We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What do you want from Dora's ?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dora Apartments Argirades
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What do you want from Dora's ?”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a basic, clean, and ideally placed self catering studio/apartment.
Close to all amenities, Panorama Restaurant gives you excellent food
and 10% off your bill, ( owned by Dora ), staff are helpful and friendly, but please
just ask them for help and they will ( don't complain on here when
you get back ), very relaxed atmosphere for a chilled holiday, Sophia
at the pool bar is always there to supply you with snacks and drinks,
seven days a week. Your holiday will start here, but if you let the relaxing
experience to envelope you and make an effort to get to know the owners
and staff of Dora's/Panorama, I guarantee a return trip is on the cards.

Room Tip: Try for a pool side room for a breeze on a night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StuNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    81
    33
    8
    4
See reviews for
36
152
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Most reviews for the Dora have been quite good, but I have to disagree.

Admittedly, it was early October, when Corfu starts to shut down, and staff are very tired. Also the Thomson holiday representatives decided not to visit the Dora. But I think my comments are still valid.

First off -- there is no reception area! The owner can be found (if you're lucky) at The Panorama Restaurant, a five minute walk away. I found his attitude rather surly and brusque. When I booked the holiday three months in advance I had asked for a secluded studio high up, but got a ground floor room, overlooked by everyone.

The kitchen equipment is really basic (even for Greece), and what little there is looks as if it was picked up second hand. The furniture also looks second hand, and the whole effect was very dreary. The balconies are tiny -- seven feet by four feet, with no privacy at all. Remember to take basic kitchen equipment with you, unless you want to spend hours buying it all.

The pool area and small bar were adequate, but could be quite crowded in the high season. The room was cleaned six times a week, and as usual the cleaner did her job excellently.

St George South extends for two miles along the south coast immediately east of the much vaunted Lake Korission. Most of the restaurants and bars are located in the western half mile of the road running parallel with the coast. I've never seen so many supermarkets crammed into one place -- I counted at least twelve.

The beach in the western part (Ipsos Beach)-- near and around the lake -- is very flat with moving sand dunes, rather like the Sahara by the sea. As you walk eastwards the cliffs appear, and get steadily higher until they reach fifty feet or more and the beach gets quite narrow with secluded coves.

Lake Korission is a described as a haven for water birds and wildlife, but don't expect some idyllic tropical lagoon. The reason water birds flourish there is because us humans can't get to it! It's almost completely surrounded by impenetrable woodland and dense stands of reeds.

If you like cycling, St George South is ideal --this whole part of Corfu is very flat. Georgie's Bike Hire is run by a very helpful man who takes a real pleasure in all his pedal bikes and quadros. His place is on the beach side of the road, half a mile down.

If you're a cat lover you'll love all the cats -- every colour and pattern you can think of. They'll love you if you get them some cat biscuits!

Remember that the rains start around the beginning of October (give or take a week), but most days are still warm and sunny, but mosquitoes at night can be a problem. Fumigate your room with Raid, close the windows, and go out for an hour. Problem solved.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on the top floor -- nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peejayCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh scotland uk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Lovely relaxed accomodation and pool area, The rooms are always kept spotlessly clean as is the pool area and walkways When I read previous reviews about people returning year after I was oh it could be a them and us, I could not have been more wrong.
Your daily options are the beach, a walk through the village which consists of one main road with lots of lanes and a couple access roads, end to end it takes about 40 minutes to stroll along with plenty places to stop for a refreshment or snack.
We spent lots of pleasant afternoons chilling out round the pool having a swim in the lovely sunshine and meeting lots of lovely people I did manage a couple of refreshments too
If this is your idea of a holiday i can highly recond as I would definetly stay at the Dora again
Dora is owned by the same owners of the Panarama Resturant where the food is very good but to be fair found the quality to be of a very high standard most places

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George290152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We Stayed here at the end of September/beginning of October. A couple of things to start with, we went through Holiday Hypermarket, no mention of the need to take your own toilet roll! According to house rules and no mention in the info given to us, you get one toilet roll as it is self catering and the attitude of the owners is that it is your responsibility to provide the toilet roll! New one on me. You will also need to take tea towels and a cloth as these aren't provided either. An additional mention, when you are staying on a Saturday night, there is a bar/club on the seafront to the right that plays loud music until 6:30am! No mention of this from the Thomsons rep either. It kept us awake - not impressed! Would advise air conditioning on that night as it's too warm to keep it shut up.

The studios were sufficient for our needs. Could do with a proper clean in the draws and cupboards in the kithenette area. The rest of Studio was clean, but perhaps a little updating could be done.

The pool area was lovely and plenty of sun beds available. Often had to wait for service at the pool bar as there was only one person serving and they weren't always there. It was kept clean and tidy round the pool.

St George South was a nice little place, some of the bars and restaurants were shut due to the time of year. The ones that were open were very good value for money and the food was delicious. The beach was good but wouldn't fancy it in the height of the season as it is narrow. It would be lovely and safe to take children on it as the water is quite shallow. It was also a gorgeous colour.

We ventured to use the one bus to Corfu Town (on the day that everyone else did), it was 30 mins late but got there in the end. Was cheap €5.80 for two each way.

Had a lovely relaxing week, would go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaK2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Dorcas early sept13 apartment bigger than expected and spotlessly clean. Sophia was very helpful and efficient and kept the pool area immaculate. St Georges was a little Greek gem with plenty of tavernas and bars without being over the top.we enjoyed kazzos and Europa for drinks and the panorama and sunset for meals . Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. We will definitely go back.. thumbs up to st Georges and Dorcas.

Room Tip: First block room204 sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollietess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

we arrived also 13th sept and contrary to sarahs review we had afantastic time so rooms small but spotless every single day cleaned ,,outside areas also spotless ..and yes village is small but highlight of our stay was our meals at the PANORAMA....which the service the food the company of staff was second to none nothing was too much trouble we ate there 14 days and every meal was perfect and varied ,thanks to alex Kostas dave nico and maria also thankyou to ghef for making our stay so great ...if you want a nice chilled hol I recommend the dora and we are not in our 70s I suggest sarah go to hols in uk in future thanks for making our holiday memorable THANKYOU KOSTAS XXXX

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was so excited given all the fantastic reviews for these studios and St George South, so it was a shock when we arrvied on 13th September. The room was basic and dirty, it was clear that underneath the beds had not been cleaned in months. Apparently you are only entitled to toilet paper on the first day, it is up to you to purachase from there on.

On our first night we went to the Greek Speciality restaurant given the rave reviews. The food was ok, however I had just finished my first beer only to find that the bottom of the previously iced glass was teeming with mould! That pretty much set the tone for the entire holiday. Dirty, unclean resort, absolutely dead and full of extremely old and doddery people. We are in our late 30s and it was far too quiet for us.

On a positive note, the evening meals were all very nice, we particularly liked Oceana and Reuvalais and the Almyra bar was very chilled out, it should have been located in Ibiza.

I would not return to Corfu and not recomment either the Dora Studios or St George South unless you are over 70.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost. It sounded like a hospital with all the old people coughing and you can hear eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
5.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,242 reviews
9.9 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
26.2 mi away
Corifo Village Hotel
Corifo Village Hotel
#5 of 20 in Acharavi
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
26.3 mi away
Ninos On The Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sandy Beach Resort
Sandy Beach Resort
#2 of 14 in Agios Georgios
3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dora Apartments Argirades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dora Apartments Argirades

Property: Dora Apartments Argirades
Address: Argirades, Agios Georgios 490 80, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dora Apartments Argirades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dora Apartments Argirades Hotel Agios Georgios South
Dora Apartments Argirades Agios Georgios
Dora Apartments Argirades Corfu/Agios Georgios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing