We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice & cosy small hotel, great SPA!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Rose SPA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Rose SPA Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Kuressaare
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice & cosy small hotel, great SPA!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Having stayed in Grand Rose several times before, we lately spent our New Year's Eve (3 nights) here with 3 families (altogether 12 people).
The place has got a very modern interior (only 5 years old), but at the same time very cosy atmosphere. The old house and new house-wing are connected together with a lobby room. The lobby-room itself is an enjoyable place for late-night drink near the fireplace. There is a very nice children corner just in the corner of the lobby.

The SPA: as far as I am concerned, this is the best SPA-establishment in Estonia. It has got everything you need on spot on one level: the pool, the jacuzzy, hot bath, toddlers pool, the saunas and the SPA treatment rooms. Not to mention the cafe, where you can order hot & cold drinks, salads, soups, hot & cold snacks. All this is very close by, so you don't need to go far, but can spent all your day at the SPA grounds...

The restaurant - a'la carte dishes are very good (we especially enjoyed mushroom soup and pumpkin soup), buffet meals (which were included in our New Years Eve offer), were average, would not recommend.

The restaurant is actually the weakest spot of Grand Rose. As the hotel is in the very old-town of Kuressaare, they didn't have much room, so they built the restaurant in the cellar. So it is a cellar-atmosphere restaurant. But I repeat: the a'la carte dishes are very good!

All in all, we had a great time at Grand Rose, especially our children, who could play and run a lot - as this hotel is quite small, you can let children go and they don't disappear anywhere - everything in this hotel is close by, you don't have to walk much.

As a final comment - if to compare Grand Rose with the best SPA in Saaremaa island, Georg Ots SPA, then Georg Ots SPA wins the match - because it really is a special place with special service (& special restaurant), of which you will miss a bit here at Grand Rose! They still have to improve the service to reach the Georg Ots SPA level!

Room Tip: Family room (connected room) is bigger and more modern than the suite actually is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    94
    33
    15
    4
See reviews for
66
115
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harjumaa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Estonia is one of the best Spa! Very beautiful and original design of a Rose! Although the rooms are quite small, but anyway you are a most of the time atspa center, so the small rooms dos not matter...
In a spa center I liked saunas. I loved the steamsauna where you could rub yourself with a seasalt and a little swimming pool where water was +12 C (after the sauna was nice to quenched yourself there ).
Spa Centre can take a variety of spa procedures. Unfortunately, it is not possible to book in a reseption becauseits all times are fully booked. Instead, book a hotel for a time to book the spa treatments.
In the hotel are less service people, because of that the service is very slow everywhere (reseption, restaurant etc)! Hopefully management tookemployees more:) But the waiters are friendly and courteous!
Grand Rose restaurant is very nice and clean. Meals are delicious and the service is polite but slow again. Im sure I am sure I visiting Spa again!

Room Tip: Took rooms in the right side! In a left side rooms windows are in street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liisi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

We spent a weekend in this charming spa hotel with our 1.5 year old child. A comfortable hotel, helpful staff, nice and clean rooms, fast, high-quality and seamless room cleaning, delicious and quality food, an impressive range of spa treatments. Certainly we will go there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miks1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Me and my friend have stayed in this hotel 1 night in September this year. We were on our aviation trip weekend, flying various airlines and visiting small airports in the area. Kuressaare was one of the places we stayed for 1 night. I found the hotel on booking.com for a price of 39 eur/night/2people incl. breakfast. We were not disappointed. The breakfast was very nice, lots of choices from sausages, meats, smoked salmon, to sweets, pancakes, toast, jam, tea, coffee, juice. Really good hearty breakfast. The hotel is right in the center for the town. It has great spa facilities, with saunas, swimming pools, turkish steam rooms, all included in the price. No complaints here as most other places in europe would charge extra for this. I would come back again if I was planning to go to this island.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alespesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have stayed at Grand Rose Spa several times and it's one of the best spa-s in Saaremaa and all of Estonia. I have been to most of the best SPA-s in Saaremaa (Georg Ots Spa, Johani, Rüütli, Arensburg) and all over Estonia and can I can say without a doubt that it's one of the best. Not necessarily THE best but among the top 2 in Saaremaa... I like Georg Ots Spa a bit more but it's also pricier.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed in Grand Rose Spa for just 1 night on Saturday in May 2011. The building
is nice and rooms are pretty. Ours was on the second floor, penthouse-style room with fanlights.
The room was generally clean, but little dusty. Interior of the room was nice, consisting of double-bed, 2 armchairs, desk and chair as well as 2 nightstands and wardrobe. There´s also a TV on the wall. The bed was comfortable enough. The bathroom is quite small and towels are little too worn. The walls aren´t absolutely sound-proof, so when a baby next door started crying at 6 in the morning no futher sleeping was possible. Almost every sound made next door is audible.
The Spa and relaxation area is quite small. Swimming-pool is large enough to just bathe, don´t expect nice swimming place. There are several saunas of different kind. I liked their two steam-saunas. There are 2 jacuzzis with different temperature of water. WC in the spa area was filthy and smelly. There are no lockers available for the hotel guests so while swimming you could just leave your keys etc at the spa area reception.
We had a dinner at their restaurant and this was very good. Food was delicious and service very nice. Their mojito was one of the best I´ve ever got here in Estonia.
The receptionist was not very friendly, but restaurant staff delinetely was.
Overall experience is nice, but not great. The place is nice, but for me more then 2 days there would be too much. Fortunately I didn´t have to pay for my stay as received a gift-card. It seems to me that prices are quite high there and I am not sure I´d be satisfied with spa area if I paid full price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JullyTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

The building as such is nice but all the services are so incredibly overpriced that only someone really angry with one's funds would choose this hotel.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank miisukat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuressaare hotels
0.8 mi away
Georg Ots Spa Hotel
Georg Ots Spa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kuressaare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arensburg Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Ekesparre Boutique Hotel
Ekesparre Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Kuressaare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Spa Hotel Meri
Spa Hotel Meri
#8 of 15 in Kuressaare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arabella Hotel
Arabella Hotel
#14 of 15 in Kuressaare
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Village Suur Toll
Holiday Village Suur Toll
#13 of 15 in Kuressaare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Rose SPA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Rose SPA Hotel

Property: Grand Rose SPA Hotel
Address: Tallinna 15 | Kuressaare, Kuressaare, Saaremaa 93811, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Saare County > Saaremaa > Kuressaare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kuressaare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Rose SPA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The custom-designed hotel is a combination of old and new styles. The symbol of the entire house is the rose, which is a symbol of love, youth, health, friendship and success.Each hotel room has its own slightly different exclusive interior design. We offer eight Rose deluxe rooms and two suites, named after different rose varieties, for more luxurious tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Rose SPA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Rose SPA Hotel Kuressaare, Saaremaa, Estonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing