We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Mar y Playa Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartments Mar y Playa
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Looking for somewhere fairly cheap but comfortable in Ibiza proved quite difficult, most of the places within budget did not fair too well when reviewed on Trip Advisor, which I always look at before booking. Mar y Playa did not come up in my search results with the main hotel booking sites I generally use. I found it through a wider search of other companies on comparison site Travelsupermarket.com with holidaynights.com, a company I had not booked with before. The price was within budget and the reviews seemed consistently good and I knew from experience the location was fantastic. I later discovered that Holidaynights featured this property at just under £100 cheaper than the sites I normally book through and hence I had not seen it in my earlier searches as it was above budget.

I have stayed in the Figueretas area twice before. I would say that if you are coming to Ibiza to have a string of Brit themed pubs, bars and restaurants, then maybe this is not the resort for you. Figueretas is basically a small Spanish town (an extension to Ibiza Town really) which happens to have a nice beach front with a beautiful long promenade lined with hotels and apartments, with a very European, mixed-bag of tourists staying there.

The Mar y Playa Complex is made up of Mar y Playa I (where we stayed) which also has a small block of studios in the street behind, and the Mar y Playa II, which is on the beach front, next door. Mar y Playa II was closed up for the winter during our stay. We took the public bus from the airport to Figueretas, it cost €3.20 one-way each and dropped us off in Avenida Espanya, just four blocks back from the seafront promenade, literally five minutes walk. The bus is the number 10 and it runs every 20 minutes in both directions from the Airport via Figueretas to Ibiza Town, The journey takes about 12 minutes from the airport. We had booked a studio, but upon check-in, the friendly guy on reception informed me I would be staying in the main Mar y Playa I block, in a one bedroomed apartment and not the studio block across the road. Our apartment was on the third floor, accessible by two lifts, it had a great view across the inner courtyard, sun terrace and pool and beyond into the bay of Figueretas.

The apartments have key-card entry and we were isused with two. We kept one in the light switch as it kept the air-con on while we were out. There is a small kitchenette with a two ring halogen hob, toaster and kettle. The fridge had a small freezer box and there was enough crockery, cutlery, utensils, pots and pans to make a fry-up or simple pan cooked meals. However there was no oven or microwave so if you are an ardent fan of really self catering, then you may struggle, for us it was more than enough. We had a proper dining table for four, coffee table and sofa bed, which ok if you were the third person sharing and had to sleep on it, you just could not sit upright on it very comfortably. BBC world was the only real English speaking channel on TV and got very monotonous, but again, if yopu are here on holiday, you wont care about TV. Most of the one bedroomed apartments have a double balcony with sliding doors in both the bedroom and lounge, our apartment was in the corner so had a smaller balconey and a window in the bedroom instead. Bedrooms nicely fitted out, as is the whole apartment, which is very modern in feel. Lots of storage and enough hangers in the wardrobes. the bathroom, though small was clean and again very modern. The maid visited every day whilst you were out and changed towels and made the beds. Reception hired safety deposit boxes , which are located in reception. There was internet at €1 for 20 minutes in reception, the staff being very polite, helpful and knowledgeble if you needed direction of advice.

Pool area was small and at this time of year underused, but there is a lovely beach whihc you have direct access onto from the pool snack bar. Being on a promenade meant no traffic noise or danger for children. The pool was freezing in October, I would say just don't even bother going in!

Outside the hotel on the promenade to the right, you can follow the prom all the way through the narrow street of Es Viver towards Playa D'en Bossa (20 mins walk), or turn left and walk 5 mins to the small selection of sea fron restaurants in Figueretas. We tried La Cantina (mexican), really nice and the German lady waitress was lovely, Fushion is excellent and looks pricey, but you get loads for your money. The fixed menu's at Tai Wan Chinese are excellent value and they have menu's for all budgets. We ate at Marco's one rainy night, as it was fully enclosed, it was probably the priciest, but again good quality. We missed out on going to Soleado, as it closed the day after we got there, but the setting would be spectacular of an evening, right on the waters edge. There are a few bars along the back streets , Father Jacks being an Irish sports bar with free wi-fi if you need it. Its just the street behind the apartments. the other bars are eith spanish, german or dutch.

We walked into Ibiza Town loads, it was really easy, just following the Avenida Espanya, four blocks back and take a right, eventually you will get there (20 mins walk) great atmosphere night or day and some great shops. You can also get a Water taxi round the head land to Ibiza town from the beach outside for €3.50 single of $6.00 return, well worth it. the boats also leave for neighbouring Formentera from the same spot.

A good tip if you do but food to cook locally, try Lidl, its just round the corner by Mcdonalds and its where all the locals go, shopping there is much cheaper than the local supermarkets.

I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family, great place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TandWtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 331 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2010

I wrote a review after my stay in August 2008 and felt compelled to write another. I have to say, staying at this apartment complex is one of the best choices you could make. It is in a good location, right on the beach (gorgeous beach, clear water). The front desk is so helpful, rooms are modern and clean. Cleaned every day without fail and the maids are really friendly. I would recommend eating in Ibiza town or going to one of the fabulous destination restaurants such as BomBuddha Grove as the eateries in this area aren't great. However, Ibiza is so small it's well worth exploring different areas. If I go back to Ibiza again I would absolutely stay here, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissySara11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We returned for our 2nd visit to this hotel and equally enjoyed each stay. Large room wonderful sea view. Very friendly maid serviced our room daily. Quite location by day, close enough (15 min walk) to Ibiza town & bora bora / space. Highly recommend to people mid 20's to 40's straight or gay as area and hotel has a great mix of friendly people.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baildon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We booked one of the three penthouses available and it was very poor! The apartment was basic, the only difference to the rest of the same size apartments available at the Mar y Playa was that it had a very large roof terrace. The roof terrace had fantastic views and four sun loungers but there was no protection from the sun, we even bought two beach parasols but couldn't use them as they kept blowing away! We were also overlooked by the neighbouring Ibiza Playa so there was no privacy either! The maid service was virtually non-existent and often the only thing she did was change the towels.

Whilst the location and views were excellent, the term 'penthouse' was very misleading, suggesting something more luxurious than a standard apartment. A lot of money which spoiled an otherwise pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelstephens60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

I have to say, the staff are what makes this an excellent choice for Figueretas, Ibiza. I asked to be moved to another room after the initial one was small, dark, and overlooked residential flats. The very next day we were moved to a fabulous room with a sea view. There was always a member of staff available whatever time of day or night, and they all were very knowledgable and helpful. Big room, loads of space, equipped kitchen, towels changed as often as needed, great balcony. Very clean. Big comfortable beds. Quite noisy due to outside goings on...but this is Spain and if you like air-conditioning you can just close the doors and block out the noise. It's not luxurious but has everything you need. Right outside the hotel is the ferry point for Formentera, or the water taxi to Ibiza Town. Easy walking distance to Ibiza Town, shops, restaurants, Lidl, and car hire places. We are booking again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mushermee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Stayed at Mar Y Playa for a week in June. It was my second stay here, and we were a group of 4 people. We booked one of the penthouse apartments, which is on the top floor of the hotel. The penthouses have fantastic, very large roof terraces that have amazing panoramic views over the bay at Figueretas. You can see from Playa D'En Bossa all the way to Ibiza Town and Dalt Villa. The terrace also has 4 sunloungers so you can sunbathe in private all day. The room was kept clean and tidy every day by a great maid service, and we were very happy with the air conditioning and small kitchenette. The area where the hotel is situated has some really great restaurants, along the promednade, and it's only a 10 minute walk into Ibiza Town. I highly recommend this property to anyone that wants a good value no-frills hotel, but the basics done really really well. Would stay here for a third time. Note that you can use the pool on the beach for free, just ask for a voucher at reception.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

These apartments are in a great location, being within walking distance of Ibiza Town (15 mins) and Playa d'en Bossa (20 mins) - at holiday strolling pace. The beach and facilites in Figeuretes are pretty good. There are some lovely restaurants pratically on the doorstep and a few bars, but for more dynamic nightlife you'd need to go a bit further afield. I would highly recommend a meal in Ibiza old town.

The apartments themselves are a good standard. Basic rooms but with everything you'd want/need for a trip to the party capital of Europe. We payed for a standard room but got a great spot overlooking the sea with a big balcony. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We have been recommending this place since we got back. It does exactly what it says on the tin...

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithykath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ibiza Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Playasol Jabeque Soul
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ibiza Playa
Hotel Ibiza Playa
#20 of 52 in Ibiza Town
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Llobet
Apartamentos Llobet
#2 of 52 in Ibiza Town
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Panoramic Apartments
Panoramic Apartments
#28 of 52 in Ibiza Town
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sud Ibiza Suites
Sud Ibiza Suites
#17 of 52 in Ibiza Town
70 reviews
0.4 mi away
THB Los Molinos
THB Los Molinos
#3 of 52 in Ibiza Town
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Mar y Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Mar y Playa

Address: Calle Tarragona 5, 07800, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ibiza Town
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Mar y Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Otel, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartments Mar y Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Mar y Playa Hotel Figueretas-Ibiza
Apartments Mar y Playa Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing