We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another blissful stay at CGB”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agios Georgios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Costas Golden Beach
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yet another blissful stay at CGB”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This little piece of paradise is amazing. Dimitri, his family and all the staff are genuine, wonderful people who make your holiday special from the minute you arrive. They are so accommodating and even changed our room so that we could be in the one we had stayed in previously. The place is spotless and so many free extras that you wouldn't expect from a small family run hotel. We met a lady who was on her 30th visit so you can't get a higher recommendation than that. We look forward to our 3rd visit soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillyBucks2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    38
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
112
476
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Dear Dimitri Deena Anastasia Spiros and Staff

The pervious reviewer wants to get a life or stay in Norwich.
I have stayed in hotels all over the world and i have never received better service and made to feel that you and your staff are there to make our holiday completely stress free.
The overall hotel is spotless the power shower is a delight ok i would have enjoyed a alacarte menu but when i spoke to Demitri he explained the reason behind the half board and i support him fully, if you wanted to dine out at night yes you can and Dimitri will be only to happy to exchange a lunch menu for a meal at night which you can then discover the other eating establishments in the area.I donot usualy go back to the same hotel or area more than once, but after only 5 days of bliss my wife and rebooked for next June. Deena keep tending your wonderfull gardens, Anastasia and Spiros keep the entertainment going and last of all Dimitri keep the GREEN GREEN GRASS OF HOME going.There are many other things i could say about this wonderfull hotel and the people running it but has all been mentioned before.See you next June Tony & GILL.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was our first stay here. We knew that Costas Golden Beach hotel had terrific reviews before we went, and the family, staff and the location are really outstanding. Many, many guests come back year after year.
However, we had no choice except to book for half board. What I did not expect was that this would involve a 'buffet style' service every evening. This means that only food that can be cooked in bulk and kept warm is possible - and this is not always traditional Greek cuisine. Also, I do not like queueing 'school dinner' style when I'm on holiday; I prefer food fresh cooked to order, and being able to relax with a drink [or two] whilst my dinner is served to me. So, although dinner was from 7.15 until 9.00, you could not really leave it until late to start your meal, as it would have been sitting on the hotplates for some time. I have marked down on service and value because, although we had paid for dinners, we found it better to eat out on most evenings.
My other real bugbear was breakfast. Again, this was a serve-yourself, buffet style - which I don't mind at breakfast. What I really didn't like was that all the tableware was plastic/melamine. This has a particularly distinctive taste, especially from cups - and I found that the cups either smelt strongly of bleach [or similar cleaning fluid] or smelt musty/plasticky, which put me off my daily cuppa!!
Just a few tweaks could make this a perfect holiday choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostasGoldenBeach, Owner at Hotel Costas Golden Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Lyn R,
Thank you for your kind words regarding the family, staff and the location.
As far as your observations regarding the buffet style service and breakfast tableware are concerned, we would only like to note that we do not have the ability to help if a guest does not make his/her problem known to us. We are certain that if you had made your problems known to us we would have done something about them.
Therefore, we are sorry that you did not let us know and as a result we were not able to help you enjoy your holidays to the full.
Regards, Dimitris Kourkoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We arrived here in June following a week cruise on the Aegean Sea which was wonderful although very tiring due to the many wonderful stops to see Slovenia Italy Croatia and Montenegro.
I had read these reviews prior to our trip and I must agree with everyone that this is undeniably the best place we have ever stayed in throughout all of Greece, we have stayed on many Islands and various resorts on the mainland an nowhere have we experineced such fantastic hospitality from a wonderful family and their dedicated loyal staff. We would recommend this hotel as a fab place for a wonderful relaxing holiday, fab food and although the resort is small in comparison to others there are various tavernas along the quiet road to sample snacks for lunch. We would normally eat out in the evening but the selection of food on offer was too tempting to miss. Thank you Costas, Dena and everyone for a fab week.
Another thank you must go to the Thomson rep Alison she is undoubtedly passionate about her work, her knowledge of the area is amazing. She goes out of her way to help all the holiday makers enjoy their stay. A big personal thank you from me for sorting out a personal problem and telephoning her colleague in another resort to dash to the chemist before it closed, you where a godsend Alison x

Room Tip: Two storey high with front rooms overlooking the sea and the rear overlooking the immaculate gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1212CAROL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

came off the cruise ship to a week at the hotel and it was fantastic. The family and staff are wonderful, all of them. The room was lovely with a large balcony overlooking the pool and beautiful garden and the beach. the only noise is the waves rolling on the shore. CGB is in a great location in the middle of the bay, stunning. The food is excellent, breakfast was great, dinas homemade marmalade is brilliant. greek yoghurt to die for too. Lunches were very nice too. Evening meals were buffet, but very very nice soup, salads and mains were great, especially corfu chicken and mousakka, thought i'd died and gone to heaven, the chef is amazing.This hotel is a spotless wee gem of corfu

Room Tip: most ground floor rooms had bigger balconies, some upstairs had smaller ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 625phyllisR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

You will read many accolades about Costas Golden Beach Hotel and they are fully deserved. My wife and I stayed for 2 weeks in June and this was the seventh time that we have stayed here. The great thing about this holiday is the whole experience of brilliant hospitality. Dimitrios , Dina ,Spiros and Tassia and all the staff put their heart and soul into you getting a great time while you are there . The very fact that all the staff have been there many years speaks volumes and nothing is too much trouble.
The food has changed over to buffet style and there is plenty to choose from and you can have as little or as much as you want with a mixture of Greek and English dishes.Much of the vegetables and fruit is grown in the back of the hotel garden.
The Thompson rep Alison is a real gem and has lived near by for many years but she is so helpful to any queries that you may have.
For transport there is a bus service to Corfu Town right outside the hotel which costs 3-60 euro each way and is an hour run.Car and bike hire is available near by.Catch the bus to Pagi to see where the James Bond film was made and make sure while you are there to visit Alexandra's craft shop where many goods are hand made and very unusual and beautiful
We met 9 couples over the 2 weeks that we have met there in previous years 2 of whom have been there over 20 times.
This is a beautiful hotel run by a beautiful family with a great team of staff.and even Hector the dog is so laid back. We will be back roll on Sept !!..

Room Tip: Sea views available ground or first floor. Rooms on the back are in the shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 191258Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

First visit: Surely those reviews I read are over the top? errrrr, actualy, no, they are spot on. The 'CGB' is simply brilliant.
My Wife jane and myself arrived late evenining, approximately 22.30hrs and after a very enthusiastic friendly welcome from the family, staff and dog (Hector) I turned to collect our luggage, only to find it had been taken from the transfer bus into the Hotel. A short booking in procedure followed and then we were shown to our room, our luggage being taken for us. The room was bright and airy, spotlessly clean and was everything you could ask for, as was the en-suit. We were advised to keep the air conditioning running and the mozy screens closed at all times (Air con included in cost, not an extra)
We then went to the restaurant, where a table had been laid and a meal put aside for us, which I may add was excellent, this came with attentive service from friendly staff for what was outside the noemal hours of serving evening meals, they really made us feel at home and like one of their returning regulars!
The following morning brought fresh delight, waking at 7 and being able to look out from our grounfd floor balcony room onto a spectacular bay.
At breakfast we were greeted by the staff and and offered a variried choice of dishes, with Englist breakfast available on request.
The resort of Agois georgeios (North) is laid back with very little traffic on the main road, which you had to cross from the Hotel to get to the beach. (20ft)
The main road also had a few Tavernas in both directions with supermarkets thrown in to cater for just about every need.
We only had one evening meal out, as the food in the hotel was so good and this allowed us to enjoy the evening entertainment without having to rush back. We did however have midday snacks in the Tavernas, which were without fail very tasty.
Linnen was changed every second day and the rooms were cleaned to a high standard daily.
Of interest: Free Room safe.
Free Purified chilled water tap for topping up water bottles.
Free T.V.
Free Sun loungers for use on the beach.
Free Air conditioning.
Free Wi- Fi in main body of hotel.
Free use of lap-top in lobby sitting room.
All the above add up if not included!

Our biggest let down: we only booked a 10 night stay, next year it will be 14 night stay.
Would we return? A BIG BIG YES see above, can't wait!!

A fantastic hotel in a beatiful location run by a loving, caring, and happy family and staff.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing balcony room. Air conditioning is centrally provided so no noisy units out-side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
3.1 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
605 reviews
11.0 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
19.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,333 reviews
9.4 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
806 reviews
10.2 mi away
Art Hotel Debono
Art Hotel Debono
#1 of 17 in Gouvia
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costas Golden Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costas Golden Beach

Property: Hotel Costas Golden Beach
Address: Pagi, Agios Georgios 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Costas Golden Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Costas Golden Beach Hotel
Costas Golden Beach Agios Georgios
Hotel Costas Golden Beach Corfu/Agios Georgios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing