We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Sunsets”
Review of MAHAMAYA Gili Meno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gili Meno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place really is lovely and I have no doubt that it is the best on the island. The staff were truly wonderful, the dinners were great and sunsets were beautiful. It is easy to see why this resort is so popular. Our only mistake was coming here straight from the Lombok Lodge which was a little hard as Mahamaya is a much simpler resort - so we felt as though we had downgraded. However, I really cannot fault the staff and the setting is beautiful especially during sunset.

Note: the beach is coral, not sandy (but take a short walk to the south eastern point of the island for crystal clear water and white sand). Also the loud music from Gili T can be heard until the early hours of the morning. The room rate, food and drink were overpriced, however they gave a discount as they are building rooms behind and the noise didn't bother us at all.

This is definitely the best resort on Gili Meno, however, I would recommend this resort to 'flashpackers' rather than honeymooners.

Room Tip: The two Beach front Villas are the same but Candy Villa looks as though it has a better view (the Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Alison B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
We were very pleased to read your nice comments about your stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you thought we are the best place to stay on Gili Meno.
We have have many happy honeymooners stay with us as you can read in our other reviews, and we are always happy to welcome all travellers to enjoy our beautiful resort.

Our do team work very hard and we are happy that you felt our staff provided such great service. We aim to provide a high standard whilst offering great value for money. We may be higher priced than more simple Indonesian hotels but we are competitively priced with the other top rated hotels in Lombok and Indonesia. We offer a unique service and menu on Gili Meno. Our dishes use fresh local ingredients and our restaurant an idyllic setting directly on the beach. All of our prices already include tax and service charge which goes directly to our staff.

We are very pleased to hear that our construction did not cause you any inconvenience at all during your stay.
Guest comfort is very important to us especially during our pool-view suite construction period.
We have blocked the building works from view with a high bamboo fence in order to minimise disruption and noise.
Our beach-front villas continue to offer uninterrupted ocean views during this time.
Our resort is still developing and we will soon open our pool-view suites which we anticipate will be finished by the end of the year.
Our hi-tech eco-friendly chemical-free pool is finished but not yet operational as this will launch with the pool-view suites.

Our beach is a more coarse sand and It is possible to swim directly in-front of the hotel at high tide but the water can be shallow at low tide.
At low tide the corals can be exposed so access can be more difficult however many guests have seen turtles swimming directly in-front of our Boutique Resort.
On occasion the music can be heard from Gili Trawangan depending on wind direction, but we have had no issues with music heard inside our rooms.

We very much hope we can welcome you back again in the future to enjoy our extended facilities and for some more beautiful sunsets!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 736 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

What an amazing time we had at Mahamaya! We really loved the place, the view, the delicious meals and wanted to thank the staff for all their kind attentions. We will keep great memories of our stay in this slice of ultimate paradise!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippernyc07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Trippernyc07 ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a faultless review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
We are very pleased to hear that you had an amazing experience during your stay with us.

Our team are service orientated and their ultimate aim is complete guest satisfaction so we are overjoyed to hear we provided such happy memories.
We very much hope to welcome you back to MAHAMAYA soon for another slice of ultimate paradise!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Managment Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Mahamaya for our honeymoon and we just didn't want to go to another hotel in the island, both for staying and for dining. The room is very spacious with amazing views directly to the beach. The bathroom is divided into 2 room: one for the wash basin etc and a separate open air shower where you can feel the sun on your skin without the worry of a peeping tom. There was construction going on while we stayed there, but the noise and the worker didn't bother us at all. The restaurant is simply the best we had during our stay in Lombok. Try the sticky toffee pudding, which is super delicious! We considered to kidnap the chef to Jakarta just to bake us the sticky toffee pudding. The staff are friendly, informative, and helpful. Would love to go back and stay here again if we got the chance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank asentana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear asentana,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a such a lovely time on your honeymoon with us.
Chef Jar will be very pleased that you thought the food was so good and we are sorry that we could not allow you to kidnap him!

The outside shower is very popular with guests and often the guests say ‘wow’ when they see that room!

We are very pleased to hear that our construction did not cause you any inconvenience at all during your stay.
Guest comfort is very important to us especially during our pool-view suite construction period.
We have blocked the building works from view with a high bamboo fence in order to minimise disruption and noise.
Our beach-front villas continue to offer amazing uninterrupted ocean views during this time.

We very much hope we can welcome you back again in the future for some more sticky toffee pudding!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have been at Gili T for four nights enjoying the choices to eat out however I had at the top of my bucket list to have lunch over on Gili Meno at Mahamaya as I had read so many wonderful reviews & the photos inspired me to hire a boat to take us over for a few hours today.....we loved the experience, the place has a special ambience of romance,peace & paradise in a quiet place.
We felt indulged with the surrounds, tasteful furniture & fine food , the fresh juices with mint...we had a very special day, thank you for the great service also

Room Tip: We only went for lunch...well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinegoldenbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
Dear sunshinegoldenbeach,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It was very nice to hear that you had such a lovely time during your meal with us and how nice to hear that it was worth the special journey you made to visit us from another island.

We are please that you liked our chic, modern design and the attention to detail of our service team.
Our staff work hard to make guests experience both memorable and enjoyable and they truly enjoy meeting and getting to know all of our guests.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the service, food and the drinks.
We very much hope that we can welcome you back to MAHAMAYA in the future to enjoy another great experience.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Dont bother with staying anywhere else on the island if you want peace and quite, great food, friendly staff and amazing rooms. This is the place. The food here was the best food I had in all of Bali hands down. Throw in freshly squeezed juices, rooms with amazing views and friendly staff, it was really a highlight. Dinner is served on the beachfront and all day spent in your private cabana also on the beach and wait for it - afternoon tea served without you having too lift a finger. If you like the nicer things in life then this is for you. More importantly, this is an eco friendly resort and they use local produce and employ locals only. Because it is located away from the main port, you do not get hassled constantly to by things as well. Highly recommended by my wife and i.

Room Tip: There a 2 rooms located on the beachfront with another 7 or 8 to be completed by Dec 2012 which will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a such great time during your stay with us and have made such a great recommendation for our resort.
Your glowing review made us smile and we hope that we can certainly add those special touches to make your stay truly memorable.
Afternoon tea is very popular with our villa guests and we are happy to hear you felt so relaxed during your time with us.

We are committed to our sustainability programme and buy local wherever possible and we train our local staff to our high standards.

Chef will be very pleased to hear such high praise for his food and we very much hope we can welcome you both back soon for another relaxing stay.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Best food, Best service, Amazing location!!! Brand new and worth every dollar!
Stayed in the beach front villa 'Candy Villa' and the room was beautiful and the view was like waking up in your own little paradise!
Not much to do on Gilli Meno so the ultimate intamite holiday location!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieHennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Natalie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.

We are so pleased that you had such an amzing time with us. It's so very ncie for us to have such great feedback and we'll be sure to tell the whole team what a great time you had!

We very much hope we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA for another amazing time!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent 4 days of our honeymoon in Mahamaya and it was certainly the best part of our trip to Indonesia. The owners of the hotel created an eco-friendly hotel, putting a lot of effort into creating it and preserving the beauty of the surroundings. It really felt like a paradise and we were sorry to leave. Everything was amazing from the moment we arrived. We were greeted by friendly and attentive hotel staff who couldn’t be more helpful throughout our entire stay, we were offered welcome drinks and the bed of the villa was beautifully decorated with flower petals. We stayed at the beachfront villa which had amazing views of the beach and sunset, it was very comfortable, stylish, big bedroom, bathroom and open air shower and needless to say, everything was spotless.

Although we stayed there 4 days, we barely left the hotel, thoroughly enjoying the view, surroundings, amazing food and chats with the people working there. The meals at the hotel were an event itself, beautifully prepared, served by lovely staff and enjoyed while admiring stunning views. It was certainly the best breakfast we ever had in a hotel, everything we tried was delicious: the omelette, eggs benedict, pancakes etc. The banana cake became my favourite treat and I couldn’t wait for the afternoon when it was served with the tea (I even asked for its recipe and now trying to replicate it at home). This was a great start of the evening as afterwards we would watch the sunset sipping delicious cocktails and enjoy an exquisite dinner. We loved the food so much we even booked a cooking class with chef Jar and it was brilliant! Thanks to this amazing place and the people working there, this was our best experience in Indonesia and the best honeymoon anyone could wish for.

Just few things to note which have nothing to do with Mahamaya. Getting a cidomo in Gili Meno is not a pleasant experience as they are quite arrogant, completely overpriced and as they know there is no alternative, they don’t even bother trying to get a customer if someone does not accept their price. I.e. on arrival we managed to get a ride for 50,000, the next day it was 80,000, and the last day 100,000! Another thing I was not aware of, the beaches in Gili islands are covered in corals and stones (or something like that), so getting into the water/swimming in a shallow water is quite challenging without swimming shoes, at least for someone like me.

Sigita & Cédric

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SigaTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Sigita and Cedric,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a such great time your honeymoon with us.

Chef will be very pleased that you thought his food was so good. He very much enjoyed the cooking course with you.
We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed our afternoon tea for villa guests along with the homemade banana cake.
Chef would like to know if you have made the banana cake yet at home?!
Cocktail hour on the beach is very popular and your description of sipping cocktails at sunset was just lovely.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and layout of our beach-front villas.
Guest comfort and great service are very important to us along with the family feeling we strive to achieve at our Boutique Resort.
We will of course pass on all your lovely comments to our lovely team and they are very much looking forward to your return visit!

It is possible to swim directly in-front of the hotel at high tide but the water can be shallow at low tide, so it is worth considering using reef shoes.
At low tide the corals can be exposed so access can be more difficult however many guests have seen turtles swimming directly in-front of our Boutique Resort.

The horse-carts on the island are privately owned and operated and prices are negotiable.
We are in discussions with the horse-cart owners regarding a fixed price tariff on Gili Meno.
We hope soon to be able to achieve this to make it easier for visitors to navigate the island.

We very much hope to welcome you back to MAHAMAYA soon to our amazing place.
We wish you all the very best for your future lives together.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Meno
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 40 in Gili Trawangan
1,937 reviews
9.2 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,629 reviews
1.3 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#3 of 40 in Gili Trawangan
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#6 of 40 in Gili Trawangan
665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
#3 of 11 in Gili Meno
225 reviews
5 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MAHAMAYA Gili Meno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAHAMAYA Gili Meno

Address: Turtle Point, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Meno
Price Range: $100 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MAHAMAYA Gili Meno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meaning of MAHAMAYA is ultimate paradise. And that's exactly what you'll find at our chic, eco inspired resort. So if you're looking for the perfect, leave-it-all-behind, luxury beach destination, we'll be delighted to welcome you to the idyllic island of Gili Meno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your MAHAMAYA Gili Meno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing