We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely suprise!”
Review of Golden Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Sands Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely suprise!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just returned after spending a lovely week at this hotel. Staff all very helpful and friendly, very good choice of food at breakfast and dinner, I was in a group of eleven nine adults two children and there was no complaints! Lovely beach's within distance. Well definitely be planning a return visit

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    98
    40
    27
    14
See reviews for
62
122
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have just returned after having spent one week here. Hotel rooms are a bit dated but always very clean with sheets changed and towels changed every day. Breakfast buffet excellent choice and quality and the same goes for the evening meal. Staff always very helpefull and very friendly - even the cleaning staff!!! Entertainment every night too!! Would definitely recommend this hotel and return again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed for two weeks mid-June & my expectations of a Greek 2star hotel were far exceeded.
Hotel is in a great location for sandy beaches (turn left outside) & very for a very good selection of taverna's & bars for the evening (turn right outside), approx. 10mins walk.
Room was cleaned every day, new towels daily & bed changed daily. Proper fitted shower tray with curtain that went to the bottom so that the bathroom did not flood (usual of most greek bathrooms). Also had a decent shower with good water pressure & always hot water.
Aircon & safety deposit box included in price, no extra to pay locally, which was an excellent added bonus. Also a fridge in the room (no charge). Bedroom furniture is dated, but that aside, the room was fine, plenty of wardrobe space & nice balcony with rattan seats.

Breakfast was excellent, several cereals, greek yoghurt, jam, honey, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, cake, biscuit, bread. There was also a hot choice, usually one, sometimes two, of sausages, baked beans with bacon, grilled tomatoes & a ham mushroom frittata, tea coffee & juice. It was the best breakfast that I have ever had at greek hotel & I have stayed in lot.

Swimming pool nice & clean & plenty of sunbeds. There never seemed to many people sitting around the pool. Outside bar area was also very nice.
There was nightly entertainment from 9pm in the outside bar area, greek night, latin night, dj disc night, unfortunately there were never many people there.

Also a mention to George the night receptionist & main man at breakfast for his excellent customer service, manners, smiling cheery face. He was genuinely a lovey very happy guy to talk too.
Also the female receptionist who worked during the day, was equally as professional, very friendly, polite & courteous.
In my opinion, they are both a credit to the hotel.

I would rate this hotel as the best 2star hotel that I have stayed in in Greece. For location, cleaning, service breakfast & above mentioned staff as 5star.
Russell & Jo

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank russgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation, the hotel met our very high expectations. the service was great and we enjoyed very much.the beach is amazing and we loved the food, the drinks and the hospitality.
any problem we had - the hotel fixed and took care.

Room Tip: we had a very peaseful room, the size is very nice and we liked it a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank erelinbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The golden sands hotel was amazing! Unfortunately we got there at about midnight and it was overbooked so we were relocated to a nearby hotel by the manager. Every moring there was a breakfast buffet and in the evening the was dinner they had cuisine from all over the world. the staff were friendly (except for the maids who just seemed to argue in greek)the rooms were clean and the beds were confortable. The pool out-side went up to 2 metres but there was occasioally leaves an wasps.on some nights they had people preforming from piano night to Greek night. all in all it was worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I booked in July 2012, 10 days, breakfast with dinner. It took around 45 minutes to get from the airport to the hotel, so it's not that long of a trip. From there onward was a mediocre experience at best.




----First the good stuff:




First impressions were great, the exterior looks nice, and so does the lobby. Bar in front of the hotel is great, nice variety of drinks, music was great and the mood was nice as well.

There are hammocks hanging between the palm trees and the mood is great in the evening, it was great to chill out, swinging in the hammock, drinking a cocktail and enjoying the stars.

Hotel staff was helpful, and they speak good enough English to understand what you're asking them.

The beach is very close by, just a minute long walk, but go left until you get to a cafe on the right (it was called XL i think) as the beach in front of the hotel looks deserted. There are a few stores nearby as well, and another resort is 15 minutes by foot.




----Now the bad stuff:




Location even though nice is very small and to get anywhere on the island you HAVE to rent a car or a bike, not a scooter. Why? Well the nearest more populated area is 15km away, while the Kerkyra city is around 30 at least, so i don't suggest that you drive for 30km on a scooter: it will take too long, it will be painful, and it will be dangerous as local drivers are not paying a lot of attention to what's happening on the road. You will get bored in a few days as there are no clubs in the area, and just a couple of bars and restaurants. For teens wanting to party 'till they drop: horrible location.

The elevator in the hotel is padded with some sort of carpet completely and smells of dust very bad, feels like you're lying on a dirty carpet and all i wanted was to run out of it immediately.

All rooms and balconies were dusty, and cleaning staff wasn't wiping any furniture or the floor. Rooms feel very old, furniture needs replacing.

Tiling on the balcony was damaged in every room we've been, and sadly we've been to several as we were moved after 7 days to a different room because they needed our room for someone else as it was a 3 bed room. We were promised a room on the first floor but then they gave us a key to a room on the second floor without notifying us. The room we were moved in was horrible. It smelled like an old apartment (like no-one set foot in it for years)and there was naked electrical wiring hanging from a wall INSIDE THE SHOWER CABIN!!!

Their excuse was: Oh sorry, we missed that, thanks for telling us, we'll fix it immediately.

The next room was ok untill i walked out to balcony: the exterior AC unit has corroded from rust and was dripping on the balcony into a makeshift container made from a Coca-Cola bottle. Apparently it's leaking for some time as the area around the bottle has changed color from the rusty water (pic included). They also acted surprised when i told them about it.

Finally i demanded to pick my own room and at least they made no fuss about it.

The next day, water went out, and was like that for 2 days. Not cool as i had to sleep without taking showers, covered in salt.

The toilet tank was broken in every room we've been. The handle falls off and i ended up having to open the tank and pull the mechanism myself after every visit to the toilet. They sent a repairman after a day or two who supposedly fixed it, but it worked for a day until it broke again.

(one of the slight errors was that we were handed a wrong tv remote, but we didn't wanted to watch any so no big deal)

Pool looked great until we took a dip and found out that the water colored my shorts and my girlfriend's bikini to yellow, probably from the excessive use of chlorine. We never took a bath in it again.

Breakfast is a regular buffet, has a wide range of food for everybody, eggs, ham, cheese, bacon, cereal, jam, soft drinks, coffee, tea, etc. I had a very unpleasant encounter with the waiter as i wanted to pour some coffee from the machine at 10.05 am when breakfast time was over he disconnected the power cord from the machine even though i came to the machine before him. VERY RUDE!

What gave me an even more unpleasant surprise was the dinner: IT WASN'T A BUFFET! (even though it said so in the brochure, so this was mainly the travel agency's fault but still...)

The dinner food portions were modest at best, i often stayed hungry afterwards, and the choice of food was bellow average. For several nights they served green/spring beans as the main course, along with some overcooked meat. Couple of times we were served tiny stakes (with a lot of spare fat) with some veggies but that was it. Desert was booooooring as hell, it was either jello or icecream. So all in all, the food is average at best.


In the end, even though i had all these issues i managed to go around them in my head and enjoyed this gorgeous island for the 4th time. The beauty of it swayed away my mind from the hotel. As i was happy i was leaving the hotel it's safe to say that i won't be coming back to it ever again, even if i was offered free stay. The distance from the city, the hotel beach and the average experience i had with it doesn't justify any comeback.


The island is amazing, but look for accommodation elsewhere, i can't recommend Golden Sands at all: it's a 2 star hotel wrapped in a 3 star look.

Room Tip: Ask to choose a room on your own, have them give you keys to several rooms before picking one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Milosh_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzannis, Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Mr Milosh

I am terribly sorry for your disappointment but we didn't expect this review from you.You even talked to us.At your arrival you came unhappy and with bad mood like it was our fault.We gave you the room early in the morning(normally check in is from 14:00) and we gave you an updated room with 4 beds!!Unfortunately after 1 week because the hotel was full,we ask you if you can change to another room and we updated you to a sea view room with air condition!!And it is first time that someone complaint for the pool.You didn't inform us about this.As i understanded you wanted with 19euro per day with half board to be at a 5*!!
Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel and give our regards to your friendly and polite girlfriend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you want to enjoy every minute of your (one and the only in a year) holiday, than I warmly recommend you to stay in this hotel.
It is really nice and cozy.
Situated near beautiful town of Corfu, but far enough to feel that you are on the lonely island.
You can forget all noise and crowd, and sleep well. This does not mean that you will be board in the little village of Agios Georgios. On the contrary, in the evening you can have a nice long walk through the main street, and have drink or good meal in many bars and taverns.
But let’s go back to hotel. It is a stone throw from a magnificent beach. You don’t need to walk to other beaches or rent a car. Also you can enjoy near the pool having some of the fresh drinks or cocktails.
Food is more than excellent (especially dinner). Always something different, but with special Greek taste.
Rooms are very good and very clan.
Stuff is story on its own. I can only say that friendly is weak word to describe theirs hospitality. Best regards to George.
And what more to say, except that last summer I was third time there.
I will surely go again in near future.
Many thanks to manager Petros, he made the best of this hotel.
Gordana K.

Room Tip: Rooms on a second floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
10.8 mi away
Alexandros
Alexandros
#8 of 9 in Perama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
27.4 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
9.9 mi away
Benitses Bay View
Benitses Bay View
#1 of 3 in Gastouri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
20.9 mi away
Blue Princess Beach Hotel & Suites
11.7 mi away
Royal Boutique Hotel
Royal Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kanoni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Hotel

Property: Golden Sands Hotel
Address: Argirades, Agios Georgios 490 80, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to GOLDEN SANDS Hotel, built on the long sandy beach of St. George Argirades, one of the most beautiful beaches in Corfu. GOLDEN SANDS HOTEL can offer you endless moments of relaxation under the Greek sun, while you may also visit the beauties of Corfu Area: St. George Argirades is a lovely area situated at the South west part of the island where the view of the Adriatic sea lies in front of you and offers generously its clean blue waters. In St. George Argirades are plenty of restaurants, tavernas, bars, night clubs, markets, water sports schools and one of the best sandy beaches in Corfu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Hotel Corfu/Agios Georgios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing