We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our party of 10 stayed here in September 2013, after a mix up in rooms which the staff resolved quickly we began our stay. The staff were fantastic and made sure the younger members of our party had plenty to do. Even the language barrier didn't stop them by the end of the 2nd day the girls had picked up the moves to the regular kid's dances. The food was plentiful we always found something to eat. The staff were always ready to help set up the table to suit us. The rooms were kept nice and clean as were the poolside & beach area. I would like to say a special Thank You to Dawn who was a great help. Would defo recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    1,019
    560
    273
    185
See reviews for
1,461
938
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I went to St Georges ten years ago and almost everyday we walked passed the smaller and differently named Aquis Sandy Beach Hotel on our 30 minute trek to the naturist section of the beach. During that holiday we bumped into a few people who were staying there and all said what a very pleasant and spacious hotel it was; a marked contrast to our own apartment that was appalling (now closed).

We liked St Georges and Corfu in general, so when I saw an offer on Travel Zoo for a week's all inclusive holiday at the Aquis Sandy Beach at the beginning of October, I decided to book it. Although, we have had many holidays in the Greek islands and mainland, our accommodation has mostly been in apartments/studios. Our experience of all-inclusive holidays - in the Caribbean, Turkey and once in Greece - has not been brilliant and this model is not our natural choice, so my review will probably seem negatively biased.

When we arrived at the hotel, it was hot and we were starting to feel the effects of a 4am check-in at Gatwick. All we wanted was to get into the room, change into the appropriate clothing and head for the sea. Unfortunately, after arriving at just after 12 (midday), we had to wait till about 1:30 for the room to be ready. Yes, I can understand that a mid-day check-out time gives the hotel a very tight schedule to get the room ready for the next guest, but if you are that next guest, the reason is pretty immaterial.

The room itself was very good; spacious, clean, big comfortable beds, a sea view (just), nice bathroom with bath (not just shower), TV with DVD player, good sized private balcony. There were a couple of issues with the room, but the reception staff and Dawn ?? (The Customer Liaison Officer - I think that was her job title), were very efficient, professional and friendly.

The restaurant was big enough for the number of people that were staying when we were there, with plenty of outside tables if the weather was kind. However, there was a large number of smokers and eating out was not pleasant due to the smoke. All meals were buffet, "help yourself" and there was always ample food. At first glance each breakfast, lunch and dinner had the same main components as each of the previous breakfasts, lunches and dinners. But if you were very discerning, you could find something that was new and really good. To note were the freshly baked bread and croissants for breakfast, whitebait and also fish in ouzo sauce at lunch, beef stifado and spare ribs at dinner. On the down side, the wine was the worst that I had tasted on any previous holiday, the coffee was weak (I tried to get an espresso after most meals and my attempts and the waiters' attempts only produced a depressing light brown and vaguely coffee-tasting effort). My appetite waned as the week progressed! The waiters/waitresses and meet and greet staff were always welcoming and friendly, with very efficient table preparation.

The bars were always well staffed and you never had to wait long for a drink. I didn't like the fact that the universal white plastic chairs that people used all day whilst wearing swimming costumes and lathered in sun protection cream, were the same chairs that you sat in when you had changed into your best clothes in the evening.

Unfortunately, the week of our stay coincided with about 5 days of storms. The small covered seating areas at the two outside bars became very crowded and the lobby (the evening only bar) felt like an airport departure lounge when flights had been cancelled. "The hotel can't control the weather", I was told by one of the staff. True, but as the hotel intends to stay open till the end of October, it needs to make provision for inclement weather. We took drinks back to our room and watched "emergency" DVDs that we had; fortunate really, because the only English speaking TV channel was BBC World News.

The hotel has three big pools with flumes in one with adjacent games room. The families tended to congregate there and with the supervised kids/toddlers club close by, the set-up seemed to be good for them. The other two pools were large and ideal for serious "lengths" with lots of space to lounge.

This is a big complex that has had a serious impact on the surroundings. Like other guests, my wife and I strolled into St Georges, but spent very little money there; usually on a glass of good quality Mythos beer instead of the insipid Zorbas beer at the hotel. There are now many closed or abandoned bars and tavernas in St Georges. In addition to the impact on the town, the noise from the hotel can be heard at quite a distance. I walked across the beautiful sand dunes to the impressive Lake Korission on a Sunday morning and from half a mile away I could clearly hear the "music" accompanying the aquarobics (I think); very intrusive.

In summary, the holiday has re-enforced my opinion that all-inclusive holidays are not for me and do little for the locality except provide locally sourced service jobs. Not much opportunity for the small business owner or entrepreneur with most of the money spent by holidaymakers going out of the country. Having said that, Aquis Sandy Beach was not a bad hotel, but there are areas where the quality could easily be improved.

Room Tip: Ask for free upgrade to a sea view (from garden view). Go for a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HampshireSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

First time in Europe that we have done all inclusive and first time to Corfu. Travelled as a family of four, 2 children aged 7 and 9. We were a bit concerned reading the reviews but glad to be proved wrong. We booked a family room, so had two rooms, one bathroom and a terrace. Rooms were very large, in fact we all slept in one room and used the other to store suitcases/inflatables etc. We found the hotel to be very clean, no problems getting sunbeds at any pool despite being the height of the season in August. There was a large selection of food and it tasted lovely. We like the idea of not hearing many British voices, hence the reason for holidaying abroad to experience different cultures. If people want a 'british' holiday maybe they should holiday in Britain, or maybe we should attempt to learn their language and not expect everyone to speak ours. The entertainment/animation team were European but spoke very good English and were very friendly. The hotel is a bit remote but there is a bus service that takes you into Corfu Town and there is plenty to see and do there.
There are a few tavernas and shops just outside the hotel along the beach and you can hire bikes from the hotel which we did and cycled to a nearby lake.
We have booked to go again next year as we want to explore more of Corfu.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sinead285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

stayed at sandy beach from 21/9/13 to the 28/9/13 we have stayed there before about 3 years ago and there have been a few add ons since then they now have three pools and one pool has added adult slides , there is also a big new block of rooms, and the out side of the restaurant has been made a lot bigger for out side eating. there are two pool bars and a bar in the reception area.
we found the food very good and plenty of choice with different dishes to try, but don't go there expecting fish and chips. they call the new pool the quite pool and that is how we found it with plenty of sun beds.there is the little village a short walk away with bars and restaurants and some entertainment. the boat trip is well worth it with a trip to mainland Greece and a couple of stops for off the boat swimming. the only disappointment was there was no entertainment by the beach bar there was entertainment by the other out side bar but it was all in German probably because there were a lot more Germans that English. overall we found sandy beach a very good holiday with very helpful staff and will be going back. the whole complex is only ground, first , and second floor no lifts but when you arrive you leave luggage at reception and it is delivered to your room.

Room Tip: as the complex is right on the beach most of the room are side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallsie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Where to start?
Let's start with the good stuff ... Swimming pools and outside the complex are very well

Staff is not friendly, alcohol is terrible, the food in most cases is also terrible
The rooms are extremely dirty.Towels in the room are changed very rare for a week maybe once received new.
All drinks after 11 pm are paid, all inclusive is this?
This is not a 4 star hotel!
I would never go back there, I would advise everyone not to go there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I must say it was a cheap holiday but it was out of season. Neverless the rooms didn't get cleaned properly,no drinks in mini bar what so ever,FOOD was not good at all,there was no children's food what so ever ,bar staff with no smile didn't really want to serf you drinks,after 11 at night the beers are 2 euros for a little plastic cup and if you walk down the local bars you can get a pint for 2.50euros. THIS HOTEL NEEDS MONEY SPENDING ON IT.but we was with a big group and had a fantastic time tho (family)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

From 27th September 2013-6th October 2013. Stayed in room 9203 which was a side view of the sea. The Room was really big with two double beds when there was just two of us. Great rooms with a fridge and small double wardrobe but plenty of cupboards. The bathroom was good size too. Hairdryer in bathroom not like my high powered one but it did the job. Hot Water all the time. TV in room but only English programme was BBC News, rest was German, Russian or Greek oh and maybe a French one. This catered for the majority of the nationalities that were staying there. Kids Club was spoken in German all the time, no Engish at all but that didnt affect us as we had not taken any kids with us. The Entertainers for the night and the kids club did work hard in what they did and did put some good shows on. Queues for the bars wasnt that bad as some people had stated but then it wasnt peak summertime though there was still lots of people there. The pools were big and there was always lots of sun loungers. The towels for pool are provided on arrival and can be changed twice a week. The towels were very faded in colour but did the job. The rooms were cleaned every day, we had fresh towels every day too and the ladies that did this were always so happy. The food is what is expected in an all incusive. It is only every warm but there was lots of variety, some days a bit repetative but the beef stew they did just fell to pieces when you ate it, it was so good, the pork was just devine and the chicken was pretty good too. They even did duck and rabbit, lots of salad stuff, lots of deserts, great breakfast and place was kept lovely and clean. We didnt stay in every evening as where the beach area is, is the road to bars and restaurants. We liked Stamatis bar best, big, spacious lots of screens to watch all the football matches on, the pizzas were the best I have tasted and the staff were great. They have an Elvis impersonator on twice a week, he is a really good singer, doesnt always sound like Elvis as he does different songs too but well entertaining. Further down the road they have a bar with Ozzy Osbourne Karaoke. The guy looks a bit like Ozzy but he cannot sing, not Ozzy songs,not anything but then again I cant sing either. We hired a car for three days which was 120 euros which was for grade 3 car which we thought was good. We went all around the Island. We took a wrong turning and ended going through a village called Agios Mathios. What a gorgeous Greek village. It was my favourite, little roads through it, typical greek houses and just so picturesque. Towards the North of the Island the roads are defintely better, not as many pot holes. They must have started running out of money when it came to the roads in the South. Corfu Town is worth a visit, shopping is good, Fortress is great, lots to do. It had been twenty years since we had last been to Corfu so it was good to go and see all the places we had stayed at before in the last 20-24 years. The Beaches around our resort were some of the best and the beach at the hotel is just fantastic, so sandy hence the name Sandy Beach Resort. Would I go back again, No only because we dont go to the same place twice though we did say if it was amazing we would take out daughter and all four grandkids next year but due to kids entertainment being all to do with the Germans and the Russians this wont be an option. But overall I had a great time

Room Tip: If you dont do stairs and have difficulty walking up them, make sure you request a ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
26.9 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,018 reviews
5.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,173 reviews
9.7 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
11.2 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
16.9 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Property: Sandy Beach Resort
Address: Agios Georgios 49080, Greece (Formerly Aquis Sandy Beach Resort)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandy Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquis Sandy Beach Resort acquired by Aquis Hotels and Resorts from the summer 2009 onwards. It is an extremely family friendly property, located on the sandy beach of St George South West, Corfu. Apartments will be refurbished in order to achieve the highest standards of hospitality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Sandy Beach Hotel Agios Georgios South
Palm Beach Corfu
Hotel Aquis Sandy Beach
Palm Beach Hotel Corfu
Sandy Beach Resort Corfu/Agios Georgios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing