We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, would go back again”
Review of Golden Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Sands Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Arrived very late on Monday night the 10th Sept. 2012, first impressions, yes, the bedroom was a bit dark and in need of some modernising, but everything seemed to work o k, very surprised that the cheerful cleaning staff were around next morning to change all our bedding and towels again, this was the case for the next 14 days. The staff at the hotel under the General Manager Ioannis Sourvinos (Yanni) were so helpful and hard working, his sister Angeliki and Aspasia who ran the reception were also very helpful and full of advise, they even taught us a few Greek words.
The waiters Alex, Vaglis and George who also ran the bar were also very good, polite and helpful. I have read others reviews on this hotel, yes it needs modernising which I was told by Yanni is being carried out to the rooms, although we had hot water all of our stay the shower was very small and the lighting was so poor, It was like trying to shave with sun glasses on,and yes I do have to agree that the food, although there was more then enough at breakfast, the let down was most of the evening meals, but I would suspect that they have to operate with in their budjets, when we sit back and think about it were could I get 14 nights half board accomodation, free air conditioning, free safe deposit box in a very nice area of the Golden Sands Hotel with it's nice swimming pool and sunbeds etc for £394 including £50 transfers, you would not get that anywhere that I I know of in England
Will we go back to the Golden Sands Hotel, yes we are thinking of late May early June next year
John & Margaret

Room Tip: If you like the sun in the evenings you want to be overlooking the pool area, although this could ha...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for Golden Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 286 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our stay at Golden Sands was very enjoyable.

We were warmly welcomed by Ioannis and throughout our stay, all the staff were fantastic. A particular thank you to Ioannis and Aspa, who were so helpful and friendly on reception, to Alex and Magelis who looked after us so well in the restaurant and of course to George, whose hospitality is second to none.

We stayed in room 219. The room was very nice, but would benefit from some updating, particularly in the bathroom. However, the room was spacious with plenty of storage, clean with very comfortable beds and good air conditioning.

Breakfast was plentiful with a good selection. Continental with a warm dish each morning.

Our one criticism would be the evening meal. We were surprised that there was no choice at all and the quality/combination of food could be improved greatly. It would also be preferable to eat more Greek dishes when in Greece!

However, overall, we had a great stay and would certainly consider returning to the hotel.

The hotel is in a quiet area of the resort. St Georges South is very low key with some excellent restaurants and lovely sandy beaches. We would recommended the resort for couples and families.

Room Tip: Side Seaview is a good option as the rooms are set back and a little more private
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TDT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

It's quite close to the beach. The facilities were good. The pool was clean, you could relax on the pool-side hammocks, play ping pong, billiards, etc. The room was clean and air conditioned with WiFi internet connection. Nice view from the balcony. The cleaners were friendly.

However, the breakfast was disastrous! The water provided for the tea was the smelly yellowish tap water. Very low quality food with no variety. One morning, even the milk was on the verge of going off!

The double bed provided in the room was actually two single beds put together with an awkward, annoying wooden frame in the middle.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamidgh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

it promised kettles and tea making facilaties in each room. when i went to reception to ask where our kettle was i was told they didnt supply them, after a lot of needless arguements they finally gave me one. we were half board but the food was disgusting. we expected the continental breakfast and were prepaired to try it once and see how it was. once was enough after that we ate our breakfast elsewhere. the evening meals were a joke, on our 1st evening we were given a large bowl of beetroot each topped with a very thin yogurt, we asked what this was and were told it was a popular greek dish.i have been to corfu many times before and never come across this dish before and i hope i never do again it was disgusting. the main couses consisted of large brown beans in a red sauce,not forgeting the stale bread which accompanied every meal. another night we were served smash potato, pork burger stuffed with cheese and mushy peas {no visible peas just green mush} we went down every evening to look at the meals, we sat and waited to see if anything decent was about to be served but it never was so we ate out every night. i am an an ordinary working class man but i would not have given that food to a starving dog. the rooms wer very small and basic. the bathroom was even smaller and the shower was very antiquated with a small shower basin with a dirty shower curtain and was so small you couldnt turn round in it. also there was nowhere to put the shower head as it was broken. on 2 occasions the hot water went off for several hours. our bathroom never had a plug for the sink which made it difficult for me to have a shave. when i went to ask at reception for a plug i was told it would take 3 days for them to get one from corfu town. everyone we spoke to in the hotel complained of the food and the bathrooms. i cant understand why trip advisor issued a 4 star rating to this hotel, unbelievable. the receptionist never told the truth about anything we ever asked them about.i would never ever use this hotrl again. a.mulloy, hull, yorkshire

Room Tip: we asked for a double bed and a sea view, we got niether and when we asked why we didnt get our requ...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 31tony_m31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzannis, Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Mr Mulloy Anthony

I am very disappointed from you about this review.i didnt expect that from you.Everything was ok till departure and suddenly now that you are back to your country everything was not good.
First of all,from your arrival before going to your room you were very negative and unhappy.About the kettle and tea making facilities we didnt promise at all at any travel agency,you brought it from your mind and we didnt have any arguements,we gave you one right away(please dont write lies).About the food(it was an offer,you have paid only for bed and breakfast) that from your side was "disgusting",you didnt say to us any complain.And also for the buffet breaksfast,also no complain!From your inappropriate behavior,you didnt show us that you are an ordinary working class.With the receptionist you were impolite.And also your travel agency didnt send us your request about double bed and sea view,and we said to you to change the next day and you denied it!So,thank you that you have chosen our hotel for your holidays and i hope the future guests of Golden Sands Hotel not to consider your "opinion".Ioannis Sourvinos,Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Well, it's a little bit difficult to write anything very encouraging about our stay here..... Except the rooms are kept very clean and the housekeepers work very hard. Rooms cleaned and towels replaced every single day, beds comfy and as the rooms generally have a fabulous sea view then sleep quality is pretty good.

The staff were accommodating and pleasant but my oh my the food was absolutely appauling! I stayed with a friend and we booked half board - total waste of money... We ate two (well actually one and a bit in my case - my friend braved it out for the two) evening meals. The first was basically chicken and chips and on the second night what was supposed to be a pork chop with green beans and greek style potatoes. Mine was stone cold and the meat was tough to put it mildly. When I complained to the staff the only option given to me was 'would you like some bread and butter'... The breakfast isn't much better either and for me the cleanliness of the dining area is questionable.

Now for the good bit....the pool is a good size for relaxing by. The hotel is a little bit remote from the few bars and restaurants that are available. We would highly recommned staying in this resort but not at this hotel. Its a fair walk to the main beach, which again is beautiful. It is 'golden sand', very clean and a couple of areas outside the beach front restaurants where you can lie in the sun on loungers that are removed from the main area outside the large All Inclusive hotel at the end of the beach.

There are water sports available for the energetic holidaymaker. The sea is very shallow for quite some distance, so safe for children, but not much there overall to amuse or entertain the younger ones.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel other than on a bed and breakfast basis, but the resort as a whole is fabulous...like going back in time to the Greek experience of the 1990's.....

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor (ie the second) good view of the sea and the mountains
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tenila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Thank you Tzannis and your amazing team! I have just arrived home from a fortnights stay at the Golden Sands. We were part of a larger group, most of whom stayed at this hotel although our friends also spent a lot of time here taking advantage of the facilities on offer too!
The hotel has obviously undergone a lot of renovation recently and some of the previous reviews don't really do the Golden Sands justice! The rooms are on the basic side but we expected this given the bargain price we paid!
Overall, faultlessly clean and pleasant place to stay whilst visiting Corfu!
We are already looking forward to coming back next year!
Massive thank you to George at the pool bar and Alex in the restaurant for seeing to our every need!
Also, if looking for somewhere else to eat nearby try 'Spiros on the beach'. Friendly local taverna with authentic Greek menu and a fantastic Greek night!

Very sad to be home!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dlambie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you are looking for hypocrisy this is not the place! Luxury is not found into 3 star places but you can find more - good service, real life, natural, still available at this place feelings. Look into yourself and you will say - that's it! It is perfect! Wish you luck and say hello to all stuff there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stoyan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
27.4 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,165 reviews
9.7 mi away
Benitses Bay View
Benitses Bay View
#1 of 3 in Gastouri
60 reviews
10.8 mi away
Alexandros
Alexandros
#8 of 9 in Perama
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,378 reviews
26.6 mi away
Ionian Princess
Ionian Princess
#18 of 20 in Acharavi
226 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hotel Magna Graecia
Hotel Magna Graecia
#6 of 15 in Dassia
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Hotel

Address: Argirades, Agios Georgios 490 80, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Price Range: $61 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to GOLDEN SANDS Hotel, built on the long sandy beach of St. George Argirades, one of the most beautiful beaches in Corfu. GOLDEN SANDS HOTEL can offer you endless moments of relaxation under the Greek sun, while you may also visit the beauties of Corfu Area: St. George Argirades is a lovely area situated at the South west part of the island where the view of the Adriatic sea lies in front of you and offers generously its clean blue waters. In St. George Argirades are plenty of restaurants, tavernas, bars, night clubs, markets, water sports schools and one of the best sandy beaches in Corfu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Hotel Corfu/Agios Georgios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing