We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday, something for everyone.”
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Family holiday, 2 adults, one 9 year old & one 5 year old. We opted for a family room which had a huge double room for my wife and myself and it had a lounge with 2 singles for the kids, a balcony with a lovely view over the fields at the rear of the hotel and it was quiet. The staff were excellent and extremely helpfull especially Dawn at reception(who is English) thankyou to you all. The buffet is fantastic, something different to try each night and food was hot and the chefs checked its temp regularly. Plenty of restaurants in the villiage which are lovely and we ate out 3 nights out of the seven. There are 2 pools, 1 near reception which is busy and noisy with music and fun and games throughout the day, then there is the 2nd one next to the beach which is busy but without the music, fun and games. Beach is public, sandy but stony on entry. It is shallow so great for the kids. Jet ski's 45 euros for 10 mins, 55 euros for 15 mins, pedalos 10 euros per hour. Drinks are served in plastic cups even in the evening. The included cocktails were pretty dreadfull and the all inclusive drinks finish at 11pm, after then its 2 euros per half a beer and the spirits were even more. Great on site shop selling branded beers, inflatables, newspapers etc. We had a great holiday even with the flimsy plastic cups and yes we would return. I am happy to answer any questions, just ask.

Room Tip: If you choose a room at the reception pool, it can be noisy in the day, if you choose a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank avbinthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,148 - 2,154 of 3,248 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2011

Loved the hotel - good amenities & right on a fabulous beach. Every cuisine catered for and very helpful & friendly staff - especially the F&B manager Christos but also Nikodimos, the very capable bar manager! The only criticism would be that the evening entertainment was disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearest to the beach not overlooking the pool, it'll be quieter and will have a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bex042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Just returned from a 1 week stay at the Aquis Sandy Beach (4 adults, 1 teenager and 1 infant). Overall, it was a good holiday. The location was nice, having the sandy beach right on the doorstep. Also, the local strip of shops are only a few minutes walk away. Being on an all inclusive basis, we didn't use the local restaurants, but did venture into the bars as inclusive drinks stopped at 11pm in the hotel :-( . We figured if we had to pay for our drinks anyway, we would prefer the luxury of a glass vs a plastic cup!

The hotel resort is huge and of course being peak time, the place was packed. This meant that meal times we found to be quite stressful as there was only 1 main restaurant. We saw another restaurant onsite that could be booked for a fee, but didn't once see anybody in it, it may in fact have been closed. So, we dodged around everybody to get our food and drinks at mealtimes. Having said that, the food was plentiful and very nice indeed, with loads of choice each day.

The pools are huge and maintained really well.

We found all the staff to be very welcoming and helpful, especially the reception staff.

The entertainment .... well, my goodness .... sorry, but I have never experienced such awful evening entertainment mainly from the resident entertainers. I know that they do work long, hard days & nights, but the 'shows' were dreadful. We were a little annoyed by the lack of evening entertainment, because as previously stated, the place appeared to be packed and we felt they could have afforded to spend a little more in bringing in outside entertainers more than just once per week.

Overall, we enjoyed our break, but we were glad that it was only 1 week.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pamlangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Amazing resort,fabulous staff, very nice beach, good food , very good place to be on vacation with your family
Aquis Sand team we'll be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vladimir N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed! Luxury and nature both combined in a place. Very kind and helping staff, excellent and comfortable rooms with sea view! The hotel also had a golden sandy beach! Good value for money! We are thinking of going again next year with our 2 year old baby because the hotel has children playground and baby-sitting service!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mariangelaitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel is located near to a Sandy beach as its name is.
We arrived in the middle of the night and what a surprise sandwiches and juice was waiting for us, as we lost the dinner.
Rooms spacious and clean. We were also offered a free upgrade to a sew view room due to our 4th anniversary.
Staff couldn't do more for you! We were really impressed. A big Thank to all the reception team who took care of us during all our stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Returned to the UK on Aug 22nd. This is our 4th time to this hotel and there have been plenty of changes over the last 12 years, and all for the better. This is a huge hotel with a capacity of 1600 guests but because it is so spacious you never really notice it.
Food was good with a nice choice, rooms are good too with daily maid service.
Restaurant and bar staff are very friendly. Animation staff are great and run an all day entertainment program.
There are 2 huge pools which are cleaned daily and have plenty of sun beds to go around.
Transfer time from Corfu airport is approx 50 mins along a fantastic Coastal road.
Would we go back again? For sure!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Celesteflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
5.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,482 reviews
26.9 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bruskos
Hotel Bruskos
#14 of 15 in Agios Georgios
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
8.6 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Address: Agios Georgios 49080, Greece (Formerly Aquis Sandy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Price Range: $81 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandy Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquis Sandy Beach Resort acquired by Aquis Hotels and Resorts from the summer 2009 onwards. It is an extremely family friendly property, located on the sandy beach of St George South West, Corfu. Apartments will be refurbished in order to achieve the highest standards of hospitality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Sandy Beach Hotel Agios Georgios South
Palm Beach Corfu
Hotel Aquis Sandy Beach
Palm Beach Hotel Corfu
Sandy Beach Resort Corfu/Agios Georgios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing