We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Es Canar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apartments Playa Sol
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Es Canar
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

The apartments were situated opposite the small harbour overlooking the beach. It is central to shops,restaurants and ten min walk to the hippy market on a Wednesday. The apartments are run by a Spanish family and only 24 rooms. The greeting was good by the young chap Peter on the reception ( he will like that comment) and nothing was a problem. we had a side room and the patio door didnot lock it was sorted within the hour and an extra lock was put on for us. The rooms were cleaned everyday. For a two star accomodation we were very pleased with what was in the apartment. The door was kept locked whe reception not manned so felt safe. We ate out but you could cook a meal if wanted. Free wifi in the restaurant beneath the apartments which is run by the same family. We could also access wifi in our apartment so daughter was happy. Es Cannar also is much more family based and no large night clubs. Some entertainment hit and miss but you can use the large hotels if you wanted. We did hire a car to try and find a bit of culture I'm afraid we found none Ibiza is a party island geared up for that and a lot of the Spanish culture has been lost. Es Cannar is prob the best place to stay and has choice of three beaches. We did find it quite expensive in the local spars. If you have a car ten min up the road is a supermarket half the price. Restaurants to eat the Chinese to the right of the apartments on right hand side is cheap and a very good meal. The restaurant next to the apartments is also good. We had a great meal in the Italian around the corner. The lemon cello after meal is sooo good. If you want a good location great value for money apartment this is the one for you..

Room Tip: Any front apartments over looking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cressy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    10
    1
    5
See reviews for
28
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Probably one of the best apartments we have ever stayed at in terms of value for money, and simply amazing for a 1 Key(1*) rating. We paid extra to have a sea view, with balcony, but which was only £2 per person, per night, ie £28 in total. Wonderful views of small harbour, and the bay. Money well spent. The Playa Sol in a really good central location. Small & friendly in a block of 18 apartments. Reception only manned part-time by UK man, Peter, but a real gent, and very helpful. You can buy 5L of water from Peter for 3 euros, which saves having to carry from the supermarket. A nice little touch

Excellent maid service, even on a Sunday, and towels changed daily without question. Apartment was very clean. The bathroom was en suite to the bedroom. No bath, just a shower, but very adequate. The air conditioning was brilliant and efficient, coming from a central source and totally quiet. Usually in apartments, there are individual air conditioning units which can be noisy. Slept very well, with no noticeable traffic sound from road at the front. You can rent a safe which is located on the living area wall.

We ate several times at the Miranda Restaurant below. The owner, Manola, also owns the apartments, and you get 10% off the restaurant bill. Good value set menu for 10.50 euros. Excellent food and service.

Best bar for lager is the Apache at 1.50 euros a proper UK pint(568ml). Beware of Spanish bars selling a large beer at 0.5L(500ml). Apache also shows UK sporting events. To find Apache go out of Playa Sol and turn left. Keep on left hand side of road, and find bar about 400/500m, opposite the square where the service buses park. You will pass the Marvent, which is best bakery for bread and cakes.

The cheapest supermarket was about 200m up from Apache on left hand side of the road going up the hill. However, very poor selection of spirits and expensive.

The nearest supermarket is the Spar. Turn right out of Playa Sol, then round corner, keep going straight up the road. Whilst the Spar is much closer, items are dearer, but the spirit selection is good and much cheaper.

Bus to Santa Eulia, 18A from Es Cana, and only 1-55 euros each way. Bus stop opposite the Apache. Journey time only 10 minutes. Buy ticket on the bus from Es Cana. In Santa Eulia you have to buy your ticket from the ticket office, before boarding the bus.

Highly recommended apartments, and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank V2-60885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from an amazing two week break.
Excellent service in a perfect location.
These apartments are a small family run business, the owners really did offer 5 star service. The food in the Miranda restaurant offered excellent food, serving steaks cooked to perfection, and a more moderate priced menu of the day.
We enjoyed walking to cala martina beach just a little further round from the Hippy Market. Superb seafood , paellas and sangria can be found on this beach, well worth the walk.
The apartments are basic but clean, the location the view and the excellent family service is why these apartments are now firmly on my list of places worth coming back to. Hope you all enjoy we did.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachfirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent a week here from 20th July 2013. Reasonably priced for the location and the facilities. The part time receptionist who greeted us, Peter, was lovely and helpful. The reception wasn't always manned and, when it wasn't, the front door was locked so it was really secure. If there were any issues (which there weren't) we could leave them in the diary on the reception desk.
The apartment was spacious and clean with amazing views of the beach. it had everything in it that we needed (kettle, electric hob, small oven) and was cleaned daily. Air conditioning was available for free. There is a noise curfew of midnight, which was fantastic. This seemed to be in place at all the bars in the area, too, meaning we always had a great night's sleep.
The beach is directly across the road and is life-guard manned. There were two occasions where there was a jellyfish warning and we could have used a pool at a sister hotel if we had wanted to.
The food was great everywhere we went. Reasonably priced and with a lot of variety it wasn't hard for two vegetarians to find something different to eat daily. The apartment is round the corner from two Spa stores and there are plenty shops near by if you want to buy presents. It is also in walking distance of the Wednesday Hippy Market which is a fab day out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbowfrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent two weeks at the Apartments Playa Sol from 8th June 2013. We booked the holiday as a late deal through Thomson at a very reasonable price, and paid a little extra for a sea view room.

As a late deal, although we knew our accommodation, we didn’t know what to expect, however, upon arrival I must say we were very pleasantly surprised, and felt that we had found “a little gem”.

We were checked-in by Peter, who is mentioned in all the previous reviews, a very nice man, friendly, knowledgeable, and provided recommendations for restaurants and gave us lots of useful information and directions.

Our apartment was 306, on the 3rd floor with a balcony overlooking the small harbour. The apartment consisted of a living room / kitchen with fridge, 2 ring hob, oven/grill, dining table and 4 chairs and 2 sofa beds, with patio doors leading onto a balcony. At the back of the apartment was a twin bedded room with built in wardrobes and an en-suite bathroom.

The wardrobes were a little tired looking but, were perfectly functional, and the oven/grill was old but still did what it was supposed to do.

The apartment was cleaned daily to a very good standard, and the towels were replaced at the same time, the bed linen was changed every couple of days.

The apartments are located in a fantastic position, just overlooking the small harbour. Within 100 yards from the front of the apartment block in different directions, were the beach, the bus station, the ferry boat, a bakery, and numerous bars and restaurants. The Miranda restaurant beneath the apartment block offers guests 10% discount of their food and drink bill.

We spent numerous evenings chilling out on the balcony, before going out for our evening meal, and having the self-catering facilities allows you to have a leisurely breakfast before spending the day on the beach. We had a lovely time here and wouldn’t hesitate in going back, or recommending Apartments Playa Sol to others.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra "£2 pppn" for a sea view room - they're well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Topps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

we have been coming ti ibiza for the best part of tirty year and the playa sol is the best app weve ever stopped not only very clean but you are made very welcome by family that owns them my children will not go any were else app very big everything you need and if any problems they are sorted stright away not 2 or 3 days after .restaurant excellent food and service nothing to much trouble for them

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just returned from the Playa Sol Apartments in Es Canar on 14th July 2012.
Firstly, I must admit the town of Es Canar and the locals are first class, including the food, give or take a few choice eateries. Including the one next to Mr Fish, the food was sub standard and the price they charged ( 6 persons) was double what you would pay in any other place.!
If you are looking for good food / service and value for money either day or night, then go along to the "MARVENT" great service and great food ( try the Big Breakfast Best in Town)
A must is the Hippy Market on a Wednesday, you have guy's there playing in bands who I suspect have never left the island from the 70s and they are really very good.
Back to the Playa Sol Apartments. When we first arrived we where met by Peter "Tall English Guy in his Sixties with long white hair" (Nice One). Peter was a gentlemen on arrival however, we suspected that Peter had sampled some of the local "Sherry", as there was six of us and Peter could not manage to understand that we had booked two rooms to accomadate two adults & one child in each room.
Happy day's everything was great, rooms were cleaned every day, and I could not fault the room service (First Class).
Down side was the night prior to our departure, we asked Peter if we could stay in our rooms until 5.00pm the next day, as our pick up was not until 7.00pm. Peter confirmed that this would not be a problem. Howevever, he wanted 10 Euros per person per room, which was 60 Euros in total for us to have our rooms for 5 hours, which was not a problem ( As stated on the notice board at reception). However, one of other party (two adults & one child) did not want their room. Therefore, I said to Peter if we could only have our own room for the five hours to store our luggage and have a shower, but he said it would 40 Euros?. When I questioned the hotel policy he backed down and reverted back to the 60 Euros for the two rooms, which I agreed to pay.
Next day of our departure at 11.39 am I went to pay Peter our 60 Euros for our extended stay until 5.00pm and further hand him the safe key ( which I paid 20 Euros) Peter informed me that we Could not have our Rooms, as there had been bookings for the rooms within a 10 hour period.?
Therefore, the upshot was we had to be packed and be out of our rooms within 21 mins. Thereafter, we had to have a shower on the beach and return to the lobby of the Playa Sol and undress and change (4 Adults & 2 Children) in front of patrons entering the Playa Sol next to the lift, (Questions must be answered by management of this facility and the tour company's, booking famaily's into this establishment.? Do you really want your customers put in this type of situation. I don't think so, your are putting a very good family holiday accomadation in a serious situation. If I were you I would re-think your front line holiday welcome person and late flight-check out facilities, within this good facility.

Room Tip: Check room 203 fridge, as I reported it as not working. Peter fixed it but only put a bit of carboar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank russellj248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Es Canar hotels
309.7 mi away
Intertur Hotel Miami Ibiza
309.4 mi away
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
#4 of 14 in Es Canar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
309.4 mi away
Invisa Hotel Ereso
Invisa Hotel Ereso
#1 of 14 in Es Canar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
309.7 mi away
azuLine Hotel Coral Beach
azuLine Hotel Coral Beach
#8 of 14 in Es Canar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
309.5 mi away
Hotel Anfora
Hotel Anfora
#2 of 14 in Es Canar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
309.4 mi away
azuLine Hotel Atlantic
azuLine Hotel Atlantic
#5 of 14 in Es Canar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Playa Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Playa Sol

Property: Apartments Playa Sol
Address: Calle Granada,, Es Canar, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio > Es Canar
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Es Canar
Number of rooms: 161
Also Known As:
Apartments Playa Sol Ibiza/Es Canar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing