It is a very nice restaurant to have a dinner with the family. Prices are good, the quality of food and service are excellent.
179 - 183 of 351 reviews
We had high expectations for the dinner from high ranking in Trip Advisor. The Spanish music (!) made quite funny ambiance to the Italian restaurant. Service was friendly but the food was amazingly low quality. We certainly did not expected antipasti, the highest priced first course made from tins. The lam neck was ok, but the vegetables were poor. What has happened in this restaurant?
I have read your recent review of La Perla and obviously we are all disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your visit.
I would like to address some of the items you noted, with the hopes that you might understand our concerns. You had our antipasti and felt that it was from tins and expensive. Our antipasti has three types of Italian cured meats, parma ham, salami Napoli, and spicy Calabrese Piccante. It also has mozzarella cheese and parmasean cheese. To this we add a garnish of olives, Italian green peppers, sundried tomatoes and baby corn. The meats are sliced from large, whole salami or leg of proscioutto. The cheeses come from large wheels of parmasean cheese and the mozzarella comes packaged in individual plastic bags, which is the way it is supplied to most restaurants. The sundried tomatoes, olives and green peppers are supplied from Italy in 3 liter glass jars, which is standard. The baby corn is the only product on our antipasti which comes in a can, and this again is standard for most restaurants. We slice the meats and cheeses each day and we purchase quality products from Italian suppliers. This results in a higher price than some of our other appetizers, since Italian meats and cheeses are quite expensive and sadly this cost is passed on to the customer.
We are pleased that our staff was friendly and this is something we take pride in. However you note that while the lamb was ok the vegetables were poor. This is surprising since we use fresh vegetables each day each and grill them on order. Had you mentioned that you were unhappy with the vegetables, we could have supplied you with a different garnish.
We try very hard to make each visit to LaPerla a pleasant and enjoyable experience. We have a very diverse client base and sometimes, try as we might, some customers like yourself, leave with a sense of disappointment. I will state that I am completely responsible for the spanish music, which you seemed to find out of place. Had you stayed longer you would have also heard music from Italy, France, Brazil, the USA and a mix of old and new. Much like the fact that we serve wines from many countries, not just Italy, I play music from all over the world because I enjoy it and feel that it reflects my heritage and background experiences.
Should you come to Kuressaare again, stop by and visit and ask for me. Hopefully we can make your next visit more enjoyable
Incredible lasagna, delicious salmon soup, the prices are good and portions are generous, after eating in La Perla there's no way you'll stay hungry. The service was very good, waitresses very friendly, the atmosphere cozy and I'd say it's one of the nicest eating-out experiences I've had in awhile. Absolutely recommended!
Really great place to eat! Onion soup and carpaccio are amazing! Creme brule is worth it. You can choose toppings for your pizza
Excellent food and friendly service. Our favorites were carpaccio, mussels and the lamb. Next time we visit Kuressaare, La Perla will be our first stop.