay and expensive, but one can slightly forgive given its location and that everything needs to be shipped in (electricity, water etc). The little family run warungs next to the resort are much better eating/drinking options.

We had no consistent electricity to our room the entire day we were there as the supply from the mainland can be intermittent at times. The staff were apologetic as there was nothing they could do. They were kind enough to give us a fan but it was an unbearably hot day (and night - consistent +35 degrees) on a blindingly white coral beach where everything else around it was white - you won't want to forget your hat + sunscreen and proper coral beach footwear here. The pool was small but adequate. Would've liked to see some umbrellas or anything to provide some shade, as unless you are in your room, there is just no respite from the sun. We are sun worshippers but even this was a bit much.

Mahamaya is lovely and quaint, the staff wonderful, but for the price we paid, it left us a little wanting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendyyy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear wendysanti,

Thank you for your review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort and for some of the lovely comments you made about our resort.

We are a small family run resort and we certainly do work very hard to ensure that all of our guests have a pleasant experience with us.
We are pleased that you liked our chic, modern design and the attention to detail of our service team.
We were sorry that you were forced to shorten your trip to the island, we understand due to work circumstances and we hope this was not the reason that our resort seemed to fall a little short of your expectations. We were quite disappointed that your score rating for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort did not reflect some of your kind words about the resort.

We firmly believe that we provide great quality food and good value for money in our restaurant. We provide a total experience of a very high standard at MAHAMAYA. We are competitively priced for our standard with no hidden extras, as all of our prices already include tax and service charge which goes directly to our deserving staff. Chef Jar works in credibly hard and carefully creates each dish to ensure all guests have an enjoyable dining experience. We generally find that the majority of our guests enjoy our high restaurant standards and prefer to dine inside our resort during their stay. Chef is always happy to cater to individual requests but if guests are looking for simple dining options then we are happy to recommend some of the warungs on the island that can offer a more local dining experience.

To clarify some of your points, with our commitment to sustainability we buy as much local produce as possible but we do of course need to transport goods from Lombok to our small island.
In line with our eco policy, our fresh water in wet season, is collected from rain water and when necessary, we do also bring fresh water on boats from Lombok.
Our electricity supply does infact come from Lombok and unfortunately, on the one night you stayed with us there was an issue with the electricity from Lombok. Due to a fallen cable on the island we had a reduced supply during your day with us which meant the AC although was working, was not at full capacity. We sincerely apologise for this and as you mention it was completely beyond our control. We always provide fans when guests prefer this option and we do have blackout curtains to keep the room as cool as possible during the day but temperatures on the Gilis’ can be very high. Our design allows as much air flow as possible and during the day time, we encourage guests to open the front and back doors to the rooms which allows a cooling breeze to flow through the room. We are located on a tiny island with some limited resources and most of our guests accept this and appreciate our sustainability efforts.
We do have a variety of umbrellas providing sunshade both on our beach and surrounding our pool area.
If you needed assistance with umbrellas, you only had to ask a member of staff who would have been more than happy to assist you in this mattter.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back to MAHAMAYA again when you have more time and we can ensure that your next stay is truly memorable.
Please contact us directly via email to the Managment Team at mahamaya1@live.com

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked MAHAMAYA at a very very last minute (probably booked a night or two nights before) in July 2012 as we changed our trip plan in Lombock. We read all reviews on tripadvisor about MAHAMAYA and we were so pleased that we could stay here one night. As many reviews said it was an amazing stay for us, too.

We took a private local boat from Gili Trawangan and landed directly the hotel's beach. As soon as we arrived, a hotel staff immediately came down to the coral beach and picked up our luggages!

We had lunch, dinner & breakfast at the hotel restaurant.
Lunch - we were WOWed by the variety and taste.
Cocktails at MAHAMAYA were simply amazing - we could not stop ordering as every single cocktail tasted so fresh and tasted great.
Dinner - it was absolutely emotional. A beautiful setting and fantastic food. It was one of the most memorable moments & tastes that I could think of.
Breakfast - unfortunately it was not up to the previous day... I think we went breakfast too early, before the main chef comes in the kitchen...

I wish I could've stayed at least one more night...
Thank you MAHAMAYA for your great hospitality!

Other info:
The island gets very very hot in July - August. If you walk around Gili Meno (takes about 1h to go around the entire island), make sure you cover up yourself and bring a good amount of water with you. There are several good beaches in other part of Gili Meno but we swam with wild turtles near hotel's beach.
You will notice that the island has very limited energy & water supply. Let's keep our stay on the island as ecological as possible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marinka_ilmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear marinka_ilmondo,

Thank you so much for your charming review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a such great time your stay with us.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the service, food and the cocktails. Both Chef Jar and Fi our barman are very talented and they both love to create new and interesting dishes and drinks.
We strive to create an environment that is relaxing and perfect for our guests so it’s nice to hear that you had such a nice time during your stay.
We have given your feedback to the whole team who were very happy to hear so many nice comments.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA for another very special stay!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Meno
0.4 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
#2 of 11 in Gili Meno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahogany Cottage
Mahogany Cottage
#6 of 11 in Gili Meno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort

Property: MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort
Address: Turtle Point | West Gili Meno, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Meno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meaning of MAHAMAYA is ultimate paradise. And that's exactly what you'll find at our hip, eco-friendly resort. So if you're looking for the perfect, leave-it-all-behind, luxury beach destination, we'll be delighted to welcome you to the idyllic island of Gili Meno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Gili Meno, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing