We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but great location!”
Review of Akti Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akti Alkyon Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Returned yesterday from this hotel after a week with my 16 year old step daughter.We were all inclusive
The good points:-
The staff are great -very friendly and always helpful
Rooms were cleaned daily
The location is stunning as its right on the beach front and the beach is perfect clean and the sea is clear
The place is clean and tidy
The swimming pool and bar area was plenty big enough for the number of guests and it has a smaller pool for toddlers and seemed fairly safe and was cleaned every evening.
The Greek evening in the taverna attached to the hotel was fun!


The not so good stuff!
I was under the impression that the all inclusive deal finished at 10pm but on arrival we were told it was 9pm which was basically as soon as dinner was over. The beer was good but the brandy was quite weak. So that was a bit disappointing and added more expense that I wasn't expecting.

The rooms were small and dated but adequate and the fridge was a bonus!
The food. Breakfast was fine if not a little repetitive but not sure how much you can vary a continental breakfast anyway.
Lunch was usually okish- but dinner was not very inspiring and I agree with other postings in that the quality was more like a school dinner. But I think the atmosphere in the dinning room was a bit depressing particularly in the evening. As a result we ate out in the evening 5 out of the 7 nights we were there.
The best place by far was the "Ta Dixtia Taverna" at the other end on the village as the food tasted great and was really good value, it was right on the beach and the atmosphere was happy with staff pleased to chat with you even when they were busy! and it was only a 10-15 minute stroll away from the hotel.

If the food had been better it would have been reasonable value for money

Room Tip: I think this would have been fine for bed and breakfast!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Akti Alkyon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 27 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Beautiful value for money hotel with a view and beach position to die for. Wonderful friendly, family run establishment geared up for a mainly sun, sea and sand, beach holiday. Clean and comfortable. Food basic, but plenty of other great places to eat locally. Lovely pool, pool bar and linked taverna. We were a group of friends, but also ideal for family groups with young children. Quiet, uncommercialised, country location means not a lot of brash evening entertainment and you will need your mosquito repellant and maybe a plug-it in your room.
There are local restrictions on loud music outside after midnight. However, the hotel did have a terrific greek night on Fridays with traditional live music and some of the other local bars and hotels also offered free greek nights and other evening entertainment on other nights of the week, including a small nightclub bar a little way on the road up to Pagi. There are other hotels, bars and restaurants right along to each end of the resort and you can use their swimming pools and sunbeds if you buy a drink at their pool bar. There are also lovely mountain walks to villages at each ends of the bay or into the olive groves. If you want shopping there is a return bus daily to Corfu town or you can hire a taxi to Sidari. Bike and Car hire, quad bike etc just around each corner and beach water sports right opposite. You can also book tours at a little booking office along beach. So, to sum it up, this is paradise if you enjoy swimming, walking, wildlife, nature, greek dancing, greek food and ouzo.

Room Tip: Quieter at the back of hotel. However, no sea view from many of these.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pollypago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Perfect for those who can handle repetitive school type dinners (vegetarians are not really catered for and we had to request after the first night that the chef include a suitable meal), clean but dated rooms with poor bathrooms, small terrible shower in a family room. Staff make it more pleasant than a 2 star but accommodation for me would be close to that level from the interior/rooms. Big plus is the on beach location, stunning view and quietness (until day about 3 when boredom sets in and you want any form of entertainment). Don't go all inclusive as everything is basic repetitive value foods, funnily when you go to the hotels marina tavern outside and pay the food is great. Go next door on either side as they are lovely taverns/restaurants also. Hire a car if you want anything other than a beach and a pool as there is nothing of interest nearby. No kids play room or park either so they have to make do with pool and beach also. Mosquitos are horrendous also beware!
All in all it was an average experience but would not recommend to fussy eaters, family's with active interests and young people in general.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary86001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

hotel is for 3+ stars, the rooms is cleaned every day, air conditioner is new, the staff are grate..
in the taverna marina the food was delicious,especially the fish(tsapura).. the pools are beatiful and clean. the area around the hotel is calm and quiet and secure as all the island. a perfect hotel for a family and for people who likes silence and sound of waves and wind

Room Tip: room with sea view
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alhemicarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Věruška S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank keddy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank pascalle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
4.5 mi away
Philoxenia Earia
Philoxenia Earia
#1 of 1 in Nea Vrasna
7 reviews
6.1 mi away
Stavros Beach Hotel
Stavros Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stavros
9 reviews
222.7 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#3 of 39 in Sidari
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 3 in Asprovalta
12 reviews
225.1 mi away
Theo's Hotel
Theo's Hotel
#4 of 14 in Agios Georgios
285 reviews
6.4 mi away
Electra Hotel
Electra Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stavros
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Alkyon Hotel

Address: Agios Georgios, Agios Georgios 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Akti Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Alkyon Hotel Corfu/Agios Georgios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing