We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!!”
Review of Amber House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gili Meno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amber House
Ranked #16 of 32 Gili Meno B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just got back from a fantastic stay! After reading the reviews before i went i was very surprised when i got there. Not sure if they have recently changed the accommodation as it isn't what's described in the lonely planet:
The staff are incredibly friendly and relaxed.
We were pleasantly surprised that we had a fresh water shower. We stayed in bungalow number four, which has a four poster bed with mosquito net, seating and a hammock on the front terrace and en-suite shower room with a western toilet. There's another bungalow of the same size and a large one which seems perfect for families. The sunbeds for communal use at the front, on the beach are a nice touch too.
Could not have asked for a better location. short walk to the 'busy' area of the island by the harbour and a short walk to some nice cheap restaurants on the north side. Directly in front of Amber House is perfect snorkelling.
The food was good- best banana pancakes in Lombok and Bali. We only ate breakfast and lunch here as it was a bit pricey for our budget and there are lots of nice cheap little warungs.

Those who complain about no pool or activities should really not go to Gilli Meno! It has sea and sun. Blissfully quiet. Best location for couples and those seeking relaxation. If you want entertainment go to Gili Trawangan. Oh and ofcourse it's not going to be cleaned during your stay. Its not a hotel!! But you can ask the staff for more toilet paper or anything you require and he will help.

The price that we paid for our three nights stay was a bargain.
Thank you so much for a wonderful few days!!

Room Tip: Bungalow Number 4 has western toilet. Take a torch as once night falls there's very little light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny1987186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very clean, basic room; excellent location away from the busy boat stop, very friendly, calm an sympathetic staff! Good food (their yoghurt with fruit is strongly recommended). If a Robinson Crusoe fantasy is at all possible on the Gili's, this should be your pick. No luxury, but complete relaxation is included!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Very peacefull and beautiful place. Simple room at the beach, very basic but nice. Very relaxed but friendly staff. Who leave you be and not trying to sell you tours or stuff. After being in indonesia for some weeks that a relief.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanniet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beusichem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Personel was not that friendly.
Beautifull beach just in the front.
bungalow was not cleaned during our stay
outside seating was terrible uncomfortable.
we did not eat here, had breakfast at yaya warung (perfect and cheap).
no fitness center or pool available

Room Tip: take the big bungalow. we payed 20 euro for a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cupasoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have been at Amber House for one week ( incredible but Gili was full so I was not able to find another room) and it was really bad. The rooms are much too expensive- we had to pay 450000 per night. Had to pay for fresh water which was salty... The rooms were very dirty. After taking a shower, going one time through the room my feet were completely black! Staff was friendly but very lazy, sitting at the Internet the whole day and so on... They refused to prepare food: go to a warung... I don't know how to cook ( that's just one example). Maybe this resort was nice a long time ago, but now it should be knocked down. There are much better options on this island like the brand new Adeng Adeng or Sunset Gecko. Both really nice and in a good condition. We have been traveling around Indonesia for over six weeks and Amber House was the worse experience we had in this time.
Search another place and enjoy your holiday. Trust me!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SirHackaLot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Amber House has two rooms side by side which works well for families. There are other single bungalows. Our rooms cost 400000 rupiah a night. The place suited us well because it was right opposite a swimming beach at high tide and at low tide snorkeling with turtles. However some money needs to be spent to make things less than basic, such as on new pillows, more comfortable outdoor seating, somewhere to put your clothes and some hooks. The bathroom is a typical Indonesian mundi with cold shower but you can ask for hot water. Animals abound but these add to the fun, a spider, the biggest gecko, a few cockroaches, ants and rocking chickens. The verandah makes the temperature cool. Five minutes down the path is the cheapest warung on the island that serves fried or grilled catch of the day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

A basic bungalow on the divine island of Gili Meno. There is no airco, and in our room not even a washstand. With this accommodation it is all about location; it’s priceless! The rooms are cheap, and for some extra rupees you get fresh instead of salt water for your shower. Fit for unwinding on the paradise that is called Gili Meno, but if you want some more luxury, there are better options available.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gijs29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Meno hotels
0.0 mi away
Mahogany Cottage
Mahogany Cottage
#6 of 11 in Gili Meno
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
#2 of 11 in Gili Meno
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
#1 of 11 in Gili Meno
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seri Resort Gili Meno
Seri Resort Gili Meno
#1 of 32 in Gili Meno
485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mallias Bungalows
Mallias Bungalows
#6 of 67 in Gili Meno
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karma Reef
Karma Reef
#3 of 11 in Gili Meno
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House

Property: Amber House
Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Meno
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Amber House Hotel Gili Meno
Amber House Gili Meno, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing