We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value family holiday”
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We travelled as a family of 5, 2 adults and 3 children, aged 11, 9 and 7. Overall we had a lovely time. The food was fine - loads of variety and all very tasty. The main restaurant got very busy but if you get in there early for each meal then it is bearable! The wine is not watered down, it is just a lower alcohol percentage than we would be used to at home (10.5%). It isn't great but you soon get used to it and, considering the heat it is probably just as well it's not too strong!
The staff are very helpful if you are respectful to them. The restaurant staff particularly work so hard but some people just show them no respect at all. If you build up a rapport with them then you will definitely benefit from better service. Our particular thanks go to Giannis, a waiter in the main restaurant, Kostas, the chef who was constantly preparing fresh food in the restaurant and Sprios at the pool bar. All of these employees would chat to us and made sure we were well looked after. Dawn in Guest Relations is fantastic as well.
Our room was fine. The air conditioning is great and the beds are comfortable. Everything seemed clean. The bathroom was quite small and needed updating but we never had any problem getting hot water. We were right by reception which I assume must be one of the newer rooms.
We were dubious about the pools as they sometimes looked green and we had read previous reports on here about problems with the pools. I had a discussion with Dawn from Guest Relations and came away happy that the pools are safe to use even when they are green. The children loved the slides and there were plenty of sunbeds. On the downside, there were people using the pools inappropriately, eg infants with no nappies on being pulled out with dirty costumes, people changing dirty nappies right on poolside by the ice cream and bar! This is something that we feel really needs to be clamped down on as it was pretty disgusting and didn't fill us with much confidence about getting in the water!
The beach was lovely, really sandy and the sea was shallow for quite a way out so great for the children. Lots of fish so the children enjoyed looking for them with their snorkelling masks and nets! The only downside is having to pay for brollies and loungers on the beach. The hotel say it's because the beach is public and not their property but it's actually people from the hotel charging and the same sunbeds. Still worth going down there though and making a day of it.
The supermarkets in the village are much better value than the one at the hotel - 2 Euros difference on a bottle of wine. The village starts at the edge of the hotel and it probably only takes a maximum of 10 minutes to walk right to the other end. We didn't eat in any of the tavernas but they were plentiful and looked good value.
We went to Corfu town for the day on the bus which cost 2,90 Euros per person each way. Plenty of souvenir shops and places to eat. We also did the Kaiki boat trip to the mainland for a beach bbq. This was a lovely trip but quite expensive and the food was nothing special.
Overall, this is a huge resort which could do with the addition of another restaurant area and another bar area to avoid congestion. However, if you have any problems and actually speak to someone about them then you should find they are resolved quickly. We had a good time and would recommend it to other families looking for a good value, comfortable all inclusive with plenty to do.

Room Tip: Our room was number 814 - right by reception. No problems at all there and very quiet. Also, the b...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,136)
There are newer reviews for Sandy Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,589 - 1,595 of 3,136 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

The rooms were not ready when we got the key. It took 2 complaints / 7 hours before we got towels. Rooms were partially refurbished, but should have been better. telephone in the room, and elevator did not work and was not fixed during the week.
The food was good and there was a good selection.
Okay stay, but does not correspond to one (4 *) as startour advertise.
We will not choose the same hotel / place again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the beach with sea views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trond f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Me and my family recently returned to Sandy Beach, although the complex is much larger now we still feel it retains its high standards, for example the food is excellent with a large variety of dishes to choose from. We found the staff friendly and professional. The guest relations manager Dawn, again went above and beyond to ensure that me and my family had a wonderful holiday. Dawn's can do attitude makes her an invaluable asset to Sandy Beach Hotel. Its setting and the addition of the relaxation pool, gym, spa and slides make Sandy Beach the ideal location for a family holiday we look forward to returning.

Moyley/Ward family Birmingham

Room Tip: Request a family room
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Travellers 2 adults, 2 teens. The hotel is situated in the south of the Island, the more stunning scenery is in the north, so if that’s part of your holiday then head there.
Resort:
Quite large with three pools. One activity pool near reception which is very noisy and loud all the time. This one has the slides, pool theatre, bar, games room and plenty of activities to keep children happy, pool tables, air hockey etc. The middle one is supposed to be the quiet one, but it isn’t. No music though and no problem getting sun loungers even in high season. This is where you get your beach towels and there’s a pool table too. The bottom pool by the beach is the largest, again bar, air hockey etc. Overall plenty of space and it doesn’t feel crowded. The staff are all really nice, good manners go a long way. You can also hire bikes, has a supermarket which is not expensive compared to the village. All inclusive ends at 11pm and they are very strict on that, one minute past and it’s 2 euros for a plastic cup of beer, so stock up or go to the village and get 8 cans for 3 euros and stick them in your fridge. Has a gym, sauna, treatment room, all look nice and well maintained.
Beach:
Nice and sandy, well maintained (mostly), accessed from the side of the bottom pool. Usual paraphernalia, jet skis, parasailing etc. Gentle waters ideal for little ones.
Rooms:
Can’t comment on the ones near reception as luckily enough we were at the beach end. They are nothing spectacular and a bit tired, but they have all the usual bits and pieces for a comfortable stay. Fridge, hairdryer, table etc and quite a lot of storage space. The shower as others have pointed out is waist height, but my hubby is a bit handy and with a couple of bobby pins managed to pin the shower to normal height so take some cables ties. No hot water after about 6pm and phone didn’t work. Other than that, no issues after all we only showered and slept in it.
Restaurants:
I say this in the plural as there is two for all inclusive. The main one is bonkers and couldn’t handle it... went once, never again (for dinner/breakfast); lunch or snack was much calmer. The Seaside one is open for breakfast every day and for dinner about 5 times a week for all inclusive (despite what the literature you receive on arrival says – it needs updating). This one is far more civilised for both meals and you can eat outside and watch the sunset. Twice a week it has ‘theme’ nights where you need to pay, but we went to those and didn’t pay, think it depends who’s manning it. If you’ve been all inclusive before you’ll know what to expect food wise it’s ok and I think they do a great job considering the amount of people and nationalities they have to cater for.
Things to do:
Hire a car if you’re brave enough (make sure it’s got sat nav). We drove up to Corfu old town which is lovely, and around the north of the island but got lost loads of times. Maps are difficult to understand and the road signs seem to send you to places not intended to visit. The upside of this is that we went through some stunning picture postcard villages which we wouldn’t have done had we not got lost. Hire a car from the desk in reception, it’s very reasonable and she points out places of interest.
Boat trip to Paxos/Antipaxos, book this from the lady in reception, same price as you pay in the village (about 28 euros). You pick the boat up in the village, it’s quite a boat ride out but the islands are worth seeing. Take a swimsuit, cash and a waterproof bag as it can get choppy on the way back and lots of spray to ruin stuff.
Horseriding round the lake –you can walk here or to the lake by a dirt track (which takes half the time of going via the beach). Out of reception out of the gate and turn left back on yourself onto the track that goes to the beach alongside the hotel, about half way down the side of the resort is a road going right which advertises a taverna. 5/10 minute walk to the end of this road brings you to the horseriding and the lake. Horse riding was great, out for an hour, 25 euros each but very small groups (no more than four). From the beach end, turn right, up the dirt track at the side of the hotel until you come to the dirt track on the left, simples.
Village: I don’t know where people are getting 1.5 kilometres from unless they’re going the wrong way. Come out the hotel at the beach end, turn left and the village starts where the hotel ends. Nice little place with lots of bars/restaurants and shops. The tavernas do not look much from the outside but sit out the back that’s where their time and effort has gone, you feel like you’re starring in Mama Mia. The first taverna on the right you come to you much try the gyros on a plate, out the back, is fabulous. We ate at the Oceano too again out the back, again fabulous. If you fancy a change from the all inclusive I can recommend these two. One of the bars has an Elvis night which was fun.
Hope this helps

Room Tip: Beach end for peace and quiet
Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
13  Thank Karen465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have recently returned from our second holiday to this amazing hotel. We went last year and after looking about for a holiday for this year that had all the things that this hotel had we realised there wasn't one so decided to come back for more!

We arrived and were promptly taken to our room in a golf buggy (even though it was extremely close to the reception area.)

Our room was exactly what you need when you are on holiday. It had a bedroom with two double beds, tv and dvd player. It also had a separate room with a table and chairs and 2 sofas that could also have been used as beds. There was 2 wardrobes and 3 sets of drawers so there was plenty of space for all our stuff. This time round our bathroom didn't have a bath, just a shower but that's not really a problem. Our room was on the ground floor directly across from the park and the pool with the slides where the animation team had all their shows but not once throughout the holiday were we bothered by noise.

Although the hotel uses up a large area with all its rooms and pools and other amenities it is big enough that everyone has their own space but its not that big that its a trek to get from one part to another.

There are 3 main pool areas and a childrens pool. We spent most of our time at the pool with the slides as we have a 7 year old and although all the sunbeds were taken you didn't feel like you were crammed in or have strangers too close to you, there was never a queue for the kids to go down the slides and there was still plenty of space to move around in the pool. Also I'd like to especially mention the lifeguard at the slides, Billy. He was such a lovely man, always talking to the kids and always watching out for everyone.

Considering the hotel was full when we were there we never had a problem getting a table at any of the meal times. Even going at the busiest of times you could always get a table and there was always plenty of food and it was lovely food. All the staff work very hard and cleared tables quickly for anyone coming in.

The weather is amazing, the beach and the sea are amazing and so in my opinion is the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jmacd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Was slightly apprehensive after some negative reviews on here but I needn't have been. Returned yesterday after an 11 night hol with my husband and 14 year old son. Had a fab time. No towels on arrival, a quick call to reception and was told that they would be with us at 3pm which they were, this was the same for others as this is when the new laundry was ready. Attended the welcome meeting which was very helpful, we were told that due to the high volume of visitors they had opened the seafood restaraunt as an addition to the main restaraunt to ease congestion, this was amazing, waiter service decent crockery and silver wear, a beautiful sunset view,no queuing and nice and quiet. Choice was less but in this case less was more, amazing food of a better standard than the other, would not have known this if we didnt attend the welcome meeting!! The main restaraunt was as expected in comparison to other all inclusive resorts we have been to. Learnt to time our meals at the right time, never queued, food always hot and plenty to choose. You have to be a bit daring and give things a go, to which we had some pleasant surprises, Mexican night was the best with fajitas etc. the staff were outstanding, they work so hard in high temperatures and nothing was too much, they may look miserable some times but when you need them they are more than happy to help. The location was ideal for a beach based hol, sea was clean and warm, waters sports available all day. The resort itself is tiny with a few restaraunts,bars and shops, it's all we needed for a break from the all inclusive seen. Kids are well catered for. 3 pools,1 with water slides and entertainment at points of the day including archery, darts etc, even had a teenager group at 3.30 most days for those older kids who don't want to be with mum and dad all the time. The ice cream was free as expected but was of a better than normal standard. Was impressed. We booked a trip via our rep, which are usually dear but we thought that what we had paid for a boat trip to the blue lagoon and the Greek mainland was the right price, and was a great day. Sunbeds and parasols were plentiful, no need to do the early bed reserve with towels, which were also supplied by the hotel. 3 bars open in the evening, the lobby was quiet and everything served in glasses, the entertainment pool was busiest as this has an arcade so more kids around and the other is the beach bar which needed more chairs for the amount of tables. Evening entertainment varied, we watched top of the pops which was good, there was also a pool party with the slides open at night and a beach party. All in all this resort is great, it's huge and has thousands of guests, but we managed to adapt ourselves and our timings to give us the best of everything. If you don't want to queue for dinner avoid peak times which is suggested by the hotel on its welcome letter, which also states that men have to wear long trousers for evening meals, this was a little worrying as most men on hol wear smart shorts due to the heat, so we panicked a little but didn't need to, this actually meant smart bottoms!! as for wasps, couldn't see what the issue was, if people put their sticky ice cream pots and cups in the bins provided then wasps wouldn't be a bother, they didn't effect us, ignore them and they go away, didn't witness anyone stung throughout our stay. a holiday is what you make it. And we made the best of ours, would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cleowross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Huge AI resort, which despite its size is surprisingly efficiently run. The grounds are spotlessly clean and well maintained. Staff friendly and helpful. Plenty of food choice (although this was very bland tasting). Dreadful watered down wine, but stick to G&T and you'll be happy! AI stops at 11pm, which thought was a bit mean. However, as most people were there with young children, I guess it was not much of a problem for them. Perfect location right by a beautiful, safe, sandy beach with wonderfully warm sea. Only gripe really, if I'm honest, is that the bathroom was in serious need of updating. All in all, the resort 'does what it says on the tin'. It caters very well for families, is clean and staff friendly. I only spent 4 days there with a friend, no children, and not really suitable for us. I did however, have a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loujack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
5.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,370 reviews
26.9 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,155 reviews
9.7 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
15.7 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
16.9 mi away
Grecotel Corfu Imperial
Grecotel Corfu Imperial
#2 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Address: Agios Georgios 49080, Greece (Formerly Aquis Sandy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Price Range: $95 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandy Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquis Sandy Beach Resort acquired by Aquis Hotels and Resorts from the summer 2009 onwards. It is an extremely family friendly property, located on the sandy beach of St George South West, Corfu. Apartments will be refurbished in order to achieve the highest standards of hospitality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Sandy Beach Hotel Agios Georgios South
Palm Beach Corfu
Hotel Aquis Sandy Beach
Palm Beach Hotel Corfu
Sandy Beach Resort Corfu/Agios Georgios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing