We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanastic hotel”
Review of MAHAMAYA Gili Meno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gili Meno
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fanastic hotel”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Mahamaya hotel for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon in September 2012.The hotel was incredible, amazing views out to the sea and attentive service. Very impressed with the helpfulness of arranging the boat from Bali and speedboat pick-up from Gili Trawangan, and for helping us arrange our onward Lion Air flights from Lombok. Very helpful staff, a pleasure to meet everyone and we loved the creative skills of the barman when it came to the array of cocktails on offer! We ate at the hotel's restaurant every night and had a really relaxing stay, only moving from our private sunloungers to go snorkelling or for a walk along the beach. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Gili Meno.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nix26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear nix26

Thank you so much for your lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a such great time your honeymoon with us.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the service, food and the cocktails. Both Chef and Fi our barman are very talented and they both love to create new and interesting dishes and drinks.
We strive to create an environment that is relaxing and perfect for our guests so it’s nice to hear that you had such a nice time during your stay.
We are glad you chose to relax and the beach and eat in the restaurant every day!

We are always happy to assist with domestic transport bookings to ensure that you arrive refreshed.
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA to our fantastic hotel!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Managment Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    109
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
103
428
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Mahamaya is not for everyone. If I had to take a wild guess, the folks who love this place are well-to-do hippie wannabes. Me? Well, let's just say, it's not only the Mahamaya...I would never go back to the Gili islands. Never. There's nothing there you couldn't get in Bali or Lombok, and due to the cost of ferrying in everything from fresh water to furniture, the cost of your vacation goes up. That would have been fine if the Gilis met up to the hype about gorgeous beaches, but most beaches I saw were rough and littered with coral. There is a stretch on Gili Trawangan that could have been nice once, but the locals have spoilt it somewhat by using it as a boat landing strip. If you must stay in the Gilis, the Mahamaya is a good if expensive choice for quiet sunbathing with great food and wine. It is a tribute indeed to the management and chef to be bringing out first-rate food in the middle of nowhere. It is hard, though, to escape the party music at night from Gili Trawangan, and the room airconditioner struggles mightily against the sweltering afternoon heat. Hot water supply is touch and go as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DLYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear DLYK,

Thank you so much for your review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort and for some of the lovely comments you made about our resort.

We are a small family run resort and we certainly do work very hard to ensure that all of our guests have a pleasant experience with us.
Chef Jar carefully creates each dish to ensure all guests have an enjoyable dining experience.
It was so nice to hear that you enjoyed our food and had a pleasant experience sunbathing at our resort.
We firmly believe that we provide great quality and good value for money. We provide a total experience of a very high standard at MAHAMAYA. We are competitively priced for our standard with no hidden extras, as all of our prices already include tax and service charge which goes directly to our deserving staff.
We were however disappointed that your score rating for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort did not reflect your kind words about the resort.
Our maintenance department quickly resolved the issue with your hot water during your stay.
We recall that you found the AC in your room insufficient during the day but that you also found it too cold at night.
We are very sorry that you were not comfortable with the AC, we do have blackout curtains to keep the room as cool as possible during the day but temperatures on the Gilis’ can be very high.
We also can provide a fan on request if this option is more preferable.

We are sorry that the Gili Islands did not live up to your expectations. We do have some truly beautiful picture postcard beaches on Gili Meno as you can see on our website.
Your visit was during rainy season when the seas are rough and more coral does wash up on the beaches. We do work very hard however to keep the beaches clean all year round.
As you can see from our many reviews, we welcome all guests, from every walk of life to MAHAMAYA and all of our other guests do love our place and have a truly amazing stay with us.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back to MAHAMAYA again to make your next stay truly memorable.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Reading the tag line: 'MAHAMAYA is ultimate paradise' I didn't quite realise how spot on that statement is. Sat on the quietest corner of Gili Meno, isolated, reached only by Cimodo (Horse and cart), Mahamaya is the most tranquil paradise I have stayed at. Set in its own secluded bright white sandy beach, my accommodation opening out onto a stunning Indonesian vista, a short break very hard to top no matter how many stars the next place throws my way! The friendliest staff cannot do enough for you, fantastic food, every way recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilJHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear PhilJHill,

Thank you so much for your ultimate review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a such great time your stay with us.

We are located in a charming and secluded position, perfect for total relaxation on Gili Meno island.
We offer a slice of ultimate paradise for your to enjoy a relaxing break whilst our team of dedicated staff will take care of your every need.
Our staff work hard to make guests stay both memorable and enjoyable and they truly enjoy meeting and getting to know all of our guests so it is great for us to hear that your were so happy.

Chef and his team in the kitchen work hard to create an interesting, varied and healthy menu.
We offer both our popular set menu but also a host of fresh daily specials using seasonal ingredients so we pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food so much.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA ultimate paradise.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Managment Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

100 recommended!
We had our wedding at the mahamaya and it was the best choice we could have made.
Beautiful rooms with a beach just for us! 100% clean
Service and staff 1000000000%!
Chef Jar was amazing, cooked a wonderful meal for us and our guests with such a elegant taste for food!
Felt so confortable in this place with everyone that we can't wait to come back for another holiday!
Thanks again to all the team to made our beatifull wedding just perfect!!! U guys are awesome! Wish u best of luck this new year!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunagemelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear lunagemelli,

Thank you so much for your lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
We have such beautiful memories of your wonderful wedding at MAHAMAYA.

You both looked so beautiful on your wedding day and the weather was perfect for a lovely beach wedding!
Your stunning white dress and the beautiful white dresses of your bridesmaids made for an all white wedding! Maya also loved being flower girl.

Thank you for all your lovely comments about our resort, our food and our service we will be sure to pass these onto our whole team.
We often talk about what a wonderful wedding day is was!
Thank you so much for choosing MAHAMAYA for your most special day.

We wish you both all the very best for an amazing future life together and we very much hope that we can welcome you back next year for your first anniversary!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Managment Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I am all about luxury, good service and relaxation and MahaMaya is that and so much more. Having travelled the world, this is one of the most special places I have visited to date. The staff, the food, the room all amazing. The best is the access to the most incredible marine life right on your beach. Snorkel a bit, then get out and lay in the sun or have some food, and then hop back in. No boat required! I love it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sami Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Sami Q,

Thank you so much for your lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
We loved having you stay at MAHAMAYA and we are so pleased to hear such lovely comments about the resort.
Those comments are especially welcome from such a seasoned, luxury traveller such as yourself!

Such lovely comments help to drive our team to ensure that all guests have the same wonderful experience at MAHAMAYA.
We will be sure to let the whole team know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

We very much hope we can welcome your back to MAHAMAYA again soon for some more perfection!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Managment Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Sitting on your “own” beach, day by day, soaking the quiet time you have been longing for while living in a busy city. Enjoying being alone, not being disturbed by the sight of other people putting their sunlotions on or hearing foreign noises like annoying music you have not asked for, someone else's cigaret smoke or other people's conversation which you cannot help but listen to. Get up in the morning, put on your bathing suit, open the door of your (well equipped and very functional) “cottage” and walk few meters to the ocean and meet the underwater life the way you have imagined. In fact, let your kids (6 and 3) do the same without worrying about them being in deep waters, because the waters are not too deep. When you feel like it, swim back to the beach where your white table is being set for you by the Mahamaya Staff, without even asking you – they know that your choice for today will be the shade under the tree and they will move that table and 4 chairs into that shade just for you. So you get out, dry yourself in a fluffy towel and enjoy a quiet colorful, healthy breakfast on a remote island, feeling that it belongs to you, while the attentive staff is just a wave away, always ready to make your shy requests come true. Its all surreal even more, when you realize that the rest of the island is built from bambu and palm leaves and finding a clean toilet is above all skills.

Mahamaya’s staff brings comfort to a different level, when you finally understand what being “pampered” actually means. The only things we have never really understood is how could anyone train their employees so well – all of them!?

The rooms are clean and comfortable, big enough to accommodate a family of 4. Food nice looking and tasty with different interesting options every day. The nice thing about the resort being small (so far) is also the fact that basically they are able to make almost any kind of meal, even if not on the menu. Which works really well for you if you want to stay longer or if you have kids who will ask you for almost anything eatable. Not to mention that the whole staff was prepared for our arrival so well - being informed by the owner about our sons severe food allergies and the chef himself made sure, along with’ all the waiters, that what our son was eating was good for him. They even ordered special bread at the local bakery and brought in soya milk which they would not use on regular bases otherwise. And we are talking about a small island where even the fresh water for your shower has to be brought in by boats.

There are, of course some things that are not perfect, like anywhere in the world, (like 1) having to use watershoes if you want to enjoy the ocean – due to the coral being too close to the beach and the beach being frequently covered by pieces of the sharp coral as well and 2) the Gili Trawangan’s loud night life reaching all the way to Gili Meno across the water – but these are things that Mahamaya can do nothing about so can be forgiven), but over all and given our previous experience of other places elsewhere in the world, this is the second time we came within 3 months – we just could not wait to get back to all the above mentioned.

Basically, if you want to feel like you have rented a little house on a private beach, and have people cook for you and wash those dishes for you, if your kids are eager to have that beach for themselves and dig and dig, collect beautiful shells, study marine life at low tide and do nothing else all day long, if you want both shade and sunshine, comfort and yet the ultimate privacy away from the crowds – this is the place. Don’t get me wrong, you can still do many activities like walking or jogging around, exploring the island and its local interesting life, hiring a glassbottom boat to take you even further to see some turtles or walking to the other side of the island for that soft sand beach (but there are more people there and busier touristy atmosphere – but still very quiet enough, comparing to other islands) and even more beautiful underwater life. However, during the rainy season, you may not be able to see the beauty of this opposite side of the island as this time of the year is not only about the rain, but also some heavy winds bringing in a lot of trash to the beach, which the locals are not eager to pick up – except for the locals at Mahamaya beach, of course ☺ - and that’s even when the owner is not around! Way to go, Mahamaya! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsukuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear tsukuba,

Wow, what can we say but thank you very much for taking the time to write such an amazing review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It was very nice to hear that you and your family had such a lovely time during your stay with us.

Our staff work hard to make guests stay both memorable and enjoyable and they truly enjoy meeting and getting to know all of our guests, especially returning guests such as your lovely family.
Our team are hand-picked, highly trained by our International management team and do work incredibly hard to ensure guest satisfaction.
Our staff like to make guests stay both memorable and enjoyable and they truly enjoy meeting and getting to know all of our guests.
It was very good for us to hear such positive feedback about our staff and so very nice to hear that you found the service of such a high standard.

Chef and his team in the kitchen work hard to create an interesting, varied and healthy menu. We offer both our popular set menu but also a host of fresh daily specials using seasonal ingredients.
He is always happy to cater for individual requests and we were more than happy to ensure that your sons food allergies and specific dietary requirements were taken care of so that you can sit back and enjoy your time at MAHAMAYA, without worry!

We are located in a charming and secluded position, perfect for couples, families and total relaxation on Gili Meno island.
We offer a slice of ultimate paradise for your to enjoy a relaxing break whilst our team of dedicated staff will take care of your every need.
We are pleased to hear that our service level was nothing short of pampering!

We do indeed work hard to keep the beached clean for guest enjoyment and it is helpful if you have reef shoes as the coral can be sharp on the way our to see the turtles!
We are so happy to hear what a great time you had with us and we very much hope to welcome you back to MAHAMAYA for your third visit soon.
Hopefully little Maya will get to play with the boys again soon!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Managment Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at Mahamaya for 4 nights during our 2 week Indonesia honeymoon trip and loved our stay at Mahamaya.
The travel to Gili Meno via the fastboat was an amazing in itself. Then we had to take the horsecart from the jetty to the hotel. The place is extremely isolated and hence pristine which was perfect for a honeymoon couple. There were always more staff than we could have used. For a hotel which had only 2 villas, they had a staff of atleast 6 always so got personalized service of a level that is difficult to match. We felt a little warm in our room on arrival even though the AC was running and on pointing it out, they promptly arranged for a table fan to sort out the matter. The view and location of the hotel was perfect, saw great sunset from our private beach every evening!
We had our meals on the beachside which was about 10 feet from the waves! Amazing experience! The island is the smallest of the Gilis and hence not overly populated or crowded. The only other activity we did apart from relaxing on the beach was take a dive right in front of our hotel. Coming to the food and the room - Nothing to complain at all and everything was perfect as well! If you compare this to other places on the island it beats them hands down since this was the only luxury place on the island.
Will be back at Mahamaya at our next visit to Meno and recommend to all as well! Thank you Mahamaya team for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Abi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a such a lovely time on your honeymoon with us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and layout of our boutique resort. We are located in a charming and secluded position, perfect for honeymooners or total relaxation on Gili Meno island. However, as you mentioned, we are still only 1.5hrs by fast boat service direct from Bali! Our beach-front villas are only steps away from the turquoise island waters of Gili Meno and we are also ideally located for amazing sunset views.

Our whole team really do work very hard to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied and happy. Guest comfort and great service are very important to us along with the family feeling we strive to achieve at our Boutique Resort. We are more than happy to accommodate individual requests, where ever possible so an additional fan for your room was no problem!

We will of course pass on all your lovely comments to our team and they are very much looking forward to your return visit!

We very much hope we can welcome you back again in the future for another piece of amazing luxury!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Meno
0.4 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
#2 of 11 in Gili Meno
181 reviews
2.4 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
1.6 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahogany Cottage
Mahogany Cottage
#6 of 11 in Gili Meno
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MAHAMAYA Gili Meno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAHAMAYA Gili Meno

Property: MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
Address: Turtle Point, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Meno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MAHAMAYA Gili Meno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meaning of MAHAMAYA is ultimate paradise. And that's exactly what you'll find at our chic, eco inspired resort. So if you're looking for the perfect, leave-it-all-behind, luxury beach destination, we'll be delighted to welcome you to the idyllic island of Gili Meno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your MAHAMAYA Gili Meno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing