We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Towering 1836 white church near town center.

After shopping in the COOP Supermarket, we walked around the town center, now undergoing... read more

Reviewed August 18, 2018
Gene R J
,
Silver Spring, Maryland
St. Laurence Church

The church is a classicistic Kuressaare type building and was established at the current location... read more

Reviewed September 7, 2018
George A
,
Nicosia, Cyprus
Read all 22 reviews
  
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
7
4
10
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
7
4
10
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 22 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2016

We were here on a Sunday and so the church was open. It has a large balcony inside which was quite grand and interesting to learn some of the history. I found the spire quite unusual from other churches I've seen whilst travelling.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank MontyCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2016

We'd stopped at approximately six churches churches in two days and this is the first one that has been open (at 10.30 on a Sunday morning - presumably prior to a service). The 17th century church is one of two in central Kuressaare and inside the most remarkable feature is its large dolomite balcony.

Since visiting, we've discovered the Visit Estonia website which has the opening times of this church (which are very limited e.g. closed on a Saturday and open for two hours on a Sunday) so we'd recommend checking this for latest information if you are keen to visit.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank mikeedeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2016

Having grown up in Kuressaare, this beautiful church has been in my childhood a lot as it is in the centre of town and you simply have to go past it every day! Also had my lovely grandmothers funeral there few years ago and the service was beautiful. Nice at Christmas time too!

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank LiisFlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2015

Average church in Estonia, but with one interesting detail in interior - huge balcony. May be it is more interesting to visit this church to listen a concert.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Martins V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews