We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
14
25
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
25
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbishop's palacerooms are basicminute walkstadiumbicyclesbedssummerbreakfastestonia
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 46 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2017

For its price range this is a good choice. Its close to the beach and town - 10 minute walk, 3 minute bike ride. The rooms were clean and functional. Right next to a park, beach and bike paths. Always felt safe coming to/from the hotel.

The beds themselves are simple basic beds. There are limited amenities at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

I stayed as part of a tour group. The rooms were much larger than others we have stayed in Estonia prior to this location. The rooms are bright and airy with a big window. You can open one of the windows for ventilation. However beyond that -everything in the hotel is very basic. The television in your room is not even a flatscreen. The Wi-Fi does work well.

There is no hair dryer, refrigerator or safe in the room. Breakfast is very basic. There are a few small balconies you could sit – if it weren't for the insects. In August when we visited the area was infested by small flying midges. They were very annoying when you tried to take a walk or go for a bike ride. I'm not sure if these insects are present all summer but they were in cloud formation in the second week of August. Thankfully the windows in your room have screens small enough to keep out these insects.

The rooms have hardwood floors and are very clean. My room had two single beds and the comfort level was acceptable. The front desk did not understand when I attempted to converse with them in English. There are bicycles to rent for a very small price, but they are very rudimentary bikes.

The castle is nearby this hotel, and some rooms do you have a view. There is also a very cold and windy beach within walking distance. I can't imagine who would swim there- the water is dark and choppy.

If you are an independent traveler, I think I would try and stay at one of the spa resorts instead. There's not much to do in this town and the restaurants are at least a 15 minute walk from this hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Outdoorpartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2016

Stayed here during a touring holiday. Had a simple, but comfortable room with a beautiful view of the castle. The owner, doubled up as a guide and gave us a most informative and interesting tour of the area in excellent English (and had the most wonderful voice). The hotel also had bikes to hire. Great for exploring the flat countryside around. Although hotel was a 15-20 minute from shops and restaurants, it was a very pleasant and safe walk back past the castle at night.

Room Tip: Room 214 for a lovely castle view
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kumicoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

I loved that my room had a view of the castle, Bishop's Palace, a medieval castle. The hotel is a pleasant 10 minute walk out of town and right next to a sports ground and the water. Saw birds by the shoreline and not far from a swimming area. I liked the location. Rooms were clean and fairly spacious though a little dated. As with most hotels in the area, no tea and coffee making facilities in the room but you can get a cuppa at reception for one euro.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank bemusedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016

I have based my 4 rating largely on the qualities of the owner and the location although a fairer rating would probably be a 3+. The owner Jaan speaks several languages and is helpful and very knowledgeable about the town and the Island. Bicycles are available for rent with nice flat cycle paths in the vicinity. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the nearby beach, 5 minutes from the castle / museum and 10-15 minutes from the centre of town. all routes are flat, easy walking. The hotel is immediately adjacent to the sports arena. This of course would be advantageous if you are an athlete or a spectator but could I imagine create noise and congestion in the area during race meetings. The hotel itself while clean and comfortable is more like a B&B / guest house. Beds are singles in cot like format and the walls of the rooms are quite thin. Bedrooms are situated on the first floor and as there is no lift could be awkward for anyone with mobility problems. Breakfast was basic cereals, cold meats etc.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews