We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD CLEAN ACCOMODATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dora Apartments Argirades
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“GOOD CLEAN ACCOMODATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a great time at this clean and friendly place, will defiantly be back. Shower very powerful,no noise from surrounding bars. Everything within a few minutes walk. Restaurants nearly all have sea views. Food delicious every where we went. Greek night at Makis outstanding. Service at Balcony out of this world. If you just want a drink best place is Kazzoos, Kim, Tim and Gina are American and really make you feel wanted. Brilliant atmosphere, good drink at good prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 321Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    79
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
35
142
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
castleford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Holidayed at the Dora apartments between 24th June - 8th July ’13.
We had a truly brilliant time. Sofia who runs the pool bar does a fantastic job, she is very helpful and also great fun when you get to know her. The pool and bar area is always tidy and inviting. The owners of the Dora apartments Alex and Dora also own the Panorama restaurant, where you are always made welcome. All the staff including Kostas, Hippocrates, Nicos and Maria are polite and hard working; once you get to know them they really are like family.
We could not fault any of the local people of St George, everybody was pleasant and pleased to see you, from the restaurant and Bar owners to shop keepers. Captain Kostas does a couple of great boat trips, really great value for money. He sets sail from behind the quad bike hire shop, owned by George (great lad to get to know).
Okay if you are going to be picky like some reviewers, yes the Dora apartments are a bit dated and with mish mash furniture. This is 2 star Greece after all, but the apartments are cleaned to a high standard every day by the lovely cleaning girls.
We had a fantastic holiday, we also stayed here last year and we will be coming back next year. To Alex, Dora and extended family all our love, have a continued great season. See you soon.

Room Tip: Pool side room if you want a bit of shade late afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flintshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at dora apartments from 10th to 17th June and had a great week.
The accommodation was clean and comfortable and maids came in everyday except Sunday
To make the beds, clean the bathroom etc. also the public areas stairways corridors where also spotlessly clean. The pool area is in a great location and a real suntrap with plenty of sunbeds and the pool bar is fantastic, run by Sofia who will serve up very good snacks and very cold beers
The owners of the apartments also the run the excellent Panorama Restaurant Bar which serves excellent meals from breakfast right through to late evening in what is a stunning location overlooking the sea.
Would certainly recommend and will book again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwk2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned after two weeks stay, Not huge but very clean and basic, peaceful and well looked after, family who own also own the Panorama restaurant good food and well decorated ate there many nights and treated like old friends, highly recommend. Only apartments on any Greek Island (and have visited most several times) that has permanent hot water and a good shower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinsey16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I could spend ages writing a detailed review but I'd be here all day so I'll stick to the basics. Apartments are lovely, the bathrooms are nice, loads of hot water, almost a power shower!, beds and pillows comfy, blue fluffy bath sheets and everything you need for self catering. We love afternoon sun on our balcony, if you don't want this then ask for a pool view but be aware the pool bar play (actually quite decent) music all day till 6. like everyone else we found the pool, apartments toilets etc spotless. The gardens are lovely and filled with flowers. There is a room safe, if you need it 10e per week. The cashpoint is filled up at 10am on a tuesday so bear that in mind as sometimes it can run out!

St george itself is gorgeous, have a walk up to Agriades on the back road, well worth the hike as the views are spectacular. Had a few mosi bites but that's all, just take plenty of DEET.

Pretty much can't go wrong with the restaurants, all very nice. Mad Mike's is great for breakfasts and there's always a good atmostphere in the evenings. If you like chill out kusic, then you are going to love La Perla (turn right out of the property, it's a bit of a garden / maze! with loads of seating on different levels, very cool) also the very chic 'Almyra', again lovely chill out music and looks out to see, kind of a cafe del mar vibe.

Very sorry to leave, we would return to these apartments without a doubt.

Room Tip: Pool view - you may end up overlooking people sunbathing right outside your balcony, they are sunny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamPurpleHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Overall we had a great stay in Dora, it is everything you need in self catering apartments and well worth the money we paid. The apartment was always clean and tidy when we returned as well as in the public areas - far above the standard that I expected. The staff are lovely (when you see them) and the location is very convenient to everything in St George. The pool is lovely with a great little bar as well as a good selection of books and magazines to read and relax.

There were a couple of niggles along the way although at that price it's fair to say that these were minor and shouldn't dissuade you in any way from booking:

The cleaner left us a rather shirty note for leaving sunscreen everywhere which I felt a little over the top and unnecessary.

The bed was awful as the springs were nearly poking through however as we didn't need the blanket this made a very good underlay and made it a bit more bearable to sleep on.

The seals on the fridge were knackered which meant it didn't cool things well and was quite noisy as it had to work overtime to compensate.

No instructions or welcome card in room, this is over by the pool so if you are like us and prefer to go out rather than hang around the pool all day this could be missed.

Be aware that Quatro Summer just down the road is very loud and goes to 4am which is quite annoying as you can hear everything from the room however this was thankfully only on Friday and Saturday.

Take mosquito repellent and pay the extra €6 per night for the air con as you will get bitten alive if you leave the doors open to cool off.

A few things we learnt along the way that the poor Thompson rep (bless her as she had been dropped into it only 2 weeks prior with no training) did not know:

Bus stop is just past the Balcony Restaurant on the other side of the road. It goes to Corfu twice daily (morning and afternoon) however if you do go in the afternoon you will need to take a taxi back. Taxis to Corfu are about €50. I'd recommend hiring a car as you will see more of the island!

ATM is on the main road out of St George outside the supermarket 'Anna'. It does run out of money occasionally so keep some euros handy as not everywhere takes card.

Restaurants, there are loads of options if cooking on holiday isn't your thing:

Panorama - 10% discount to Dora guests, nice selection of wines and amazing Kleftiko. The staff are amazing and always willing to help, Alex who (I'm assuming) owns Dora and Panorama is very friendly and always makes you feel looked after. Panorama can also help you with queries about Dora as they are run in conjunction with each other - great as Dora does not have a reception and the pool bar lady gets easily confused.

Seagulls - nice view and singing dancing waiter. Very strong drinks and nice food although personally not a fan of everything being deep fried.

Oceano - I would avoid this one. The views are great but the food isn't the best you could get; pizza was not dissimilar to a store bought one from Iceland. I would expect more for our money.

Gramophone - the best in my opinion. Markos was excellent, explaining the menu in detail and the food was both exquisite and inexpensive. Very funky surroundings!

Alex's Pizza - the best Saginaki and Pizza in St George and Alex is always happy for a chat as you walk past.

There is also a seafood taverna up the other end of St George. A bit more pricey but pretty good!

Out of the tours - take the Albanian one, well worth it! Old Perithia is also a great place to check out and has a fabulous cafe in the square called Foros. Mt Pantokrator has terrific views of the whole island.

I would stay again for sure. A nice, relaxing week that was well needed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DelSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I find this slightly difficult to write, as this was one the best holidays I,ve had for a long time., and feel guilty offering any criticism. The accomodation is as everyone says quite small but in my opinion is typically Greek, everything is there, comfy beds clean sheets, clean towels, adequate equipment, but above all else absolutely spotless. The cleaners do an amazing job of both the apartments and the pool area and toilets. The rooms are small but you dont go on this type of holiday at this price and expect a penthouse. I have to say that one of the things that made my holiday was the friendliness of the other holiday makers, we met some great people and enjoyed there company with many a good laugh. A slight disappointment is the pool bar closing at 6pm, I kiinda understand this as it gives the other town bars etc to share the spoils but this is a time when most holiday makers enjoy a drink and a chat as it gets cooler. But as it stands, woe betide anyone who asks for a drink at 5.50pm and hasnt finished by 6pm as Sophia will be making her presence felt and puts you under a little pressure. The regimentation around the pool is hilarious as Sophia does not have a chair of place, and you find yourself tidying up yourself. My only criticism of the management was Costa who refused to speak for two weeks Anyway his loss as I spent no money in his restuarant. He should learn some management skills.The apartments at Blue Diamond and Tzeveoz are worth a look both with excellent facilities and a very friendly atmosphere with pool and bars open longer. A great resort with really friendly people all bar one!!

Room Tip: Pool side apartments are much cooler and in most instances offer a better veiw. So a drink on the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
0.5 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Agios Georgios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
24.3 mi away
Theo's Hotel
Theo's Hotel
#3 of 14 in Agios Georgios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
9.9 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aquis Sandy Beach Resort
Aquis Sandy Beach Resort
#2 of 14 in Agios Georgios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,822 reviews
24.4 mi away
Kostas Apartments
Kostas Apartments
#3 of 23 in Agios Georgios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dora Apartments Argirades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dora Apartments Argirades

Property: Dora Apartments Argirades
Address: Argirades, Agios Georgios 490 80, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dora Apartments Argirades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dora Apartments Argirades Hotel Agios Georgios South
Dora Apartments Argirades Agios Georgios
Dora Apartments Argirades Corfu/Agios Georgios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing