We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible- will never recommend!! -BED BUGS” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Europa Punico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Europa Punico
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Terrible- will never recommend!! -BED BUGS”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

First we arrived in the room, service was good, but in the bath tub was hair! When we went to check out the bed there was stains on the sheets, so we immediately threw them off before lying down. When we left and returned, we had noticed the maid had done the bed, and till used the same sheets!! Disgusting! Also, when we got back to sleep we noticed the room was extremely damp and humid..even with the air conditioning on..So with no sheets we attempted to sleep. When in bed I noticed myself becoming extremely itchy and getting bitten. When I turned on the lights there was BED BUGS. ..and if you dont believe me check the pics@!! DO NOT STAY HERE

Room Tip: Leave the AC on high when you leave the room if you still want to breath easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tonedeff500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    91
    41
    11
    4
See reviews for
19
130
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We came to Ibiza to party in the big clubs, sit on the beach, and doing perhaps a tiny bit of sightseeing. We booked the Hostal Europa Punico because of the good rate and the relatively good reviews here, and we were not disappointed. We have heard enough horror stories about low-cost hotel in Ibiza and similar resort town, so we were really glad that we had a good experience.

The hotel is located between the two popular tourist areas, the Dalt Vila and Figueretes, and is a short walk (5-10 minutes) to both. It was in an area where the streets are flat and the layout is straightforward, a rarity in Ibiza. For first-time visitors like us, it was a welcome relief to be able to find our way home/around without constantly getting lost (which we did in the Dalt Vila and Figueretes). The cab ride to/from the airport were 12 euros and to/from Privilege/Amnesia nightclubs were just under 10 euro.

We stayed three nights in a double room facing the street (with a small balcony) on the third floor. The room is basic, on the small side, but very clean and functional. It was enough space for us as we were only here for a short stay and only had hand luggage. The air-conditioning worked well throughout our stay, and there was free wifi. The bathroom was pretty small but adequate.

The reception staff spoke limited English, but were all very friendly and helpful. We left on a late flight, and as noted by one review below, the staff looked after our luggage and offered to let us use the shower before we head to the airport.

The room does not have an elevator, which would make it not feasible for people with mobility issue. But for us the few flights of stairs were no problem. We slept in most days so we did not sample the breakfast, but the presentation seemed nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoywonderTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We spent 3 nights at Hostal Europa Punico in June 2011. On arrival the receptionist informed us that we had a double bed, as booked, but no balcony. As the view is only of the flats/buildings opposite this was no problem to us. Our room, 406, was on the top floor so we had to climb 4 flghts of stairs but as we only had hand luggage it was not a problem and the exercise is a benefit after too much tapas and wine.

Our double room was fine, nothing fancy but extremely clean. Although very hot on arrival once we switched on the air conditioning and ceiling van the room cooled down. There is adequate wardrobe space, plenty enough for a long stay. No hairdryer provided but shampoo is provided.

Breakfast is served to a very civilsed 11am. We thought the offering was perfect, local bread toasted with tomato, toast, cheese, meats, cereals, cakes, fresh fruit, juice, tea & coffee. Everything is set out so you can help yourself, the popular items are replenished constantly by the staff. The breakfast room opens onto a little terrace which provides a lovely shaded area to linger over a leisurely breakfast with the chance to make endless cups of tea and coffee.

The location is very quiet, in the new part of town, we have previously stayed in 2 other hotels in Ibiza Town which are nicer and closer to the old port area but are more expensive. This hotel represents excellent value for money.

The reception is on the first floor, the same floor as the breakfast area. There are some bedrooms on this floor which I would suggest are the best choice for people with heavy luggage or mobility problems but might be noiser as everyone climbs the stairs past these rooms. I would reccommend the 3rd or 4th floor if you can manage the stairs.

All the staff, fom 3 reception staff we encountered, housekeeping staff and breakfast staff were at all times extremely friendly and helpful. You can tell this is a family run hotel as the staff appear to be really keen to assist you, they were very tolerant in letting us practice our Spanish on them even though most of them appeared to speak English so don't let a lack of Spansih language put you off booking. On our last day the hotel looked after our bags and we were offered a shower when we returned to collect our bags which is a great option after a hot day at the beach.

We would stay at this hotel next time we visit Ibiza Town. In June, to pay 60 Euro for a double room with breakfast in a good location and spotlessly clean but basic room is great.

Room Tip: first floor rooms noisy, 4th floor quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkertravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

Great little hostal, right in the centre of town. Handy for Dalt Vila and beaches of Figueretes and Platja d'en Bossa. We arrived at 11.00 am after an early flight and checking-in was not a problem. Staff friendly and helpful. Room was small but very good, with modern en-suite. Breakfast was buffet style, with plenty of coffee and fresh bread. It also has a lovely terrace at the back, ideal for reading and relaxing. Reception/breakfast area/terrace is on the first floor and there is no lift, so bear in mind if you have mobility problems.
Very good restaurant next door but one, which was so good, we returned a couple of times.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

A clean and pleasant hotel with friendly staff. Room satisfactory for a short stay. No lift and steps to reception, therefore not best for the less able. no help offered with luggage. Good basic breakfast, juices, cereal, cheese/meats. Toaster available and hot drinks. Pleasant indoor and terraced dining areas. Staff very fair after we cancalled due to volcanic ash and refunded our payment, this encouraged us to rebook when able to fly. Although in the new town, there was a very nice atmosphere and many good bars/cafes. An excellent, well priced restaurant is next door but one.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leedsharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ibiza Town hotels
0.3 mi away
THB Los Molinos
THB Los Molinos
#4 of 50 in Ibiza Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#12 of 50 in Ibiza Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Lux Isla
Hotel Lux Isla
#1 of 10 in Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maritimo
Hotel Maritimo
#24 of 50 in Ibiza Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Llobet
Apartamentos Llobet
#2 of 50 in Ibiza Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Puerto Hotel Apartments
El Puerto Hotel Apartments
#35 of 50 in Ibiza Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Europa Punico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Europa Punico

Property: Hostal Europa Punico
Address: Calle Arago 28, 07800, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ibiza Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Europa Punico 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Europa Punico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Europa Punico Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing