We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be 3*”
Review of Hotel Anfora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Anfora
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Es Canar
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Should be 3*”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Spent 10 enjoyable days at a lovely family hotel that is certainly better than its official 2* rating. New air con in rooms was great.

Excellent location, just minutes away from most things in the resort and 10 min walking distance from the Hippy Market held every weds.

I emailed hotel before our visit and requested two rooms overlooking rear pool, nice to arrive and be given the rooms we requested.

Plenty of sunbeds, rear pool doesn't open until 10 which prevents people from claiming sunbeds too early. Rear pool closes at 7pm and on one day there was a minor incident about people not leaving on time, perhaps a clock by the bar at the rear pool might stop this happening in future.

Cleaners do a great job, hotel is sparkling, rooms cleaned every day apart from Tues and the majority of the receptionists, bar staff and waiting staff do a fantastic job in a friendly manner.

The food is of very good quality, both Spanish and British inspired food is provided by the team of Spanish chefs, very good selection for size of hotel. On a couple of the nights we had roast beef and lamb dinners and I think you would struggle to get better roast dinners in the UK.

The day time entertainment was low key, both adults and children got involved with things such as shooting and archery. The evening entertainment was a bit hit or miss, a couple of the professional acts were good (singer Danny Murphy and a couple who sang acoustic songs, sorry can't remember their names). Perhaps a few more professional acts would raise the level of evening entertainment.

Overall an excellent family holiday booked with Thomson for about £50 per person per night for half board during the school holidays - excellent value!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking rear pool are best, we had 331 and 332.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil64Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen F, Gerente at Hotel Anfora, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate the comments you give us.
Our priority is that our guests enjoy their holiday, really happy to know you have enjoyed your stay with us.
See you soon at Hotel Anfora Playa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    208
    54
    9
    10
See reviews for
251
202
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I have been to many 3 star , 4 star and even 5 star hotels that do not match up to the standards in this hotel. We have just got back from a week there in July and had a lovely room. The place is so clean and the food was so good. My daughter is so fussy about food and we normally have to eat out instead of in the hotel which can be an added cost. Not this time as the food was so plentiful and hot! Why is it only 2star? Is it cos there is no tv or hairdryer in the room! Who cares, who wants to watch tv and with the heat your hair drys instantly. Too much to do with the good entertainment. I advise people not to go by the star system and go by word of mouth from people have been and then you will not be pleasantly suprised as we were!

Room Tip: We should have been in a twin room, but had a family room with 4 beds, which was good for us as it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen F, Gerente at Hotel Anfora, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
It's really nice to know your comments about us. We appreciate your feedback because you have felt as we want our guests to feel when they come to our hotel.
Thank you very much and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Lovely hotel,friendly staff,good entertainment,good food although restaurant a bit small for a big hotel,two nice clean pools,rooms clean but defo not triples there doubles with an extra bed felt like my 15yr old son was in bed with me and my husband for 10nights 3 single beds pushed together.1st hotel I've ever stayed in with no TV also no fridge for water,no hairdryer although all can be hired at reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnosgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen F, Gerente at Hotel Anfora, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Hotel Anfora Playa is very clear in all on-line descriptions of what you can find in the hotel and the rooms.
Recent years we have developed a wide range of day and night entertainment, special kids club, air conditioning in the rooms, early breakfast for early departures... and many guests suggestions in the questionnaires. TV and fridge have not been priorities, that's why we concentrate in other requests. But we are happy to include these points this year as your guest request. We thank you for this and thank you very much for your lovely comments.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have just arrived back from this hotel and I must say we were really impressed. As a party of 5 we had booked interconnecting rooms which suited our needs perfectly. The rooms are basic but clean with plenty of plug sockets and drawers/wardrobes for clothes. Air con was available at 2 euros a day which was worth every penny as it was very hot during our stay. Maids cleaned every day except Tuesday and towels were changed every day.The reception staff were always pleasant and helpful, although we found the bar staff a bit hit and miss, sometimes having to wait to be served while they chatted to other staff. The restaurant was nice, not too big although during our second week it seemed to get busier with queues for tables and food by 7.30. The food is this hotel was by far the best we have ever had in a hotel abroad. Almost every night the chef was carving joints of pork, beef, lamb or turkey. There was a huge choice of salads, cooked meat, fish and fruit,aswell as plenty of rice, pasta potatoes and veg. This hotel is in a lovely quiet location just 2 minutes walk from bars and shops and only 5 minutes from the beach, although the hotel panorama across the road could be noisy at times. I would recommend this hotel for families and couples as Es Cana is a lovely resort. We would be happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samantha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen F, Gerente at Hotel Anfora, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely feedback.
We really appreciate and feel pleased you have enjoyed your holiday staying at our hotel. Be assured that our staff will know your great comments.
Kind regards and see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at the Anfora 2 weeks in july had brilliant 2 weeks 4 adults 2 children aged 8 and 9 the boys really enjoyed tony and emma time archery ,shooting ,water polo ,football and many more activities and to b honest so did the adults .really good not opening back pool area until 10 always plenty of beds and nobody rushing to put towels out at 6 in the morning ,1 adult was in a wheel chair the access around hotel and pool area was brilliant only problem was bath time it would b helpful if there was a walk in shower available .the food was good not alot of choice for younger children though ,rooms were cleaned every day except tuesday but we had clean towels every day ,the staff were very friendly we spent every evening at the hotel seen 4 artists played bingo( ole) and different quizzes had a brilliant time and we would return .

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms with internal door but it was very noisy in the morning with deliveries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen F, Gerente at Hotel Anfora, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Really happy to know you have had a nice stay with us.
We have three adapted rooms in the Hotel Anfora Playa. We remind our guests that they always can ask for them and if available we are pleased to guarantee them. They are two double rooms and one family room.
We will let our staff know your lovely comments about them.
Thank you very much and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Arrived at the hotel after the restaraunt had closed for dinner and was pleasantly surprised that they had prepared and left me and my husband a cold meal. Room was spotless and suited our needs. Lovely maid came in every day to clean room. Great choice at mealtimes though sometimes could be a bit of a rugby scrum when everyone arrives at 7pm and there is a great queue, though this wasnt every night. Pool areas were kept clean and tidy and all times and were fairly quiet. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackier214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen F, Gerente at Hotel Anfora, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for giving us your opinion.
We take the opportunity to clarify that the guests who have got half board and arrive to our hotel after 21pm have got cold meal prepared. It is because the dinningroom closes at 21pm.
We are pleased to know you've liked our service and our staff. We will let them know.
See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Myself and my partner have just returned from a 12 night stay at the Anfora. I cannot praise this hotel enough, the staff were amazing, the food was 1st class and the hotel is in an excellent location.
I feel we need to give a special mention to Diego, the waiter who works in the restaurant. We watched him for the 12 days as he took the time to get to know all the guests and even memorised every ones drinks, what a lovely lovely man (We were the pepsi and water couple lol).
The rooms are basic but very clean, the cleaners were on every single day. The pool is nice, the good thing is no one comes down in the middle of the night claiming beds! We have visited Es Cana once before and stayed at the Fiesta hotel were we paid alot more for in my opinion the same level of service as the Anfora - it really is great value for money. For us the only downside was the hotel entertainment at night, that wasn't great. Es Cana itself is nice although a little quiet - we did struggle with things to do at night.
All in all this is a great hotel with fantastic staff.

Room Tip: We were in room 113 which overlooked the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen F, Gerente at Hotel Anfora, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
We feel really happy knowing you have had a great holiday staying at Hotel Anfora Playa.
We also appreciate that our hotel is the best one you have stayed at.
We work day after day to do the best we can for you.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Es Canar
2.0 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#13 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Miami Ibiza
0.2 mi away
Invisa Hotel Ereso
Invisa Hotel Ereso
#1 of 13 in Es Canar
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
#5 of 13 in Es Canar
1,486 reviews
0.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#1 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
234 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anfora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anfora

Property: Hotel Anfora
Address: Calle Cardona 9, 07840 Es Canar, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio > Es Canar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Es Canar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Es Canar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Anfora 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Set just 100 m from Es Canar Beach, Hotel Anfora Ibiza features terraces, swimming pools and an outdoor spa and fitness area. There is also an on-site restaurant, Restaurant Azul. Air-conditioned rooms are spacious and bright, and include a TV, safe, hairdryer and free WiFi. Restaurant Azul offers a breakfast buffet, and both international and local cuisine. Guests will also find a pool bar serving cocktails, and a lounge bar. Hotel Anfora Ibiza has courtesy rooms where you can shower on check-out day and leave luggage. Punta Arabi Hippy Market and Chirincana Bar are just 50 m from the hotel. Sant Eulalia can be reached in a 10-minute drive, while Ibiza Airport is 30 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Anfora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anfora Playa Hotel Es Canar
Anfora Playa Es Canar
Hotel Anfora Ibiza/Es Canar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing