We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agios Georgios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Costas Golden Beach
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Certificate of Excellence
Luton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Spot on”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This hotel sees many returning guests and we fall into that category. The hotel and resort fit our very simple criteria for a great break - sunshine, lazy days and a well managed establishment.

The pool scene in our first week was whisper quiet with a significant number of guests using the beach across the road, Be assured the road will not spoil your holiday. Traffic is light, occasional coach, hire cars, quad bikes, cyclists visiting the beach or passing through. The pool, in any case, sits at least 10 feet above the road so most things go by without you being able to see them. In our second week it was more crowded with a few more well-behaved children. Bear in mind, that in common with many hotels, balls and inflatables are not allowed in the pool. This is strictly enforced for the benefit of the majority so lilos and beach toys are on the beach and in the sea. Do not expect the crystal clear sea water to be warm; it isn't, although it varies in temperature quite considerably. When the wind blows it cools the sea [and the pool] by quite a few degrees.

Most nights we ate in the hotel but there are alternatives. We used other bars/tavernas for lunch and this year Dixtia's got my vote, excellent service, smiley staff and decent food at good prices. George at the Panorama is a good host and Maria and Andy [sp] at the Snack Shack work very hard to meet your needs. In the hotel the chef is new this year and in my opinion better than the previous season. Occasionally we were informed there would be a short wait, in the lounge or at your table, before our order for food could be taken but portions were bigger than in 2010 and the standard definitely up a notch. There is a 'specials' board every night with main meals during our stay all priced below 10 euros.

Lots mention the walking opportunities [folder in the hotel] and there is no need to print your own copies. Others hire bikes, quad bikes and cars. We used Costa's car hire at the south end of the resort this year and have used the Belle Helene in the past. Prices vary by time of the year! If you are a nervous driver do not take a car out, narrow, twisty roads and poor surfaces in places. Do not allow GB potholes to concern you again!

Rooms are very clean but some of you will find them on the small side - remember this is a 3* hotel with 5* management.. The bathrooms and clothes storage have been refurbished for 2011 and reflect the hotel's desire to remain at the top of the listings.

Dimitri, his family and the staff do so much to make your stay enjoyable. Be aware that Dimitri loves his football and every Sunday at 11 o'clock a 5-a-side game is played by guests and some staff. If numbers are short expect to be cajoled into playing. Age is no excuse, you will need a note from your doctor. The pitch is astro turf so pack your trainers. Tennis equipment is available as are various beach games.

This was our fourth year at CGB and we plan to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lutonlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    38
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
112
463
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Everything about this hotel was perfect, the rooms, the pool, the food, the service. The family and the employees were wonderful and could not do enough to make our stay relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable. Karen, the rep, was fantastic and twice gave us lifts to help us out as the taxi strike made it difficult to get around. We had a wonderful holiday and would not hesitate to return probably combine a stay at the hotel with a cruise which quite a few guests had done.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coleam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I have never written a review before & have waited a few weeks prior to writing this one in order to let my feelings mellow. CGB is without a shadow of doubt the best place my wife & I have ever been fo. Much has been said previously about the wonderful family & staff who combine to give guests the best holiday ever. There is nothing I can add that has not been said previously & I can only add our confirmation that if you are looking for a relaxing, chill out holiday in a beautiful setting with people who cannot do enough for you then this is the place. It is a quiet resort but my 3 sons & a fiancee all feel the same about it..It always 'feels like home'. Dmitris, Dina, Spiro, Tassia & all the staff - you are ' Simply the Best'. See you all again in 2012.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenmufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

As previous reviews state this place is great. Well run family business where all staff made you feel welcome.Very friendly, helpful and clean, You were free to completely relax and do nothing or,if you wanted to join in anything, you could. Great book corner, board games, tv, dvd's, pool table and swop box was great idea.Cold drinking water on tap also brilliant - saved buying bottled water. Rooms very good -colour TV, hairdryer, air con and safe all included. Bathrooms better than mine at home! Lovely and modern - tiled, shower cubicle, sink and self closing lid on loo and as much soap and loo roll in dispensers as you need! We had a room at the back but didnt mind as it was quiet and more private.Evening entertainment never usually started until 10pm but that gave you time to eat and have a walk. Bingo, Quiz, Karaoke, Magician, singers, dancers, pool competition etc. We don"t usually do that sort of stuff but still had fun. 10 out of 10 for Karen the rep who was great also.Big thanks to Dimitri,Dina, Anna ,the 3 Spiros' , Sam, Alex George and anyone Ive forgotten for making our holiday great. Spiros -best wishes for the new baby and Anna - hope you get the new dog, Dina - keep up the good gardening its lovely! PS if you do eat out try Blue Heaven -( turn right out of the Hotel and walk as far as you can passed the restaurant on the beach) food was great and say Hi to Panos for us- say it s from the couple in Birmingham. Enjoy yourselves

Room Tip: Great view from sea view rooms but more private in back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendymartin174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We have just returned from a very relaxing week at the Costas Golden Beach Hotel. Everything that has been said before about the cleanliness and friendliness of the hotel is spot-on. Yes the rooms were a bit on the small side but I wouldn't have said ours was dated and the bathroom is first class with a very powerful shower.

One of the big advantages with this hotel is they provide chilled water free of charge so you don't have to worry about popping to the shops all the time to stock up.

Also worth mentioning is there is a washing line at the rear of the hotel for guests to hang their towels and swimwear to dry, rather than draping them over the balconies. I took some clothes pegs but didn't need them as there were always plenty on the line.

There is a laptop with internet access available for guests to use in reception. There is no charge for this so you are able to check your emails whenever you like.

The pool and jacuzzi are both excellent with the water temperature just right.

On the beach there are sunbeds and parasols for hire. It costs €7 for two sunbeds and a parasol. The beach was the only disappointment of the holiday for me, as it's gritty and pebbly so after spending our first day on the beach we spent the rest of the week by the hotel pool!

I was pleasantly surprised by the friendliness, not only of the hotel owners and staff, but also of the staff in the shops and tavernas. In the shops the assistant would actually speak to you as he/she served you instead of chatting to a mate which is usually what I experience in Greece. Also, you can study the menus outside the tavernas without being pounced upon and cajoled into going inside when maybe you didn't want to. This all helped make for a relaxing holiday.

There is a bus stop across the road from the hotel. The timetable when we were there was: Daily into Corfu Town from 7:20, 10:15, 14:45, 17:45 and return at 06:15, 09:00, 13:30, 16:30. Saturday it was a limited service: 10:15 and 17:45 into Corfu Town and 09:00 and 16:30 return. There was no service on Sundays. The fare into Corfu Town was €3.60 each. One day we caught the bus and got off at Pagi - cost €1.60 each. There is a shop in Pagi which sells 'traditional Corfiot gifts', eg ceramics and hand-crafted olive wood. The scene of the rolling yellow Citroen 2CV in the James Bond film "For your eyes only" was shot in Pagi and there's a small cafe where you can look through an album of photos taken during the filming and you can also watch the film clip on the TV behind the bar. Definitely worth a visit! The walk back to the resort (2.3 km) is also very pleasant and not too strenuous.

There are many tavernas in the resort to choose from if you feel like having a meal out. Personally I really enjoyed the two evening meals we had at the hotel as they were more relaxing but it was nice to get out and about a bit in the evening. On the headland to the north of the beach there are two tavernas with fantastic views of the bay. As previously mentioned by other reviewers it's about a 45-minute walk up there. Four guests at the hotel shared a taxi up to one of these tavernas and were charged €21 which, personally, I think was extortionate. We had been quoted €17-18 but had already decided we wouldn't pay more than €5! Anyway, we walked. It was tough but it does help work up an appetite. There are also a couple of tavernas on the other side of the headland, about halfway up. These are called The Three Brothers and Panorama. Both have excellent views of the sunsets. We had a lovely meal at the Panorama and were waited on by two charming girls, daughters of the owner.

Food-wise I'll give an example of prices in case it helps you decide how much cash you need to take with you as credit cards weren't accepted by some tavernas: starters are about €3-4, main courses €8-9 (I think my partner's fried shrimps were €12-13) and sweets €3-4. In the hotel a Greek salad cost €6 whereas I think a burger and chips was €5.50. Drinks-wise, a small coke (0.25) was €1.60 and a large coke (0.50) €2.60; tea €2, black coffee €2, cafe latte €3, Baileys €4, gin and tonic (purely for medicinal purposes, to keep the mosquitoes away!) €4, hot chocolate €3, chips €2.20, cheese and ham toastie €3. We didn't come across any tavernas which accepted credit cards but I was told by a member of staff that there were some. Probably best to check with the taverna before you order your meal if you don't have enough cash on you!

The entertainment in the hotel ranged from bingo, karaoke, quiz, pool competition, Greek dancers and one night there were a young couple impersonating rock/pop stars who were excellent. Demetrius also holds a football game for the guests – 5-a-side whilst we were there. As it was so hot (36°C) they played 4 quarters instead of 2 halves. I think the players were rewarded with a free beer for taking part! It was very entertaining.

The resort is an hour and a half's drive from the airport. On the way there we got off the main coach onto a small one/minibus for the trip down to the resort. If you're not a very good traveller it might be a good idea to take some anti-travel sickness tablets as on our return journey I felt quite ill by the time we met up with the coach.

To sum up, this is a great hotel made even more special by the friendliness of the owners and staff. Love you all!

Room Tip: Request a high, sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MaldivianAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We read the reviews on trip advisor and decided this would be the place for a quiet week away. Thats exactly what we got! The hotel is well run, the staff friendly and there is very little to find fault with. The resort is very quiet and very low key- we were glad that we were only staying for a week as we did begin to miss a wider variety of bars and shops.
The reviews are correct, this is a friendly place that does grow on you. However, remember that this a 3 star hotel: rooms are on the small side and a little dated, no kettle or fridge in the room, breakfast plates and cups are plastic.
Those are minor criticisms- overall we had a fantastic time here and would certainly recommend this place to those looking for a peaceful week away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aliwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2011

go to the welcome meeting and meet Karen the rep she is very knowledgable and a fun lady.

Room Tip: book a sea view before you go or they may not have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamTom061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
3.1 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
589 reviews
11.0 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
19.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
751 reviews
10.3 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,290 reviews
10.2 mi away
Art Hotel Debono
Art Hotel Debono
#1 of 17 in Gouvia
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costas Golden Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costas Golden Beach

Property: Hotel Costas Golden Beach
Address: Pagi, Agios Georgios 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Costas Golden Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Costas Golden Beach Hotel
Costas Golden Beach Agios Georgios
Hotel Costas Golden Beach Corfu/Agios Georgios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing