We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach - shame about the huts”
Review of Amber House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gili Meno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amber House
Ranked #17 of 31 Gili Meno B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Gili Meno is a wonderful little island with some great snorkelling. Amber House is on one of the best beaches and we really enjoyed seeing the fish and the turtles. Unfortunately we were very disappointed with the accommodation. Basic doesn't begin to describe it - cold water showers, salt water shower, no basins, three of the five huts have 'Asian toilets'. We could have lived with the first three, but the huts were also shabby - bathrooms were in a terrible state / shower head didn't fit so you has a hose-pipe / loo didn't flush so you had to use a bucket / poor (dangerous) wiring / very old sheets / disgusting pillows / wifi is not 24/7 (as advertised) and can only be used at the bar and didn't work on my notebook most of the time (the nearby restaurant Meno Mojo had excellent wifi).

To be fair we did walk and look at other places nearby - most of the ones in the same price range seemed almost as bad. We didn't find anywhere where for a little more money you got much better facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonX09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 34 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Amber House is located in the best snorkelling area of Gili Meno, just in front of the bungalows. Room simple but with all that you need. Very comfortable the beach umbrella and chairs seafront.
But the strong point of Amber is the food, really gorgeous. Many dishes on the menu, from breakfast to dinner. Terrific vanilla ice cream with almonds and Tiramisù sauce ! Excellent choice of teas and organic food. Absolutely reccomended for location, service and low prices. The owner is a lovely person, vey kindly. Staff don't speak a good Engish, so be careful when you make order them. Please check it several times !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAVID1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Thank you Aki and Lee for your warm hospitality at Amber House. It was the highlight of our journey, such a serene and beautiful environment.
Food is great and snorkelling magical.
Simple and clean bungalows with amazingly helpful staff, Zili, Abib, Zaini and the ladies in the kitchen, and anyone who's names we didn't write down. You all made it a memorable time.
Good luck with the studio Lee.
We will certainly see you next time we are on Gilli Meno.
Dean and Robbie

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lathdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Firstly...amazing location, right on the beach! The best snorkel spot is just meteres from the beach and you can swim with turtles and many colorful fish.
The bungalows are very basic and they probably need updating, however they have a nice terrace and beautiful sunrise view. Good breakfast too.
Aky is a lovely person and a great host, but Ly completely ignored us...anyway...if you do not mind staying in a room not too comfortable, but you are looking for a relaxing place, this is your place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gaia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Looking for the Hilton, keep looking... Amber House on Meno is the place you did not think was still around: simple but clean but absolutly everthing you need. We rented the entire place for a group of friends and family including a baby. Bungalows are basic, two with western toillets the rest with asian (standing-type). Showers are not fresh water but slightly salty water, no problem at all. Fresh water are imported frpm neighbouring Lombok and available if you really need it. Location is gorgeous with a beautiful beach. Food is wonderful and staff really service-minded but not always super fast;).
This is Bali or Thailand 20 years ago, please hurry to enjoy Amber House as long as it´s available, Gili Meno is changing colours and are going upscale and fancy,
Owner Aki & Ly are amazing: Aki your typical soft/ zen host, always available and helpful and his wife Ly followed us on snorkeling trips as an extra local guide.
GO, GO. GO if you are looking for basic, very affordable beach-front bungalows on Meno. And yes, Meno is the island to be, Trawangan is a disaster and Air does not have the vibe!
Pls, contact me in person if you plan on going, I have medications for the Amber cats I would like someone to bring, Thank´s!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Granefalts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

From exploring Gili Meno, most def the best place on the island! If you like a down-to-earth vibe and friendly staff, this is the place for you. :)

Although not luxurious, the bungalows are cute and clean. And the good is fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WatzHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Well they say its location, location, location and this is where Aki, Ly & their fab team of staff have got it spot on. Gili Meno as a whole is paradise, seeing as you can walk around it in an hour or so we realised that Amber House really is in the perfect spot. The loungers out front or even the hammock from your bungalow give you the perfect view of white sand & crystal clear sea!

The snorkelling just out front was amazing. So much varied marine life & lots of turtles! After the day snorkelling trip we all agreed the snorkelling was best just outside our front door!

The food is very good & although we ate there a lot, the great thing is the other restaurants are only a short walk away so you can have some variety if you want.

The rooms were lovely. The shared bungalow is great but we were a bit conscious of making any noise so snapped up an individual bungalow. The bed & mossie net were in good condition. The fans were a little weak to make any noticeable difference through the net at night but it didn't bother us. The bathroom was clean & the cold shower (fresh water) was a welcome relief from the heat of the day. Bargain for the price.

Best of all was the people. The staff were so attentive & my fiancée enjoyed chatting with the guys on the beach as dawn broke over the mountain (I could never quite wake up for it!). The girls in the restaurant were so pretty & always so polite. Aki manages a tight ship there with love & passion and it shows. We enjoyed passing our lazy days there talking with Aki's family, the staff & other guests (and playing with the super cute kittens!). It was so hard to leave.......until next time!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Little-Red-Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Meno
0.0 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
#3 of 11 in Gili Meno
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seri Resort Gili Meno
Seri Resort Gili Meno
#1 of 31 in Gili Meno
522 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mallias Bungalows
Mallias Bungalows
#3 of 70 in Gili Meno
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Biru Meno Bungalows
Biru Meno Bungalows
#6 of 31 in Gili Meno
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
0.0 mi away
Meno Dream Resort
Meno Dream Resort
#2 of 31 in Gili Meno
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House

Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Meno
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Amber House Hotel Gili Meno
Amber House Gili Meno, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing