We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
28
16
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
28
16
6
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 52 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2017

The guesthouse is situated next to the Kuressaare castle, so at least one of the deluxe rooms has an excellent view across the castle moat. The deluxe room was also spacious, clean and equipped with air condition (and for some reason with a mosquito net). The bathroom was big and clean, too, but one of the light bulbs was broken, so that the corner with the sink and the mirror was a bit dark. One evening there was a strange smell in the bathroom, but it's hard to say why. Most likely it somehow got through the sewer...? We also missed a fridge which would have been handy with small children...

Rooms of the guesthouse are upstairs and there's no lift, so people with baby prams or similar equipment may find this hard. Also, there's no parking next to the guesthouse! You can leave your car on the street, but at the reception (which works only half a day) they recommended taking your car to the parking lot of the nearby hotel...

We payed some extra for the baby crib, but this didn't include breakfast. So our two years old daughter didn't have anything to eat in the morning - we had to share our own portions with her... Breakfast was indeed a set portion and there wasn't any choice over it. It was similar every morning. You could only choose your drink.

Once we also ate dinner downstairs. Service and food was great. I'm not sure if the restaurant really is part of the same company, even though they serve breakfast in the same place.

Kuursaal Guesthouse was mixed experience. The view was great and for couples the deluxe room could be ideal. But with small children I could choose other option next time. I think the price was a bit too high for the experience...

Room tip: Only some of the rooms (one deluxe room?) have the castle view!
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jellona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017

Excellent place and service, only little thing was, that room has no cooler. Bigger towels and more pillows also would be nice. pöoöopöölö bibuukabum hölö was pölö and we would like more mölöpölö but why we must have so many characters?

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lauraaC7183ZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017

Booked two nights on a visit to Saaremaa. Chose this hotel because I like to stay in historic and interesting hotels. Guesthouse promises more than it delivers. Not many rooms. Cavernous spa hall/restaurant which operates separately to the hotel. Interesting room but no ambience when few people are dining. We were given room 4 which is probably the worst room in the guesthouse. It is small and has no view other than to a shed at the back. Hardly big enough to be called a double room. Shower was good but who put them you basin, biggest tap with a shelf over it in the corner? Try cleaning your teeth without getting a black eye! Very dissapointing to have room 4, for a two night stay. Restaurant Ku Ku is good. The terrace for a sunny afternoon is good for lunch, coffee and cake, drinks etc. staff are good. Everything is good except room 4.

Room tip: Any other room must be better than room 4
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017 via mobile

Booked Kuursaal Guesthouse for single night and unlike other places visited in Estonia was pleased the stay was short. While directly across the moat from the fortress we found it a challenge to locate the guesthouse since there is no signage and the only entrance is via an unpaved path with the universal do not enter sign. Frustrated in locating we were further disappointed to be told cars could not be parked in the gravel lot in front of the guesthouse. Fortunately there was no rain as we needed to move the car down the street to another hotel lot.

While it did not bother us, you should be prepared to walk to the entrance behind property and up 27 steps to reach your room with very basic furnishing - not a quaint B&B. While we were please the day was warm we were shocked to find the maid had left the electric heater on all day causing us to think we had entered the sauna. We were unable to open the outer window and so kept door to hall open in effort to cool the room. Fortunately falling outside temps by night made it tolerable. Had we opened the outer window it would have been necessary to sleep under the safari netting over the bed since we discovered plenty of hungry mosquitos around the property.

The long summer night overcame the dim room lighting but this would be a problem during the darker months. If you are staying during the summer bring an eye mask as there are no shades to darken the room. The bath was extremely small but there was plenty of very hot water for a shower.

If you wish to get underway early in the day then be prepared to skip breakfast. The dinning room does not open until 0830 and the diligently working waitress was unable to meet the needs of all the guest who arrived within ten minutes of opening the doors.

Bottom line - while the setting is fantastic this aging guesthouse is lacking in many ways and you can do far better elsewhere.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 100nations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2017

Very nice (and third time) trip to Saarenmaa
Choosing May and Kuressaare Kuursaal Guesthouse was a perfect combination - most shops and cafes are open, but not crowded.
We liked the very friendly we were treated everywhere

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stigj393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews