We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price quality ratio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Central Playa
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good price quality ratio”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The best thing about this hotel was the location. Although it´s about a 10 minute walk from the port, which is bustling with shops, restaurants and bars, it´s two blocks from the beach Figueretes. The beach is not big but the restaurants around are deceivingly good, and if you want to take a day trip to Formentera, the boat leaves from the dock on this beach.

Apart from the location, the staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful, our room had airconditioning, so we were content with what we had paid for.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skybertha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    140
    94
    29
    58
See reviews for
23
138
50
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I would never stay at this hotel again. There were so many things wrong with this hotel.
On arrival, we discovered that the air con which should come on automatically when the doors to the balacony are closed didnt work. We informed reception and they sent an engineer. Worked fine but then a few minutes later it didnt. The same thing happened for 3 days. Eventually an engineer came while we were in the room and we noticed (even though he was covering with his hand) that he simply flicked a switch to start the faulty air con. Why reception couldnt have told us this we have no idea.
The breakfast was just about bearable. However, on occasions, they would run out of certain items like eggs and bacon and we had to wait 15 minutes for them to replenish them. Breakfast was 8am - 10am but you need to get there by 9am to ensure they still have plenty to choose from as they dont replace items like croissants and rolls.
The room was ok but the walls are extremely thin and we had 2 nights of not being able to sleep due to the guests in the next room being extremely noisy. You can also hear chairs and tables being dragged across floors from adjacent rooms and those above and below. The soundproofing isnt good at all. Our room was on the first floor at the front and the taxi rank and a kebab shop were directly opposite. There was lots of noise throughout the day and night.
On 2 ocassions the maid knocked on the door at 9:30am stating in Spanish that she needed to clean the room. I unfortunately dont speak Spanish but she was very agressive and rude. I tried to explain that we would be 10 minutes and she could clean the room but she stormed off muttering to herself. We returned to the room several hours later to find that she had not cleaned the room at all. This is a holiday and I dont expect to have to be out of my room by 9:30am so it can be cleaned. Checkout was 12:00 and the same cleaner knocked on the door at 10:00am wanting to clean it. We told her that we were checking out at 12:00. Again, a not very pleasant response.
Generally the reception staff were polite and helpful however there was one man who wasnt and it seemed an effort if we asked about our faulty air con or that the room hadn't been cleaned and at times it took several minutes to get his attention.
This hotel put a dampner on our holiday and we would definately not stay there again.

Room Tip: Room on the top floors would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cameron4018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ibiza Town hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on and off since 2005. I have gradually seen it get more expensive and feel less and less friendly. It does remain very clean though. I recently returned from Central Playa and found that the staff were really rude and at one point the guy on reception threw his key at me.
The kitchenettes have all gone, and no one warned us of this before we arrived.
Anyway, won't go there again.
The only thing it used to have a strong point on was the price and now it hasn't even got that.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheemchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Hotel is well positioned. 10 minute walk from center of town.
Rooms are very small. Staff at night in the reception dont even speak Spanish.
Food is horrible. We had the same breakfast everyday for 5 days. Most of the cold cuts tasted like rotten, juice was diluted, croissants were burnt, eggs were soaked in oil, etc etc. The lift(elevator) was out of order for 3 days. No bell boy so guests had to climb up 4 floors with their luggage. Not at all pleased with this hotel. Wont stay here again. Many other nicer hotels close to this one.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbyDayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I was put in older part of Hotel (right hand side facing) lift not working and by pervious reviews not worked for a long time.
Now for the room very small no dressing table no mirror no chair, the window was that high up could not see out, very old noisy fridge in room, bathroom was ok, All found like a prison cell.
Hotel staff not helpful but I did speak to manageress (think of old style Blackpool landlady) told me she was a very respectable Lady why she said this still trying to work out but with her leadership staff have a hard job.

I had to book out at full cost to me, I am waiting on refund from Travel republic but don't hold out much hope.
Its is said you get what you pay for, if you are a solo traveler you don't even get the basics at this hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InvernessDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
396 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Good value and location.Their website and info is misleading - these are NOT apartments but rooms with a fridge and table and chairs. It seems that (maybe) last year there were kitchenettes but no longer. These seem to have been blocked off by a makeshift cupboard door arrangement in the rooms (see photos). Management insisted to us that there were no apartments. Also no wi-fi as advertised although this is available at many nearby cafes etc. (but not in the hotel.) Make sure you get a room numbered from 1-10 on your floor (e.g. 201, 409 etc) and not one numbered above 10 (e.g. 314, 516 etc) the higher numbered rooms on each floor are older pokey rooms with no balcony in an older part next door (and the lift wasn't working or repaired). We upgraded for a small extra charge. The lovely beach is about 2 mins walk away and the old town (Eivisa) about 15 mins walk. Cannot comment on food as we were room only. Rooms at the front are fairly noisy at night for sleeping with patio doors open. The bus stop for the airport is about 3 mins walk away and cost to airport only 3.20 euros - takes about 10 minutes- very convenient - runs every 20 mins.

Room Tip: Get a room 1-10 not 11+
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We booked this holiday as a last minute trip. It was very cheap so was dubious about the hotel. Actually we were nicely surprised. The hotel was clean, as were the rooms. They were very spacious and even had a fridge to store your own drinks. The disappointing part for us was that we had no balcony. Having said that we were at the back of the hotel, so the view woulld not have been nice.
Outside the hotel are all the bars, restaurants and beach, along the promenade. So an excellant location.
Ideal for a couple of nights where you are not going to spend masses of time in the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank payre001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ibiza Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Don Quijote Hotel
Don Quijote Hotel
#36 of 51 in Ibiza Town
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartahotel Lux Mar
Apartahotel Lux Mar
#20 of 51 in Ibiza Town
630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Tropical Garden
Apartamentos Tropical Garden
#23 of 51 in Ibiza Town
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playasol Lei Ibiza
Hotel Playasol Lei Ibiza
#18 of 51 in Ibiza Town
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panoramic Apartments
Panoramic Apartments
#27 of 51 in Ibiza Town
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playasol Maritimo
Hotel Playasol Maritimo
#24 of 51 in Ibiza Town
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Playa

Property: Hotel Central Playa
Address: Calle Galicia 12 | La Playa de Figueretas, 07800, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central Playa 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel CENTRAL PLAYA, The Hotel Central Playa, is located close to the centre of Ibiza town and 10 minutes walk to the port area, with its fascinating nightlife. The beach of Figueretas is near by as the magnificent beaches of Salinas and Playa d’en Bossa. The hotel lies in a quiet but lively area, just 1 km away from historic Ibiza Town, it's the ideal location to know all parts of this beautiful island, the night atmosphere and the marvellous beaches. facilities: On the rooftop terrace there is a swimming pool with free sunbeds and a wonderful sea view. The hotel also provides a lounge with satellite TV and billiard table. The bar/restaurante offers a select and varied buffet. rooms: Double rooms and studios with air conditioning, full bathroom, telephone, satellite TV. The double and triple rooms some of them have balcony with sight to the street. The single rooms do not have balcony. CHECK-IN 14:00 CHECK-OUT 11:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Central Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Playa Hotel
Central Playa Ibiza Town
Hotel Central Playa Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing