We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxation guaranteed !”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agios Georgios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Costas Golden Beach
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel from 13th September for two weeks.We were greeted by Dimitri.We were assisted to our lovely room.The weather was mostly good, we had a small amount of rain, and the sea was a bit rough for a couple of days,but we could sit on the plentiful sun beds around the pool every day we were there .I am an avid reader and managed to read 10 books in the fortnight, total relaxation ! The hotel is spotlessly clean and all the staff are working very hard in looking after their guests,nothing is too much trouble, what a great team.The food offered is first class, we were on bed and breakfast, but ate mainly in the restaurant for lunch and dinner. The free water fountain was a great help, no more carting bottles from the supermarket !!
There was some evening entertainment,we enjoyed Alison and Spiro's quiz nights, great fun, The clientelle was mainly older people so it was very quiet,(not a complaint ) The resort is also quiet the taverna's we visited were all very friendly.
We walked from the hotel to the 'Fishermans cabin' it took us about an hour on a slow ramble through an olive grove, but what a lovely surprise,Well worth the ramble.We also had a trip to Paleokastritsa,Bella Vista, and Makrades, the coach driver 'Spiros' was amazing !!!!!!
We went on the local bus to Corfu town, and it is obvious that the greek people are suffering with their economy.We have been to Corfu 3 times now,it is still a lovely Island, and we hope that their money problems are soon better.
The team at The Costas......Dimitri,a probable future Wimbledon champ, you should see him with the electric tennis racket !!!!! Dina,OMG,this lady works soooo hard, her garden is amazing, she should exhibit at a garden show !!!! Spiros, what a gentleman, Anastasia, perfect hostess,baby Spiros,what a lovely polite young man, Sam, George,and all the housekeeping staff,the handyman bustling about,the chef,he's definitely a keeper !!!!! All staff fantastic.

Room Tip: rooms at the back were cool in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkyhitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 714 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have recently returned from our 2nd visit to the wonderful Hotel Costas Golden Beach. People say do not return to somewhere that has been an amazing experience as quite often it's never the same second time around, well this hotel blows that theory well out of the window!!!
From the moment we arrived and were welcomed by Dimitr
i and Anastasia as long lost family to the day of departure it was one long holiday of the most relaxing time that can be experienced.
We were there on a B&B basis but ate in the hotel on 3evenings,the food is excellent here with many fresh ingredients that have travelled all the way from a mini allotment at the back to the kitchen!
We really cannot fault this hotel ,everything that has been said about this hotel in previous reviews is correct.
A BIG thank you to Dimitri for protecting us from the hordes of Mosquitos each evening with your electronic tennis racket (a la Roger Federer).
Once again thank you Dimitri,Dina,Anastasia,Spiros and ALL the staff at CGB for a memorable holiday,we will be back.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank romanab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

First time in Corfu - First time in Costas Golden Beach. What a find !! Family run hotel which is small & intimate but fantastic. Lots of little things such as cool water on tap, free Wi-Fi in the lounge area, free air-con and Staff who are second to none. Demitri & the family made us feel special and very welcome. The hotel is spotless and the family work very hard to keep it that way. Rooms are comfortable with the best shower room we have had in any Greek Hotel. Thanks for a great week!!

Room Tip: All good but I would recommend a first floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was our long-awaited second visit to CGB after enjoying it immensley last year in June. For a full, blow-by-blow account of our findings last year I suggest you search out my previous review. What I will concentrate on this time are the differences, improvements and areas of interest from last year that have not changed either for the better or worse.
First things first, we were on half-board basis this year as opposed to B and B last year. What this generally means is that you are reluctant to eat elsewhere even if you get fed up with the hotel food. Well no worries here folks because you won't get fed up with the food at CGB being as it is so good. There is a board just outside the restaurant listing four starters and four mains which can be selected by HB guests. In addition to this there is a buffet style dessert available generally consisting of fresh fruit salad, ice cream and several varieties of cakes/delicacies. And that's not all, there is also a 'create-your-own' Greek Salad available for HB guests to enjoy as either a separate course or as a side salad to accompany either your starter or your main course. The choice is yours. Even for a greedy sod like me this is more ample fayre for an evening meal. The menu is littered with Greek standards and specialities and in addition to the more regular dishes I sampled 'Kokkinisto', 'Krasato' and a beautiful 'one-pot' dish called Filet Beef Gastra. It is possible to choose from the a-la-carte menu also but prior notice must be given in the afternoon before service. Also if any of the specials on the board really take your fancy it is possible to reserve a portion during the afternoon to avoid the disappointment of it being sold out.
All in all the dining experience was good and also a bit of a bargain if you book the HB option.

The evening entertainment was on a par with and very similar to last year with the usual quizzes, karaoke, pool competition, magic, Greek dancing etc etc.

We were kindly allocated the same room as last year after making a grovelling request before hand. The location of room 208 is bang on, near enough to reception and all facilities but also just far enough away for the entertainment noise not to be an issue if an early night is required. The creaky bed from last year was just the same, comfortable but noisy. The main difference this year was that we were guinnea-pigs for a new mattress topper that will possibly be fitted on every bed in the future. Even though they were fairly thin and obviously not memory foam, they did enhance the comfort of the existing mattress which the wife finds quite hard. For me the difference was noticable but not really worth spending a lot of money on. I never had a problem with the comfort of the mattresses in their original state.

We booked a couple of trips this year with Alison the wonderful rep and were glad we did as we saw some beautiful and interesting parts of Corfu that we virtually ignored last year. We did a full day trip to the top of Mount Pandokrator, the highest point on the island at in excess of 900m. The views were staggering and included other islands, Albania and the Greek mainland. The actual trip up the side of a mountain in a mini-bus was worth the cash in itself. It was a combination of exhiliration, excitement and abject terror. Some of the hairpins are incredible especiaaly when attempting to pass an oncoming vehicle. I'd love to see some of the pampered, smarmy, surly English bus drivers, that we all know and love, drive a bus up some of those hills. Also on this trip we visited the villages of Strinilas and Old Perithia. Perithia is the legendary abandoned village that is now making something of a comeback with several tavernas re-opening and some of the original houses being refurbished. The village was abandoned during the Corfu tourist boom and everyone moved away to take advantage of the tourists and their pockets full of Drachmas. It is, then, somewhat ironic that it is the self-same tourist industry that is now fuelling the re-populating of Old Perithia. All in all a very interesting place to visit.

Our second trip was to the very attractive neighbouring resort of Paleokastritsa, the village of Makrades and the very busy and beautiful viewing area known as Bella Vista. This overlooks Paleo from a height of in excess of 600m and the views are indeed breathtaking. Unfortunately the short visit to Makrades is intended to relieve you of some of your hard-earned euros visiting, as it does, a bunch of touristy souvenir shops. I would have liked time to see the village and the reportedly beautiful and fascinating local monestary. It would have also been nice to see where Dimitris and his wonderful family call home when they're not running round making our holidays perfect.

The September weather is certainly more changeable than what we experienced in June last year. We had a proper storm which was relatively short lived and luckilly did it's worst overnight. The sea, however, became extraordinarilly rough for several days afterwards. Some people even dusted down their surfboards as the waves resembled surfer's paradise for a few days. This rough sea had a dramatic effect on the state of the beach and it changed from a lovely sandy expanse littered with a few pebbles to a virtual gravel and shingle hillock. I guess the situation changes fairly regularly and we will be back to all sand eventually.

The wasps go mental in September and they are everywhere. In and around CGB they were not so bad but in other areas of the bay, that we walked to, they were more numerous. In one particular bar, right at the far end of the bay if you turn right out of CGB, they were rampant. We stopped in there for a quick lunch which turned into a lightning quick lunch. I've never eaten a toastie and drank a pint of beer that quickly before. The waitress even brought out a burning cauldron of something, that smelled like it had come out of the back end of a dog, in an attempt to keep the wasps at bay. It didn't.

I took a photograph of an interesting sign listing do's and don'ts in the beach area. The main one seemed to forbid allowing any animals near the beach. Oh how I wish this were adhered to. It seems that every establishment on the sea front has a dog and they are allowed to run wild wherever and whenever they want to. As I remarked last year this results in the dog mess piling up along the edge of the road. It really is everywhere and the issue needs addressing desperately in my opinion. It seems a shame to tar all the dogs with the same brush and Hector is a lovely animal who's presence at CGB is appreciated by all the guests. The beach is not affected in the same way but the road definitely is and it smells too.

I've rambled on for long enough now and anyone wishing to find out more about CGB need only scan through a few of the reviews on here. Some of them are gushing and sicophantic in the extreme but it is obvious that the people, us, love CGB and despite it becoming more difficult to book the weeks we want, we persist in spreading the word. Go on, give it a try.

We have decided to give Corfu a miss next year as the world is too big to keep visiting the same bit of it. We will definitely be back though, possibly as soon as 2015. We all need a fix of heaven now and again so whoever gets room 208, look after it for us.

Room Tip: First floor, sea view rooms are fabulous. Room 208 is midway along the length of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We thought we'd booked a holiday in St. George South, having previously enjoyed holidays there, so we were quite surprised when we arrived at CGB in St. George North. However,
it turned out to be one of the best holidays we've ever had - this family-run hotel far surpasses some of the 4 and 5 star hotels we have previously stayed in, with excellent standards of cleanliness and comfort, wonderfully friendly and helpful staff and delicious food every single evening, which made us glad we had booked half-board. To praise this hotel and resort further would only be repeating what other holidaymakers at CGB have said about it - so suffice to say that after arriving home on the 16th September 2013, we booked on the 21st September to return again next year - and we rarely return to the same place two years running - so that says it all as far as we are concerned.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the very pretty back garden, it was quiet and peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just back from CGB having been many times before. This is an excellent friendly family run Hotel. The Hotel is set just on the beach front with wonderful views. deal for relaxing and chilling out. The pool side is lovely no loud music like some Hotels do at the pool side. You can just chill out by the pool. The staff are ALL friendly even the cleaning maids are so friendly. The Hotel is spotless, clean sheets, clean towels regular. Would recommend if you are looking for a friendly relaxing Hotel.

Room Tip: Would recommend a sea view room but the back of the hotel is just as good very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PetalBlueEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Having carefully studied trip advisor reviews and chose this establishment for a family holiday in June, as the whole experience was so enjoyable we decided to come again as a couple and see if the high standard was achievable again.
Booking with thomsons is convenient, safe and hassle free. It is also the best value for money if you compare independent flights only.
The welcome at the hotel is incredibly friendly and the minute you step inside you are made to feel extra special. This is not an exception, everybody is treated the same and all the staff are friendly, efficient and helpful, nothing is to much trouble.
The rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Air con, insect screen and safety deposit box are all included unlike most other hotels. The pool area is very well maintained and there are plenty of sun loungers. Dina keeps the gardens and plants in first class order which just adds to the ambience.
The food is quite simply fantastic: a lot of home grown and home cooked dishes. One tip you may find useful we did is each night their is a 'specials' board with plenty of choice. Follow the specials each night and you cant go wrong.
Last time we dined outside the hotel but as the food did not compare this time we just chose from the specials board each night, you will not be disappointed. The entertainment is very friendly and entirely optional, the bar service is superb.
If there is fault with this hotel i cannot find one, treat Dimitri,Dina,Anastacia and Spiros and there staff with the same respect and courtesy they show there guests and you will have a fantastic holiday and you will definitely return!

Any other tips
1. Book early! Avoid disappointment
2. Bring some swim shoes, the pebbles on the beach can be unforgiving

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
3.1 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
11 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
19.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
13.8 mi away
San Antonio Corfu Resort
10.2 mi away
Art Hotel Debono
Art Hotel Debono
#1 of 17 in Gouvia
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costas Golden Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costas Golden Beach

Address: Pagi, Agios Georgios 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Costas Golden Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Costas Golden Beach Hotel
Costas Golden Beach Agios Georgios
Hotel Costas Golden Beach Corfu/Agios Georgios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing