We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveler rating
442
259
58
11
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
442
259
58
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rear pool air con es cana next year hippy market lovely hotel star hotel plenty of sunbeds plenty of choice year after year buffet style walk in shower breakfast and evening meal courtesy room year old daughter half board small fridge
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 783 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a fortnights holiday at the Hotel Anfora. The newly refurbished hotel is done to a very high standard and has a very chilled, contemporary look.
Pool, bar, gym, reception area all really smart and the air con is good!
We booked the HB option which turned out to be a result, as the was food great.
The breakfasts were as expected and the choice at dinner was also varied and of good standard.
We usually use the HB dinner option at hotels for the children and we then go out later for dinner in resort but we only opted for that twice at the Anfora, as the food was that good and actually better than the restaurant options in town.
We especially loved the option of having two swimming pools, we spent the first week at the back pool and the second week at the front pool, both were great but nice to mix it up.
We found the best nearby beach to be Cala Nova, which is only a 15 minute walk, a stunning cove with great beach clubs & restaurants for lunch. Try Ayianna, the best meal we had all holiday. (Beware of the odd naked bather but this is Ibiza, so anything goes, no big deal)

The staff really do make the hotel, whilst a new style hotel, most of the staff have been there for years and are lovely, nothing is too much trouble and they really do make you feel at home. (Especially Mandy, Toni, Charla, Gemma, Isabell, Diego)
We asked to move rooms after the first night, as it was a little quieter overlooking the back, not a problem.

The rooms are great and done to a high standard, it was a little tight for 4 of us, so I would probably opt for a junior suite next time but it was more than adequate. (note - no bath if you require for children but the hotel will supply a small child's bath that fits into the shower)
We actually like the fact there was no children's entertainment, it's not required.
There is a little play area for the little ones and a PlayStation area for the older ones, add in two pools, that's more than enough.

The pools have a range of loungers and cabanas, although probably not enough, so that does need addressing.
Unfortunately the race for sun loungers in the morning happens in many hotels and the Anfora is no different.
The hotel try to manage it with opening times of 9.00 & 10.00am but I did have sympathy for them, as you always get guests who try to beat the system.

Escanar itself is lovely and a traditional Spanish resort, although I think we would of struggled finding restaurant options for 2 wks if we hadn't of gone HB.
The hippy market on a Wednesday is worth a visit and also a trip into Santa Eulalia, which is only 10 minutes away on the bus is lovely. Abit more going on in the evening.

All in all, a great hotel, reasonably priced and I would certainly stay again if I visited Escanar.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank BorisManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
431reception, Recepción at Hotel Anfora, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Dear Boris,
Thank you very much for letting us know your opinion about the hotel and also for your suggestions, as these are the best guidelines for our work and for assessing improvements and changes.
It's fantastic to know that you and your family felt confortable with us and enjoyed your holiday.
All staff is grateful for your mention.
We hope to have you with us again very soon.
Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017

Stayed here 4 weeks ago lovely hotel very clean very comfortable beds and rooms nice but small .when we arrived they had set out salads and fruit in your room which is appreciated after a day travelling ,no entertainment at night but there is Charlie's bar not far with entertainment every night ,breakfast is lovely and not your usual massive busy restaurant it was well managed and not to busy ,dinner was great and always something to choose from ,tv in room bet very few British channels which is a pitty as there is not a lot to do at night especially when you have children I wander if the hotel could get a few more channels .poolside great thre was always beds no need to get up at stupid a lick to get beds ,reception pleasent when we arrived there was no bed set up for my son ,it was sorted quickly ,courtesies you room available to shower in before you leave with towels available .
All in all the hotel is a great clean base don't expect entertainment the hotel was always quite at night because there's no entertainment nobody drinks here because of that but very good .
THAT GOOD WE ARE RETURNING this Saturday for a wee short break for 3 days as it is relaxing

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
431reception, Recepción at Hotel Anfora, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2017

Dear Jody
Thank you for your comments. Guests' opinions and suggestions are our most important guidelines to assess future changes and improvements.
It's great to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us and are coming back soon.
It's fantantastic to have you back!
We wish you an excelent break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

Cool and classy revamp. Staff helpful and unintrusive. Food very good. Pool area spotless and well managed. Bar area quiet and no entertainment thank goodness. Gym small but air conned. Rooms very well done.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
431reception, Recepción at Hotel Anfora, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2017

Dear Bruce,
Thank you for having stayed with us and for your review.
It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

Visited the hotel in the last week of July with my husband and teenage daughters. The rooms are beautiful and all areas of the hotel great. They do amazing cocktails, (mojito's)and the daytime food menu is fantastic especially the spaghetti bolognese. The staff are so friendly and very accommodating, the biggest mistake we made was to not book half board basis as the food is by far superior to anything you can get in Escana. We did eat in the hotel one evening at a cost of 23 euro per head, but it was worth the cost. Breakfast is available at 12 euros. Food in the resort was so expensive, not good and drinks were ridiculously priced. A pint of Estrella was 4 euro and cocktails were 8 to 14 euros in most places. I didn't expect to have to pay city prices for drinks in a family resort and Escana was empty probably because the majority were wisely staying at all inclusive hotels. Bar Apache did a 2 euro beer and cocktails and shorts were 2 for 1 after 7. The cocktail was ok but preferred the hotels. Charlie's bar good for entertainment and we visited Jacaranda lounge when Jake Quickenden was on, he was very good the owner Mandy was crazy but very funny..

We also visited Cala Llonga beach it was a beautiful beach with clear water and great snorkelling with lots of fish. While there we also visited Cala Basa beach, Cala Basa beach club amazing beach beautiful clear water super clean amazing resort with beautiful restaurants. Yachts anchor up and big boats come into the resort. It is very expensive buy your drinks from the beach sellers, they have champagne buckets at the end of your Kabannas and waiter service to your sunloungers. We arrived early which was wise as it became overcrowded but the cliff jumping and diving (finally something free) we were able to do made our holiday. We also visited San Antonio daughters went on the total wipeout inflatable thing out to sea was good fun, we went to Mint bar ran by Mambo and directly next door to Mambo and cafe del Mar ....... Amazing don't miss out on the Ibiza sunset. Visited Cala Bioux beach hated it naked people, hated Cala Nova beach naked people running around, some things you don't need to see Hippy market in Escana was good fun my daughter loved it, great music and atmosphere.

In conclusion the hotel Anfora was a great base for us and very enjoyable but we struggled with the lack of entertainment in the evening and the fact I think as a a family with older children, we have outgrown this resort. Think we opted for the wrong side of the Island and the lack of quality of food and restaurants really put me off. It's no fault of the hotel as it is by far the best and the staff are fabulous so thanks to them. A tip bring a travel Kettle as they weren't available for us to rent.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank Linds58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
431reception, Recepcionista at Hotel Anfora, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Dear guests,
Thank you for your review.
It's wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay with us and felt at hone in the Anfora.
We'll pass on your message to all the staff.
We hope to have with us again very soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

The best hotel in Es Cana!! We have vacationed in Es Cana for 3 years now and this place is by far the best. Immaculate rooms, amazing staff, great variety of food and extremely stylish pool area. We will be back next year! Would recommend to anyone. There is no entertainment at night if that's what you're after, however if you're after a classy, modern and simply beautiful hotel then this is the place for you.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Stay724693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
431reception, Propietario at Hotel Anfora, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2017

Dear Guests,
We're very gratefull for your entry and happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us.
Client's opinins are the most important guideline to direct our efforts and we all feel very reassured when we know that you felt at home here.
We look forward to your next visit.
Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews