We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of la Bodega

la Bodega
Ranked #14 of 504 Restaurants in Ibiza Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We've been here before in previous years and didn't think twice about going again as it was good last time.

This time, we're out of season but it was still popular in that we got the last table outside. La Bodega is a lovely restaurant inside, typically Iberian with a flair of colour. The service was very friendly and relaxed and the menu has a good choice of tapas.

The downside was that most of the dishes we ordered were bland and the fried tapas dishes were 'very fried' e.g. croquets.

This might have just been an out of season blip as it is a very popular restaurant. I hope to see lots of glowing reviews on Tripadvisor next year to encourage me to try it again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ctw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    246
    82
    47
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great Drinks , great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is in the heart of the old town , and is always busy.We have only even popped in for a few drinks, different beers and a few cocktails. So i cannot comment on the food.The inside has a huge vaulted ceiling .Friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alfieboy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Very hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Can only review this on the food put in front of us. Unfortunately this comprised:

- dry and flavourless manchego;
- three flat round lumps of beef cheek which looked like steaks and had a sauce which had an overpowering meaty flavour;
- a plate of green leaf salad which could have come straight out of a bag from a supermarket although this did have a really tasty dressing;
- overly dry crusty bread.

Disappointing as I have had many decent dishes here in the past. As always was mega busy to the point where loads of people were waiting for tables standing at the bars when we left. Great atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nagasaki74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Tapas and ice cold cava in the heart of the old town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We visited La Bodega following a recommendation and we were not disappointed. The tapas was delicious, good size portions and some good recommendations from the waitress. The service was excellent in this busy restaurant and very good value for money. We visited twice because we loved it so much. If you are looking for delicious tapas visit La Bodega.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Collette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

My friends and I ended up in Can Misses Hospital with severe food poisoning, apparently a dangerous bacteria still weeks later in the kitchen. The food is average mainly from the supermarket, its a tourist place , locals are eating in the tapas place around the corner which is much cheaper and much better . Never ever go back there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy_Lampaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la Bodega also viewed

Ibiza Town, Ibiza
Ibiza Town, Ibiza
 

Been to la Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing