We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful rooms and resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dora Apartments Argirades
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awful rooms and resort”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was so excited given all the fantastic reviews for these studios and St George South, so it was a shock when we arrvied on 13th September. The room was basic and dirty, it was clear that underneath the beds had not been cleaned in months. Apparently you are only entitled to toilet paper on the first day, it is up to you to purachase from there on.

On our first night we went to the Greek Speciality restaurant given the rave reviews. The food was ok, however I had just finished my first beer only to find that the bottom of the previously iced glass was teeming with mould! That pretty much set the tone for the entire holiday. Dirty, unclean resort, absolutely dead and full of extremely old and doddery people. We are in our late 30s and it was far too quiet for us.

On a positive note, the evening meals were all very nice, we particularly liked Oceana and Reuvalais and the Almyra bar was very chilled out, it should have been located in Ibiza.

I would not return to Corfu and not recomment either the Dora Studios or St George South unless you are over 70.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost. It sounded like a hospital with all the old people coughing and you can hear eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    79
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
35
142
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Nothing much to add to all the latest reviews -very clean both in the room and public areas,plenty of hot water for showers - pool was clean and cool and service at the pool bar very good - close to tavernas and bars. Kitchen facilities very basic but as we were eating out except for breakfast,all we needed was a fridge and a kettle!
Great seaviews from several of the tavernas -particularly Seagulls,Oceano and Mirsinies and Annas - but we didn't have a poor meal all week.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brewerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

As others have said basic apartment but perfectly adequate and kept very clean with bedding and towels changed during the week.
Very central accommodation for the village. Sophia was very efficient and helpful and we were in our room with air con and safe sorted within a few minutes of arrival.
Panorama and Seagulls restaurants were our favourites for the evenings and of course the 10% off for Dora guests at Panorama is always welcome.
For breakfast and lunch we ate at Kafesas Too every day - super value and lovely staff.
Average age of tourists is quite high so nightlife was very quiet.
All inclusive Hotel seems to have had a very negative effect on the village as a whole, although we noticed a number of yellow banders eating out, so perhaps the food there is not too good!!
We paid 5 euros daily for two sunbeds and an umbrella but you can get them free in exchange for a drink at some of the bars.
Overall a lovely hot, relaxing holiday and I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightongirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week holiday, the first 2 weeks in September. It was our 5th stay at Dora studios and from the moment my wife and I arrived we felt so at home. The whole family give you such a lovely welcome. The father Alex is such a gentleman and really appreciates his customers.
The apartments are basic but clean. I would like to give a mention to our cleaner, Ornella. Even though she spoke only a little English, anything that we asked for she managed to get us. She kept our room soooo clean.
Sophia, who is in charge of the pool and bar is very friendly and keeps the sunbathing area clean, always walking around adjusting vacant sunbeds and clearing ashtrays and glasses etc.
St Georges South is a lovely quiet seaside village with nice beaches and wonderful restaurants, all great value and good quality.
We had great weather. Complete sun for the whole two weeks.
Will be returning to Dora again. A big thank you to Alex, Dora, Kostas and Hippocrates for another great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent a lovely relaxing week here. Rooms are a reasonable size and kept spotlessly clean. Didn't use the kitchen facilities but seemed adequate. The pool and surrounding area really nice - never overcrowded. There can occasionally be a sewage smell but this doesn't linger. Sophia at the pool bar is very friendly and helpful. The apartments are in a great location at the busier end of St George - still quiet though :)
St George isn't as busy as it used to be but its still a gem of a place with a charm all of its own. We loved spending time at Stamatis, Panorama, Oceano and Retreat and will definitely be back to St George and Dora in the future.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms in first block have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corfuchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks in August with a large group of family and friends. Rooms are cleaned everyday apart from Sundays and towels changed regularly cannot fault the cleanliness of the rooms and the outside areas absolutely spotless!!
Sophia at the pool bar us brilliant she cannot do enough to help extra pillows ect is not a problem at all!!
Location wise you can't get any better, 2 minute walk to shops bars and restaurants and 5 minute walk to the beach. On the beach sunbeds and umbrellas are 5 euros per day and if you want extra umbrellas to keep prams ect shaded this again isn't a problem. The people that own the beds and umbrellas bring you fruit and lollies for kids too!
Everyone there is so friendly and cannot do enough to help!!
Panorama restaurant, Seagulls and Alex's pizza are amoung the best of the restaurants and are definatly worth a visit or two!!
Also Kostas boat trips are brilliant not too crowded and go almost every day, and a lot cheaper than tour operator trips!
This was our 7th visit to st George south and we loved it just as much as the first time!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holzj91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

These apartments are dated, but kept immaculately clean. Suited my son and me fine. The pool is small especially for the amount of people that are around it. Sophia at the pool bar was very helpful. St George South was probably a thriving village a few years ago, but the all inclusive hotel which can have up to 3000 people staying has taken its toll on the village. So its looking a bit worse for wear with alot of places closed down. Also the all inclusive hotel dominates a good bit of the beach. My son and i frequented the beach which was a 25 minute walk away little bit pebbley but then lovely golden sands. Visited most of the resturants and enjoyed the food. The panorama is attached to the dora apartments and you get 20% off meal. Kostas boat trips were great and leave from st george recommended as not over crowded. Enjoyed my time in St georges south, but wouldnt visit again. Having been to san stefanos before it did not compare

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammy440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
0.5 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Agios Georgios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
24.3 mi away
Theo's Hotel
Theo's Hotel
#3 of 14 in Agios Georgios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
9.9 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aquis Sandy Beach Resort
Aquis Sandy Beach Resort
#2 of 14 in Agios Georgios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,822 reviews
24.4 mi away
Kostas Apartments
Kostas Apartments
#3 of 23 in Agios Georgios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dora Apartments Argirades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dora Apartments Argirades

Property: Dora Apartments Argirades
Address: Argirades, Agios Georgios 490 80, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dora Apartments Argirades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dora Apartments Argirades Hotel Agios Georgios South
Dora Apartments Argirades Agios Georgios
Dora Apartments Argirades Corfu/Agios Georgios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing