We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed bugs, old bungalows, totally overprized”
Review of Karma Reef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karma Reef
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Gili Meno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Don't go there. It is a run down place .
I had a very bad night of itching because i was heavily bitten by bed bugs, it almost ruined my vacation. Better you search a while , i can reccomed" rust mimpis bungalows" and "tunai cottages" .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AttiStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenClubSchliersee, Direttore at Karma Reef, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2015

Dear AttiStar ,
Sunny greetings from Karma Reef Gili Meno !
Thanks for writing this your useful review and thank you for delighting us with your company. I am very sorry for the inconvenience happened to you, Karma Reef has now been upgraded to a Luxury Resort and I take this opportunity to welcome you back for a complimentary night stay on which you can truly experience the true Karma Reef Gili Meno atmosphere and show you how totally changed all Karma Reef Gili Meno. We looking forward to hearing from you and receive you soon here again.
Our warmest greetings.
The Karma Reef team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 390 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

I spent 5 days in this hotel. Total opinion - very nice and quiet. This place good for you if you want to escape from everybody and just enjoying yourself. In bungalow there are only bed and closet. There are no glasses in windows, but it was great. Just me, my wife and nature. 5 days was enough to enjoy it and continue travelling. There is no restaurant in the hotel, so we ate in some restaurants on the beach. The best thing in the island - price... Everything is very very cheap, except to get boat to another island. Dinner for 2 persons with grill fish and beer is about $10, fresh juice about $1.
PS: we were there in july and were the only guests in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenClubSchliersee, Direttore at Karma Reef, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2015

Dear Nured ,
Sunny greetings from Karma Reef Gili Meno !
Thanks for writing this your wonderful review and thank you for spending your holiday with us. I'm glad everything was to your liking and you've been able to enjoy the relaxation that Karma Reef gives to our welcome guests. Karma Reef has now been upgraded to a Luxury Resort I hope to receive you again and make you participate in one of our sensational weekly events such as movies on the beach!
Our warmest greetings.
The Karma Reef team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much until the bedbugs attack, then we left the next morning.

The bungalow itself is pretty nice: good location (on the beach + close to the port), cold fresh water, sometimes a bit salty, many windows ----> not hot during the nights, mosquito net, free towels BUT I was bitten by bedbugs (bungalow nr. 2), especially the last night and it was horrible! Now that I think about it I had several bites even in the previous nights but I thought it's mosquitoes.

We didn't pay attention to the little and not so little blood stains on the sheets (they were kind of washed / brown colour - we thought it's maybe from the nose bleeding), but the last night I had a blood draining myself with several dead bugs around me. Horrible!

The staff was kind of nice, but they didn't want to give us any discount for longer stay (10 days) and breakfast was very small.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
17  Thank pepca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenClubSchliersee, Direttore at Karma Reef, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2015

Dear pepca ,
Sunny greetings from Karma Reef Gili Meno !
Thanks for writing this your useful review and delighting us with your company. I am immensely sorry for the inconvenience happened to you and your answer to this review informing you that we have solved the problem, Karma Reef has now been upgraded to a Luxury Resort and I take this opportunity to welcome you back for a complimentary night stay on which you can truly experience the true Karma Reef Gili Meno atmosphere and show you how totally changed all Resort. We looking forward to hearing from you and receive you soon here again.
Our warmest greetings.
The Karma Reef team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We have been to Gili Meno 5 times in the past 10 years and have stayed at The Royal Reef Resort every time. Our trips have been in April, July and Oct and the weather has always been wonderful. The 6 bungalows are small and convenient, with mosquito netting and ceiling fans. The location and price cannot be beat! 22 steps from the bed of bungalow #6 to the ocean and some of the best snorkeling and scuba diving to be found anywhere. There is now fresh water for showers (no need for 'hot water' as the water is not cold at all) and they have just installed outside foot showers to remove the beach sand prior to entry.
We have never had any problems with mosquitoes or bugs and the rooms are always clean and nice. The very best place to eat is Ya Ya's warung, about 75 meters away up the beach. Great food at the best prices on the island. There are no scooters or cars/trucks on Gili Meno, so transport is by horse drawn cart. There are daily shuttle boats to Gili Trawangan and Gili Air, but they offer nothing that Gili Meno doesn't have and have far too many people and too much noise.
The island is small and enchanting. It's highest point is maybe 3 metes above sea level and only takes about 90 minutes to stroll around it, but stay along the beach, as the interior is without sea breeze and becomes quite hot during the day! Royal Reef has gorgeous sunrises over Lombok Island nearly every morning at 0615! A walk to the west side can yield some beautiful sunsets over Bali, but be sure to take a torch (flashlight) for the walk back in the dark as there are no lighted pathways on the island.
This is the kind of Holiday that Robinson Crusoe would have lived for: Peace, quiet and a excellent cook close by! We are already looking forward to our visit in 2012! Maybe for the Football World cup like in 2006.

Room Tip: Bungalows #6 is on the beach and is outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank BeachBumBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenClubSchliersee, Direttore at Karma Reef, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2015

Dear BeachBumB ,
Sunny greetings from Karma Reef Gili Meno !
Thank you for choosing Karma Reef Gili Meno as the place to spend your valuable holiday and thank you for your wonderful experience described in this review. I'm glad everything was to your liking and you've been able to enjoy a wonderful holiday in a fantastic location where you can admire the beautiful sunrises over Rinjani.
I invite you to come back soon and visit us here at Karma Reef Gili Meno to surprise you, this time, with a magnificent island cruise with drinks and canape watching the sunset.
Our warmest greetings.
The Karma Reef team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

This was my 5th visit to Gili Meno. I always stayed in Gazebo but they have tripled their price, so I looked for another place to stay. I checked in with Royal Reef Resort for IDR 200.000 per night incl "American" breakfast. The bungalows are simple and clean. The bed is clean and there is a mosquito net. The fan is adequate enough, there is no requirement for a/c. The water from the tap and shower is slightly salty, but that is everywhere on the island. Buy a few bottles of still mineral water in one of the shops nearby. The prices for the bottles is hardly more than on the mainland. If you want luxury accommodation, well you should not go to Gili Meno. Gili Meno is wonderful for reading a good book, swimming, snorkling, a simple meal with a cold beer and early to bed. And get up early in the morning (you are woken up by chickens and roosters which wander under your bungalow). Watch the sun rise over Lombok, it is beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Hans_Netherlands29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenClubSchliersee, Direttore at Karma Reef, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2015

Dear Hans_Neth ,
Sunny greetings from Karma Reef Gili Meno !
Thank you for choosing Karma Reef Gili Meno as the place to spend your valuable holiday and thank you for your wonderful experience described in this review. I'm glad everything was to your liking and you've been able to enjoy a wonderful holiday in a fantastic location where you can admire the beautiful sunrises over Rinjani.
I invite you to come back soon and visit us here at Karma Reef Gili Meno to surprise you, this time, with a magnificent island cruise with drinks and canape watching the sunset or to make you participate in one of our wonderful weekly events such as movie night on the beach!
Our warmest greetings.
The Karma Reef team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

The hotel basically consists of 7 huts . though the location is beautiful right on the beach the huts are terrible. this property belongs to the royal goan beach club but there is nothing royal about it. the rooms are infested with mosquitoes. there is no hot water and the water coming in the taps to bathe in is salty sea water. Unless you are looking to really rough it out and sleep in the outdoors i would advise you to give this hotel a miss. there is a much better hotel a few blocks down with cute cottages with airconditioning and all other facilities. the manager of the hotel is also the maintenance guy and cook so anything you want you have to deal with him. there is no housekeeping, the fan moves at snails pace and the rooms are hot and stuffy. best of all there is no waste bin in the rooma d all guests used to dump their garbage outside their rooms itself. considering that Royal charges its members over USD3000 per membership i think the minimum they can do is provide their members with some decent accomodation. they have a beautiful location, if they only spent about USD3000 on basic things such as mosquito nets, security-door locks, working fans and some maintenance this would be one of its best properties. instead they have kept it as a dump with no maintenance or services whatsoever. the hotel only serves breakfast for your other meals ou can have same at anyone of the numerous restaurants along the beachfront. a special mention must be made about mr. bruce who did his best for us. he is the manager, maintenance guy, cook all in one guy at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank singaporegirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenClubSchliersee, Direttore at Karma Reef, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2015

Dear Singapore ,
Sunny greetings from Karma Reef Gili Meno !
Thank you for sharing your personal experience in this your helpful review. I'm very sorry for the inconveniences that you could have found in this pristine island and especially in our structure. So many changes have already been made, Karma Reef has now been upgraded to a Luxury Resort and I take this opportunity to welcome you back for a complimentary night stay on which you can truly experience the true Karma Reef Gili Meno atmosphere.
I hope meet you soon here again to show how vastly improved the structure, the facilities as well as our kitchen with a talented chef and the attentive service of our staff.
Our warmest greetings.
The Karma Reef team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Anders Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Meno
0.8 mi away
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
#1 of 11 in Gili Meno
736 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 40 in Gili Trawangan
1,937 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
#3 of 11 in Gili Meno
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Adeng-Adeng Bungalows
Adeng-Adeng Bungalows
#5 of 11 in Gili Meno
185 reviews
8.9 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,629 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahogany Cottage
Mahogany Cottage
#6 of 11 in Gili Meno
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Reef

Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Meno
#1 Spa Hotel in Gili Meno
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Meno
Price Range: $140 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karma Reef 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karma Reef at Gili Meno offers an unforgettable vacation experience. Everyone should experience life on a tropical island at least once in their lifetime - where there is nothing to do but eat, drink, sleep, read, walk, swim, snorkel and relax. No hassles, no motor cars, no telephone (except in an emergency) and far from the tourist hordes. Throw in endless stretches of white sandy beaches, beautiful coral reefs, and magnificent sunrises and sunsets, and you have "paradise." If this sounds like a holiday that appeals to you then the Karma Reef Resort on Gili Meno is the place to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karma Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Reef Gili Meno, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing