We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUITE THE WORST PLACE I'VE EVER STAYED IN.”
Review of La Dama d'Eivissa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ibiza Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Dama d'Eivissa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“QUITE THE WORST PLACE I'VE EVER STAYED IN.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here in August 2013, and checked out the next morning, despite booking for a week. The hotel was cramped, toilets not clean and the stairs to the hostel were dark, too steep with tiles missing. Moreover, there was no storage in rooms and the bedroom was tiny. No air con, meant window had to be left open, which was broken and was too noisy. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DAVID P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginie B, Gérant at La Dama d'Eivissa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear David,

We are very surprised by this new comment after your first one was removed because it was based only on the fact that you only wanted to recover a deposit ...
This second review is a little bit less arrogant than the first one, but based on the bad faith from your part.
We wish to clarify some points:
-Concerning the air conditioning it is clearly mentioned on our website and by email that we have made this choice for the respect of environment, you were clearly informed.
- About the cleanliness of the bathroom, it is a pity that you have not took a picture of wthat you said because the cleaning is regularly made during the day in the hotel.
- For storage you have a room with a double wardrobe. It seems that it was not enough for you and your friend ...
- We are also very surprised because there is no broken window in the hotel .
- And about the stairs, we must be excused to be classified with the UNESCO as World Heritage of Humanity and wanted to preserve the authenticity of the architecture of the Old Port of Ibiza!

All criticism are constructive insofar as they only are fair and founded ...

Kindest regards
Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    0
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had the most wonderful time at IBIZA because of La Dama! The hostel was kind of hard to find at first. But once you have found it, you'll know that it is the BEST location on earth!
We could walk from PACHA to La Dama d'Eivissa.You'lll probably feel a bit terrified with the stairs at first but trust us, you could actually walk up the stairs when you're drunk (and its pretty funny when you're with group of friends) Sofia was so welcoming.We told her the date of our arrival and she organised and prepared everything for us in advance (e.g. TICKETS/ DISCOUNTS to clubs!)
They really know how IBIZA works especially if you're IBIZA VIRGIN. (NEW TO IBIZA)(If you want to stay in the heart of ibiza I recommend this place) Most of the people would probably go to St. Antonio to stay cuz its cheaper but trust me i've been to those places and the place looks terrible..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kookai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this hostel for a couple nights and it was great!! The room was absolutely gorgeous and extremely clean and very spacious. On top of the actual accommodations being very nice, the spot where it was located cannot be beat! It's surrounded by beautiful views no matter what room you get in the hostel. Sophie, the woman who attended to us was beyond helpful! she was incredibly friendly and went out of her way to make sure we had the best experience not only in the hostel but in Ibiza. The prices are also extremely reasonable for what you get and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Never written a review before, but loved this hostel so much that I felt it was necessary. I've traveled throughout Europe, and no hostel compares to this place. It's the cutest and most cozy place we stayed on a budgeted travel. When we first walked in, Sophie was incredibly helpful and told us about all the festivities that take place on the island. It's incredibly safe as there is a door, and then gate to get through before you get into the hostel area. We walked into our room where there was a chandelier above our bed with netting on the side. INCREDIBLE, especially after we were used to bunk beds and living out of our suitcases in locked up lockers. We went out to dinner at this restaurant across the street (a recommendation of Sophie's). We also pre-gamed on the rooftop terrace that overlooked the port. It was the most beautiful night sky that I've ever experienced. We went out the next day and came back to a nice clean room that Sophie had kindly cleaned up. It was like we were at a hotel with room service, but at a MUCH cheaper rate and staff. We were only there for two nights, but we enjoyed the place. There's a very cute market right next door that we walked around the next night. We were college students who were looking to enjoy our time in Ibiza and this was the best place for us to stay, affordable rate and be treated like royalty. I want to go back to Ibiza and stay at this hostel. Lovely, lovely, lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shreybaybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

NB: This place is also known as La Dama d'Eivissa and its alterego trip advior is as per the below link

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g664638-d4456059-Reviews-La_Dama_d_Eivissa-Ibiza_Town_Ibiza_Balearic_Islands.html

Alarm bells started before we’d even set foot in the building... Problem 1 was the arrival/ check in! My partner and I were outside ringing and ringing for over 30 minutes whilst no one answered the phone; the excitement and prospect of some holiday relaxation faded with each ring of the phone. FINALLY someone came ambling down the street to let us in; a friend of the manager who had locked herself out on the roof terrace!

So, we checked in and paid the balance of the stay (having paid for 3 nights upfront via transfer prior to arrival) and were told how lucky we were to have one of the manager's favourite rooms!... How shocked to have the room door opened and be confronted with a white painted sweatbox. All we had was a small window with a dirty gauze screen covering it, and small desk top type fan. The wardrobe was so small that there wasn’t even room for the two of us to unpack and the floor space (or rather lack of) was minimal.

After mentioning our dissatisfaction with the room we were promptly (the one good thing about the place was this quick service) moved to a larger one at the front of the building (these being the "premium" rooms) ... slightly more floor space, smaller closet / wardrobe and two proper windows. HOWEVER, one of the blinds was broken and you couldn't get to the sink. The windows also (whilst awarding a lovely view of the harbour) opened out onto the busy bars of the Marina - the choice for attempted sleep was a breeze or loud noise!

The shared bathroom (separate shower room and a toilet) we were told were cleaned twice a day - yet the floor was dirty and the bath matt grey! Also, NO SINK!! So, to wash your hands after having been to the toilet meant going back to the bedroom which was through 2 doors and closing the bedroom window in order to wash them... QUITE FRANKLY UN-HYGIENIC & DISGUSTING!

After a sleepless night, a VERY EARLY morning walk just to get some air and talk of abandoning the holiday the only solution was to spend time trawling other places to find somewhere... and luckily we found one!

Back to this place to let them know of our intentions & to check out (after 7 hours rather than the proposed 7 days). After some debate and a phone call to the owners we were told a refund for the monies we paid upon check in would be given! THIS WAS ALL THAT WAS OFFERED - THE DEPOSIT WE HAD PAID BEFORE ARRIVAL WAS NOT GOING TO BE REPAID!! More argument and another phone call to the owners and still no deposit refund! So for stay of about 7 hours in a sub standard NOT AS ADVERTISED room, a shoddy check in, no room for 2 people to even unpack and a dirty bathroom we paid 270 Euro!

AVOID THIS PLACE AND ITS ALTER-EGO AT ALL COSTS!! THERE ARE MUCH BETTER PLACES, WITH BETTER SERVICE AND AMMENITIES FOR MUCH BETTER VALUE!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginie B, Gérant at La Dama d'Eivissa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Joe,
There is no doubt that this place did not fit you and your partner David.
Regarding your claim of deposit please be aware that we apply the relevant law on the subject in Spain (orden del 15 de septiembre 1978), namely that for every booking of at least 10 days or more the hotel has the right to request a% of the amount of the total stay between 30 and 50% (which was your case), as the law says "in case of cancellation less than 7 days before the arrival date the amount of the deposit is acquired to the owner. We did apply the law, keeping your deposit including your night at La Dama.
However your verbal threats to put a negative opinion on Tripadvisor if we do not give you back the deposit, and the recent blackmail of your partner the 29 of August 2013, saying that you would change your review in case of repayment, are not ethical practices and are reprimand able in the law, contrary to the laws and European directives.
Being arrogant will not bring you anywhere except reaching unhappiness.
All the best
Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I spend a week in July at La Dama and I was really suprised by the great ambiences! The terrace is the best point of the old port with a panoramic view!!! Was great to spend hours in the evening chilling there with candle!! The room was very confortable and I slept well and the bathroom are shared but that's not a problem as it is cleaned few times per day and man and woman bathroom are separate!! I felt like back in the 70's for the style and that's the spirit of La Dama!! "Bohemian Chic" I'll be back for sure!!! See you next year, it was amazing!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ibiza Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Montesol Ibiza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirador de Dalt Vila
Hotel Mirador de Dalt Vila
#6 of 51 in Ibiza Town
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Torre del Canonigo
La Torre del Canonigo
#18 of 51 in Ibiza Town
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#12 of 51 in Ibiza Town
395 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Playasol Jabeque Soul
1.0 mi away
Apartamentos Llobet
Apartamentos Llobet
#2 of 51 in Ibiza Town
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dama d'Eivissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dama d'Eivissa

Property: La Dama d'Eivissa
Address: Calle de la Cruz, 20-2-2, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Ibiza Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
La Dama D'Eivissa Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing