We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A holiday dream come true!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agios Georgios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Costas Golden Beach
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We arrived pretty late at the hotel at about 2:30 on tuesday morning. But as our little bus pulled up outside the front doors, Demetri was sat outside the front door waiting to greet us. They took is to our room and gave us a free complemetary drink. The rooms were very nice and cleaned daily. we had a superb view of the swimming pool and the beach.
In our rooms we also had a mosquito net which didnt cost anything, a safe which was also free of charge and an air conditioning unit which was free of cost too. The meals were absolutely brilliant and the staff really really friendly. You could talk to anyone. They had a laptop set up with the internet so you could talk to people, and also they gave you the code so you could use your own computer. There was entertainment on every night, be it singers genral d.js, karioki night, bingo night, quiz night, or greek party night, there was always summet to do. The pool was brilliant, you had sunbeds and a conopy over every one. you could eat inside or out. There is also wind surfing lessons 2 minutes away on the beach, you can rent out a pedlow, or a speed boat for the day. I couldnt have asked for any more and i am going to return again, because it would be a realy shame not too.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spooneybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 714 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2009

We’ve just returned from a brilliant 2 week holiday at the Costas Golden Beach Hotel. If you are looking for peace and tranquillity, friendliness, cleanliness and a place that is close to a lovely golden sandy beach, then this is the place for you!

As the other reports state, Dmitri, Dina and Spiros are such a lovely warm family, very hospitable, and helpful and all their staff are very friendly and can’t do enough for you. Car Hire is available through reception with preferential rates for visitors of CGBH. The Hotel is opposite a bus stop to take you to Corfu town, fare E3.10.

The food at the hotel is fabulous and very reasonably priced; every night is a different ‘specials board’ to choose from.

Please try Restaurant Delfini (just down the road) for their superb seafood Spaghetti Delfini, totally scrummy! Also the fish restaurant around the bay, where you can eat freshly caught fish whilst watching the beautiful sunset.

Helpful hints: The coach transfer from the airport to the hotel is approx 1.5 hours, so be prepared and get some water before you board the coach.

Also, the journey is on very windy roads with hairpin bends, two people were sick on our coach so therefore if any of your party suffers from travel sickness, please go prepared!

Unfortunately the Greek mosquitoes are out to get you!! I suggest a spray repellent called Autan which did the trick for us. In the supermarket down the road, you can buy some mozzie bite gel (in a white tube) this is very good at taking the itch out and much better than the uk stuff we took with us.

There is NO ATM in Ag Georg, the closest ones are in Corfu or Sidari, the hotel reception can change sterling for a 2% charge.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wernons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Hotel
We whole heartly agree with previous remarks regarding the lovely Costas Golden Beach hotel and have just addded a few hopefully useful tips. Rooms are very well cleaned and bed linen and towels are frequently changed. The rooms have extra pillows and blankets if needed and there is a hair dryer for the ladies. Iced Drinking water, safety deposit boxes and mosquito screens are all inclusive. Food is of good quality and portions are generous. Entertainment is varied and the owners put a lot of thought into provding something for everyone. All staff and owners extremely helpful and make you feel that nothing is to much trouble, they are very friendly but if you wish to be left alone they respect your wishes. Pool and Jacuzzi excellent (we are not pool lovers normally) but atmosphere around the pool area is very relaxing and there appeared to be no shortage of sunbeds etc.
Beach
Directly infront of hotel, plenty of sun beds and umbrellas (approx. 8 euros all day). Beach is sandy but bathing is negotiated over shingle and stones (if you have tender feet take swimming shoes).
Surrounding Area
If you like walking and want to eat freshly caught fish by turning left out of hotel and following beach up into the hills you will come across a most delighful restaurant built into the hill. Wonderful views enjoyed whilst eating a beautiful meal and if you go during late afternoon you will still be able to walk back in daylight (wouldn't recommend this trip in the dark, get a taxi back). Apart from this gem there are few other restaurants, bars and supermarkets nearby.
A most relaxing holiday and would most definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aimely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Stayed at CGB for 2 weeks in July ,what can I say that hasn't already been said? Dimitri ,Dina & Spiros are the best hosts one could wish to have ,add to it that all the rest of the staff are absolutely brilliant then a good holiday is almost guaranteed.
From the moment we arrived till the Monday when we left nothing was too much trouble for the owners & staff of this wondeful hotel. Free air-conditioning ,free chilled water , free internet access ,plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas around the gorgeous pool area ,the reasons to stay here are too numerous to mention ,food was excellent ,rooms well above standard for Corfu ,sheets & towels changed regularly , I won't overstate it but the fact is that this was one of the best holidays we've had in years.

When I said it was "Almost" the perfect holiday I have to explain that the reason it wasn't had nothing to do with the hotel ,the staff or the amenities ,basically this hotel is based in a gorgeous location which is very very peaceful ,there are no bars ,disco's etc and for the first 10 days the noisiest thing that you heard around the pool was someone turning the page of the book they were reading! This to us was idyllic as it was exactly what we wanted and exactly how it was portayed in the reviews and comments posted before. This peace unfortunately was spoiled by the arrival of quite a few children towards the end of the holiday ,I have to ask why would someone bring young children to a hotel that ,apart from the swimming pool,has no ameneties to cater for children ,the end result was that we gave up lying by the pool as the noise just got too much ,I'm not trying to sound like a "miserable old git" just that people should ensure that the accomodation they book is suitable for their requirements.
CGB is a peaceful hotel in peaceful surroundings and should be kept that way ,all said and done ,we will be returning as all in all it was a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bluemoon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Just returned from a week in this beautiful place and it's got to be one of the best holidays we have ever had! The reviews are all true. The whole family and staff made us so welcome, always ready with a smile and a hug! The place is spotlessly clean and the choice of food for lunch and dinner is superb and extremely good value! You don't need to eat anywhere else! The beach is beautiful and the sea crystal clear. Absolutely ideal holiday for those of us who have outgrown the bar and disco age and are now content to appreciate the finer things in life....and this hotel and resort don't come any finer! Don't waste any more time reading about it........get it booked!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wivaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

What can I say ....... we arrived close to 11pm after a tiring journey on which our 18 month old son was travel sick on the long twisty coach journey into the resort and to this day I cannot forget the warm genuine welcome we received from Dimitri and his staff. We were shown straight to our room as I needed to freshen up our little one and were told that there would be a drink and sandwich waiting for us when we were ready - just what we needed and they even warmed up a bottle of milk for our son. We really enjoyed our time at the hotel and were really sad to say goodbye as everyone was so friendly. We got back to our room one day to find Spiros assembling a brand new high chair for our son that he had just been out and bought and he also gave us a baby bath too that could sit in the shower tray making it a lot easier to bath our son. A big hello and thank you to all the lovely bar and waiting staff who really made our holiday from heating Troy's milk every night to keeping him entertained you were brilliant and thank you so much for his little gifts he takes his teddy to bed with him. Like other people have said this is definitely not a resort for those who want a lively night life although the entertainment at the hotel is excellent. We could not fault the hotel in anyway the rooms were cleaned every day and the food was to die for we enjoyed it so much that we didn't actually eat anywhere else. The hotel gardens are just fantastic with beautiful flowers and shrubs which Dina tends in the blistering heat. We often spent our days on the beautiful beach and when we were brave actually went in the sea as it was quite cold in May but lovely and refreshing. There are a good selection of sun beds and umbrellas to hire from Yiannis who is a real star down on the beach. We would definitely like to go back to this hotel sometime in future as we had such a lovely time. Just one last thing - I would suggest you book taxi transfers if you are a bad traveller as the journey by coach then mini bus is very twisty.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twinkle36Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

My wife and I returned to this hotel in May 2009, 4 years after our previous visit. We were greeted like long lost family members by all staff. The hotel is wonderfully run by Dimitri and his family who all go out of their may to make you feel at home. In fact when we returned from walks etc we were greeted with " Welcome home!!" There have been a number of improvements since our last visit including a new pool, jaccuzi, relaid tennis court, air con, tv's and mozzie nets in the rooms, free internet access and others I'm sure I've forgotten.
The location of the hotel cannot beaten, it is in the middle of a beautiful sandy bay, with a VERY quiet country road separating the hotel from the beach. We used to lie on the sunbeds with our backs to the pool looking out to sea - wonderful.
The food is excellent, as is the cleanliness of the whole hotel. It is NOT a hotel, or area for anyone seeking a riotous holiday but it can't be beaten for a peaceful relaxing holiday. Most of the guests in the hotel were middle aged (we are near to 60 than 50) but there were a couple of younger couples who had come simply to relax and they enjoyed the whole experience.
Costas is not a 5 star luxury hotel but it is simply, for relaxation, one of the best we have ever visited. Give it a try you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Riviman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
3.1 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
19.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,474 reviews
10.2 mi away
Art Hotel Debono
Art Hotel Debono
#1 of 17 in Gouvia
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
17.7 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
10.3 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#2 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costas Golden Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costas Golden Beach

Address: Pagi, Agios Georgios 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Costas Golden Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Costas Golden Beach Hotel
Costas Golden Beach Agios Georgios
Hotel Costas Golden Beach Corfu/Agios Georgios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing