We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, a bit expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Central Playa
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Ibiza Town
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, a bit expensive”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I visited the hotel on a quick break in Ibiza. The hotel was as expected based on the reviews I had read. 10min walk to the Ibiza town centre, just next to the beach, clean and comfortable room but nothing really special.

It is ideal if you want to spend the whole time on the beach and the night-clubs and you need the hotel for a sleep and shower which is exactly what we were after.

On the positive side, there are taxis just outside the hotel, the breakfast is quite good and the hotel staff is helpful.

On the negative side it is a bit expensive for what it offers (although not expensive for Ibiza prices), the beds are a bit small and not very comfortable. The safety boxes and the wi-fi come at extra charge.

We didn't use the swimming pool.

The balcony door was broken and couldn't lock and it didn't get fixed during our entire stay. We did get a free safety box though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yiannis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tove m, Gerente at Hotel Central Playa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time in giving us a feedback regarding the stay in our hotel CENTRAL PLAYA. We do know that we are a plain 2 star building with few extra services, but we try to do our best even we know that we cannot make all our customers happy. We also know that
a lot of our customers are coming back year after year as they feel home in our company, We also hope that we will have the possibility to welcome you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    143
    94
    30
    59
See reviews for
23
142
51
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I will try to keep this short and sweet,

Good Points

• Cleanliness - The rooms, pool area and the rest of the hotel were kept very clean. The cleaning staff seemed to be quite flexible; they started early 9am and worked through until around 4pm, so if you're a late riser you don't have to worry about your room being missed.
• Location - Fantastic what a beautiful resort. Only a short 2 minute walk to the beach and there are excellent restaurants and bars scattered around the local area.
• Pool/Terrace - The roof top terrace and pool area is very small but we found it to be quiet, peaceful and a great sun trap.

Bad Points

• Faulty Air-Con - This was a real let down and put a bit of a damper on our holiday; the room temperature was at times almost unbearable. I reported this fault on the first day and again on the second, third etc. time after time and engineer would apparently check it with no reply or solution. It got to a stage where I had to personally go with an engineer to prove that it was not working. We were eventually offered a room change (Day 4), which would have been a downgrade to a small room with no balcony so I did not except. On the second from last day of the holiday a "like for like" room became available and we were given the opportunity to move, this was absolute bliss, cool relaxing fresh air-conditioning at last, unfortunately as this was so contrasting to previous 5 days it only served to highlight how uncomfortable we'd really been.
• Sleeping - The mattresses are rock solid, combine this with a lumpy pillow and it felt as if we were on a camping trip rather than in a hotel.
• Staff - They were 50/50 some were excellent others shockingly rude, I put this down to language barriers and the constrictions/frustrations of having the limited capabilities of a 2 star hotel, but as we all know manners cost nothing!
• Not self-catering - Just one to beware of, our travel agent told us this hotel had self-catering facilities, it doesn't not, they have been removed or blocked off.

Overall we had a good holiday; we would stay in this resort again but unfortunately not this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tove m, Gerente at Hotel Central Playa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time in giving us a feedback of your stay in our hotel CENTRAL PLAYA. We know that we are a plain 2 star building with a lot of positive and negative things.Your comments have been rearly helpfull for us, we have done a lot of efforts to check all your points and we feel that we have reach our goal. Thank you very mcuh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ibiza Town hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here for a week with a friend and we were looking for a cheap hotel and for what we paid, the hotel was really good. Our room faced the back of the hotel and had no balcony which was annoying however, the room had air conditioning and a fridge so there was no problems with keeping cool.

The room was basic but was very clean and had cleaners every day to change the towels, clean up etc which was great. We only were in the room to sleep anyway so it was fine for that! It's in a great location and staff were always very friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English.

I would stay again if I was going to Ibiza on budget however, if you are looking for something a bit classier then I would say go elsewhere!

Room Tip: request a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasg0wB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tove m, Gerente at Hotel Central Playa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time writing some words about your experience en hotel Central Playa, it is very importand for us to receive so many as possible feed backs as this create a base for improvement. Central Playa hotel is a 2 star, we are aware of that we do not offer more than a 2 star, but we do our best to keep our hotel clean and familiar. We do hope that you will
turn back to our hotel another time and we will with pleasure welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is good if your on a tight budget and just looking for somewhere to sleep, but I wouldn't want to stay here more than a night or two.

We paid extra for a double room instead of a twin, but didn't get it which was annoying.
Also when I requested an iron I was told they didn't have one, what kind of hotel doesn't have an iron?

Great for a short stay for nights out, but not somewhere you would want to go on holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callam89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tove m, Gerente at Hotel Central Playa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time in giving us a feedback of your stay en hotel CENTRAL PLAYA. Your comments have been very helpfull for us, we are happy for all type of comments negatives and positives, they give us tha possibility to better our service and buy missing items which customers ask for.THANK YOU VERY MUCH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have been staying here twice a year for the last ten years. I cannot find fault with it. Great location, close to everything that you need on holiday. Staff are always welcoming and cant wait to go back again in May.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wimbledonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Money is a little tight this year so we tried this inexpensive hotel. Only fifteen minutes transfer from the airport. Quick service at reception, and a good room for the price. We ate out so can't comment on the food here. Half an hour to the beach and fifteen minutes to the town it is in a central location. Taxis are cheap enough if you need help getting home at night. Ibiza is the same as always, the best place to chill and kick back with friends. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tove m, Gerente at Hotel Central Playa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to give us a feedback of your stay in our hotel. The hotel is very centric situated in walk distance to town and only 50m from the beach of Figueretas and right outside the hotel we have the taxi stand. We know that we have a 2 star hotel with few extra services but we try to maintain a family atmosphere. We hope that another time we can welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you don't have money to spend on a hotel this is great choice. Just ask for a room with the view if you don't want to stare at a wall. Location is the best. The beach is close but not that close to Bossa beach, you'll have to walk a bit to there. All in all - average is the best description!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ibiza Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Don Quijote Hotel
Don Quijote Hotel
#39 of 51 in Ibiza Town
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartahotel Lux Mar
Apartahotel Lux Mar
#23 of 51 in Ibiza Town
635 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playasol Lei Ibiza
Hotel Playasol Lei Ibiza
#18 of 51 in Ibiza Town
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Tropical Garden
Apartamentos Tropical Garden
#22 of 51 in Ibiza Town
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playasol Maritimo
Hotel Playasol Maritimo
#25 of 51 in Ibiza Town
620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panoramic Apartments
Panoramic Apartments
#26 of 51 in Ibiza Town
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Playa

Property: Hotel Central Playa
Address: Calle Galicia 12 | La Playa de Figueretas, 07800, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central Playa 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel CENTRAL PLAYA, The Hotel Central Playa, is located close to the centre of Ibiza town and 10 minutes walk to the port area, with its fascinating nightlife. The beach of Figueretas is near by as the magnificent beaches of Salinas and Playa d’en Bossa. The hotel lies in a quiet but lively area, just 1 km away from historic Ibiza Town, it's the ideal location to know all parts of this beautiful island, the night atmosphere and the marvellous beaches. facilities: On the rooftop terrace there is a swimming pool with free sunbeds and a wonderful sea view. The hotel also provides a lounge with satellite TV and billiard table. The bar/restaurante offers a select and varied buffet. rooms: Double rooms and studios with air conditioning, full bathroom, telephone, satellite TV. The double and triple rooms some of them have balcony with sight to the street. The single rooms do not have balcony. CHECK-IN 14:00 CHECK-OUT 11:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Central Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Playa Hotel
Central Playa Ibiza Town
Hotel Central Playa Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing