We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was Amazing!”
Review of MAHAMAYA Gili Meno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gili Meno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Best food, Best service, Amazing location!!! Brand new and worth every dollar!
Stayed in the beach front villa 'Candy Villa' and the room was beautiful and the view was like waking up in your own little paradise!
Not much to do on Gilli Meno so the ultimate intamite holiday location!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieHennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Natalie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.

We are so pleased that you had such an amzing time with us. It's so very ncie for us to have such great feedback and we'll be sure to tell the whole team what a great time you had!

We very much hope we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA for another amazing time!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 729 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent 4 days of our honeymoon in Mahamaya and it was certainly the best part of our trip to Indonesia. The owners of the hotel created an eco-friendly hotel, putting a lot of effort into creating it and preserving the beauty of the surroundings. It really felt like a paradise and we were sorry to leave. Everything was amazing from the moment we arrived. We were greeted by friendly and attentive hotel staff who couldn’t be more helpful throughout our entire stay, we were offered welcome drinks and the bed of the villa was beautifully decorated with flower petals. We stayed at the beachfront villa which had amazing views of the beach and sunset, it was very comfortable, stylish, big bedroom, bathroom and open air shower and needless to say, everything was spotless.

Although we stayed there 4 days, we barely left the hotel, thoroughly enjoying the view, surroundings, amazing food and chats with the people working there. The meals at the hotel were an event itself, beautifully prepared, served by lovely staff and enjoyed while admiring stunning views. It was certainly the best breakfast we ever had in a hotel, everything we tried was delicious: the omelette, eggs benedict, pancakes etc. The banana cake became my favourite treat and I couldn’t wait for the afternoon when it was served with the tea (I even asked for its recipe and now trying to replicate it at home). This was a great start of the evening as afterwards we would watch the sunset sipping delicious cocktails and enjoy an exquisite dinner. We loved the food so much we even booked a cooking class with chef Jar and it was brilliant! Thanks to this amazing place and the people working there, this was our best experience in Indonesia and the best honeymoon anyone could wish for.

Just few things to note which have nothing to do with Mahamaya. Getting a cidomo in Gili Meno is not a pleasant experience as they are quite arrogant, completely overpriced and as they know there is no alternative, they don’t even bother trying to get a customer if someone does not accept their price. I.e. on arrival we managed to get a ride for 50,000, the next day it was 80,000, and the last day 100,000! Another thing I was not aware of, the beaches in Gili islands are covered in corals and stones (or something like that), so getting into the water/swimming in a shallow water is quite challenging without swimming shoes, at least for someone like me.

Sigita & Cédric

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SigaTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Sigita and Cedric,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a such great time your honeymoon with us.

Chef will be very pleased that you thought his food was so good. He very much enjoyed the cooking course with you.
We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed our afternoon tea for villa guests along with the homemade banana cake.
Chef would like to know if you have made the banana cake yet at home?!
Cocktail hour on the beach is very popular and your description of sipping cocktails at sunset was just lovely.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and layout of our beach-front villas.
Guest comfort and great service are very important to us along with the family feeling we strive to achieve at our Boutique Resort.
We will of course pass on all your lovely comments to our lovely team and they are very much looking forward to your return visit!

It is possible to swim directly in-front of the hotel at high tide but the water can be shallow at low tide, so it is worth considering using reef shoes.
At low tide the corals can be exposed so access can be more difficult however many guests have seen turtles swimming directly in-front of our Boutique Resort.

The horse-carts on the island are privately owned and operated and prices are negotiable.
We are in discussions with the horse-cart owners regarding a fixed price tariff on Gili Meno.
We hope soon to be able to achieve this to make it easier for visitors to navigate the island.

We very much hope to welcome you back to MAHAMAYA soon to our amazing place.
We wish you all the very best for your future lives together.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is so chic with a beachy feel too, and is definitely one of my favorite hotels I have stayed at around the world. I loved the decor, the food is absolutely amazing, and the customer service is outstanding. I loved how the staff really gets to know you and takes very good care of you. Breakfast is included, as well as afternoon tea which was such a fun bonus! The only downfall was there were a few bugs here and there, but that happens at any tropical island. I would definitely go back! The pool wasn't opened yet when we were there since it is a new hotel, so i can't say anything about the pool at the moment! Dinner at sunset was beautiful :) They can make you any drink you would like at the bar and they always have new concoctions that the bar tenders can create themselves!

Room Tip: I loved the ocean front room, you step right out onto the sand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Emily,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It was very nice to hear that you had such a lovely time during your stay with us and how amazing for us to hear that we are your favourite hotel ever!

We are please that you liked our chic, modern design and the attention to detail of our service team.
Our staff work hard to make guests stay both memorable and enjoyable and they truly enjoy meeting and getting to know all of our guests.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the service, food and the cocktails. Our barman often has new and special creations on the cocktail menu.

We do provide mosquito spray for the rooms and mosquito cream for your own protection free of charge in our rooms.
We also have plug in devices in the rooms and UV mosquito traps in the garden to minimise any issues with mosquitos.
Our pool-view suites and swimming pool are due for completion by the end of 2012 so hopefully we can welcome you back soon for a swim at your favourite hotel!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We arrived here from Bali by boat (the Mahamaya team organized the tickets for us). We stayed at one if the two (yes two!) beach front villas for 4 nights. The villas are very beautiful and spacious, and are located directly at the beach (you'll see the sea when you wake up). Bath room is partially indoors, and partially outdoors. Each beach front villa has a private "hut" at the beach. Breakfast is à la carte with coffee, fruit shake, and fruits. A complimentary 4 o'clock tea is served at the beach. Dinner is again à la carte, served at the beach, and among the best we had in Indonesia. Generally, enjoyed the family-like feeling and the staff.

Best things to do (apart from relaxing) is snorkeling (we saw underwater turtles directly in front of the hotel), hanging out at the beach, and strolling around.

Tip: Try one of Fi's cocktails :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul-Ina-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Paul-Ina,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience during your stay with us.

Chef Jar and his team work very hard to create tasty and enjoyable food with great flair on presentation. Chef will be very pleased that you thought his food was amongst the best you experienced in Indonesia.
Fi's cocktails are also very popular he will be pleased to hear your high recommendation.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and layout of our beach-front villas.
Guest comfort is very important to us along with the family feeling we strive to achieve at our Boutique Resort.

We very much hope to welcome you back to MAHAMAYA soon to ultimate paradise.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Managment Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Amazing place, in extraordinary location.. Gilli Meno is such a lovely tiny island, and Mahamaya, thanks to David, Ali and Hamzar, is a perfect place to unwind, relax, enjoy the great snorkelling and wath the time goes by... It was a very special moment in our family trip round Indonesia, and we do miss our candy Villa!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsiaVibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear AsiaVibes,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort. We are very happy to hear that you had such an amazing stay with us during your trip to Indonesia.

We do work hard to ensure that all guests have a thoroughly enjoyable experience at our resort.
It was so nice to hear the you had such a special and relaxing time with us.

We very much hope to welcome you back to beautiful MAHAMAYA and Candy Villa again soon.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at this amazing place on Gili Meno (compared to Gili Trawangan a quiet and relaxed island). Mahamaya is definitely the best hotel on the island with its relaxed, private atmosphere and amazing service.

The trendy "Candy Villa" had an amazing seaview and an open shower.

The food was just awesome. Hamzar, the chef did an excellent job! We had dinner directly at the beach with a wonderful and stylish atmosphere.

The natural beach was very nice. It was possible to snorkel just in front of the hotel and see colourful corals, fish and even turtles.

All in all: One of the best places we have ever been! Many thanks to David, Ali, Hamzar, Fi, Udin, Achi, Ucup, Ricky and all the others - you made our time at Mahamaya unforgettable!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Sebastian,

Thank you so much for taking time to write such a lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the time you spent with us and thank you for the great compliments about our hotel, our food, our staff and our service. We will be sure to feedback your comments to the team who were very sad to see you leave.

How nice for us to hear that MAHAMAYA is one of the best places you have ever been.
We hope that we can welcome you back soon to this wonderful place!

Warmest Regards
MAHAMAYA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I really can not explain in words the marvelous experience that my husband and I had staying at the Mahamaya. We were in Gili Air and not liking our hotel at all when we contacted David the owner and manager who was just so delightful and accomodating. We booked the room and just hop on a boat from Gili Air to Meno the next morning.

We just went and stayed in one of the wonderful villas, the Cookie villa, and it was only a one night stay for my birthday and part of our honeymoon, and it could not be better.

Everyone was so nice and genuinely trying to do more and more for us. Special thanks to Fi and V and of course David and also to the chef not only because the food was delicious, but because I was sick at the time and he really tried to cook some plates which would not hurt my stomach not in a very good condition after 3 weeks in Indonesia.

The villa is so beautiful and confortable with a view (from the bed) to the ocean, the snorkelling is so good, we have a gazebo and lounges at the beach. They serve the breakfast which is just perfect as is everything else right at the beach as well.

A very warm thank you to everyone at the Mahamaya for such a short but so memorable and wonderful stay. You can see that they really thought about everything and as soon as you set foot at the hotel you know that you are in the right place and you just do not want to leave.

What am I saying: just book it! It will be an experience of a lifetime! Just one more thing: the photos do not do any justice to the place, it is much much much better live and in color!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margarida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Gili Meno, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Margarida,

Thank you so very much for your delightful review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It is our absolute aim to provide complete guest satisfaction and we are so happy to hear that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us.

We have passed on your lovely comments to our team who are always happy to hear such positive feedback. The team really do work exceptionally hard to make sure that all of our guests have a happy stay. Thank you also for choosing to stay with us on your birthday. We really hope that we managed to make your birthday with us a truly special experience.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA for another perfect experience!

Warmest Regards
MAHAMAYA Managment Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Meno
0.4 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
#3 of 11 in Gili Meno
219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,868 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahogany Cottage
Mahogany Cottage
#6 of 11 in Gili Meno
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
563 reviews
2.4 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.3 mi away
Adeng-Adeng Bungalows
Adeng-Adeng Bungalows
#5 of 11 in Gili Meno
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MAHAMAYA Gili Meno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAHAMAYA Gili Meno

Address: Turtle Point, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Meno
Price Range: $119 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MAHAMAYA Gili Meno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meaning of MAHAMAYA is ultimate paradise. And that's exactly what you'll find at our chic, eco inspired resort. So if you're looking for the perfect, leave-it-all-behind, luxury beach destination, we'll be delighted to welcome you to the idyllic island of Gili Meno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your MAHAMAYA Gili Meno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing