We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really poor”
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Apart from the hotel being quite clean it really had nothing going from it.

My room looked straight into a residential building (perhaps 3-4 meters away) so I could share the neighbours evening at home as if i was with them, smelling their cooking, sharing their conversations etc

Rooms are really basic.

Staff not friendly or helpful.

Breakfast is just about OK but in dark restaurant with miserable staff.

Good thing there is a big parking lot next door for your car.

Room Tip: Probably ask for a room facing car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adricons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 429 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel needs manteinance. Its clean but It starts to look a little bit worn out. The best of it is its location in the heart of Ibiza. But they should spend a little more redecorating rooms. Its restaurant isn't one to mention. A bit costly for what you get. And pillows are hard as rocks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miryam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Royal Plaza is a short distance from downtown Ibiza Town and it is easy to find. When I checked in, the guy at the front desk was professional but far from courteous. It was clear that I was a 'second-class' client as I had booked my room through an online discount booking site. The 5th floor room they originally gave me had no wifi signal so I asked to be moved to anotherroom. They consented and moved me to the second floor where the signal was no better. Both of the rooms were small, even by European standards and had no character whatsoever. The bed was ok and the bathroom was clean but there was nothing noteable about either. Good thing there is lots to do outside of your room in Ibiza. At the end of the day, I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel is in a perfect position and the rooms are nice. Staff is good, very efficient. I like a lot the swimming pool on the roof. Price is ok if compared to other solutions. This hotle is a good choice to stay in the island

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pietro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We had a two week stay at The Royal Plaza in September 2012. We were a bit apprehensive about staying at this hotel, however it turns out we had no need: handy location convenient for Old Town; friendly and attentive staff; value rooms (no double bed, two singles); relaxed atmosphere at roof top pool.
Overall excellent value.
The staff went the extra mile in every sense: bar/pool staff especially, notably Esther with a beautiful smile.
Highly recommended for all ages, would definitely stay here again.
The only negative: daily charge of €3.50 for safe key in room. This should be free.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Definitely a little more refinement than the others , friendly helpful staff , clean rooms and not cramped , good size balcony and amazing roof terrace for chilling out ! Would stay here again in the future, well located for clubs and pubs , but far enough away not to hear them !

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

After reading the varying reviews of the this hotel on Tripadvisor we decided to make quite a late booking to this hotel as it was reasonable priced, in a great location and seemed to have fairly average/ good reviews. After spending a week here I feel it necessary to say that actually the hotel is lovely, the staff are super friendly and that I would recommended it to anyone I knew who was going to Ibiza.

From the reviews and pictures shown we were expecting a sort of Premier Inn style hotel, this is not the case. The style of the hotel may not be super modern but it is all in great condition, perfectly cleaned and includes great facilities. On arrivial we were offered and upgrade to a King Size room free of charge, though we had a side view room we could still see the main town from our balcony. The rooftop pool area is a great place to sit and relax and the pool is much bigger than it looks in the photos. The location is fab for getting into the main town, it is about 10 mins walk away from the marina and means you are out of the noise. Staff were really helpful with directing us to specfic places we wanted to go to and ordering taxis when needed.

Overall this was a great hotel which I would really recommend. The hotel offered everything we wanted and was in a great location without some of the ridiculous Ibiza price tags. Please ignore any comments about rude staff, they are lovely and went out of their way to be helpful to us, especially the fantastic lady on the pool bar.

Room Tip: If its in your price range go for the King size room as the extra space was lovely. If you want a to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibiza Town
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Playasol Jabeque Soul
0.6 mi away
THB Los Molinos
THB Los Molinos
#3 of 52 in Ibiza Town
768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nautico Ebeso Hotel
Nautico Ebeso Hotel
#20 of 52 in Ibiza Town
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Panoramic Apartments
Panoramic Apartments
#28 of 52 in Ibiza Town
378 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
#16 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Montesol Ibiza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Address: Calle Pere Frances 27-29, 07800, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ibiza Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ibiza Town
Price Range: $102 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hotel Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing