We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in friendly surroundings”
Review of Hotel Marigna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marigna
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This gay operated hotel is run by two German guys who do a good job, and quite a few of the guests are German too. This is not a luxury hotel and it is a bit dated especailly the cheaper rooms, but its generally well maintained and clean. If you want something more upmarket try the Cenit which is more expensive. There are two types of room. If your budget can stand it definitely go for the deluxe room which is bigger and has a balcony, a/c, stereo, fridge, etc. The other rooms are basic and on the small side. Good buffet breakfast. All day bar with a small terrace at the front. This hotel doesn't have a pool but the big plus point is it's very close to the Cenit Hotel just a two minute walk up the road, which has a fantastic pool bar and cafe open to residents of the Marigna, with the most terrific view of the coastline, which is very popular with local and visiting gays. We were there every day! There is also a beach within five minutes walk and some local bars and restaurants in Figueretas, but its only about 15 minutes walk into Ibiza town, so very handy. There's a bus stop nearby for the main gay beach in Salinas.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SidneyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Marigna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 221 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2010

Me and my partner stayed here thinking it would be great to stay at a gay hotel while in Ibiza. Well that is the only positive thing about this place. It is extremely old and outdated. We had to close our bathroom door to keep the terrible stink from the rest of the room. Our double room was 2 poorly constructed handmade beds that were pushed together to simulate a queen/king bed? Every time we would move in our sleep the beds would scoot across the tile floor. In the morning we would push them back together. The rooms are VERY basic and not really all that inexpensive. We asked for an iron and we were told to come down and get it. Later that evening while we were on our way out the general manager, quite loudly asked us why we haven't returned the iron. We felt like we were being accused of trying to take the iron, and in front of many other hotel guests.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

I am just back a few days from my trip to Ibiza with my best friend and our stay at the Marigna Hote was most enjoyable. I would have to say that above all, the staff are most friendly and Michael the manager does everything possible to make sure that all guest feel most welcome and that their queries are answered.

The Marigna has mainly a gay clientele but there were some straight couples there durning our stay. The rooms are quite basic ( we did not stay in the delux rooms ) but clean and functional and the roof top terrance in a sun trap and clothing optional. We spent most of our time at the pool of the Cenit Hotel which you can use if you are staying at the Marigna and again the staff there are excellent and the cafe style food at lunch time is quite delicious. This bar is also a good place to have sun-downers as it is quite high up.

One day we went to Es Cavallet beach which was lovely although a bit of a trek when you get off the bus. The Marigna hotel is no more than a 15 mins walk into Ibiza town and the whole area is very safe and really, in terms of location you cannot beat the Marigna.

The buffet breakfast in the morning is adequate but as some have said before, it would be nice if the choice was chanced around a bit. Although there is a dining room, everyone eats out on the terrace which is lovely and the breakfast goes on until 1.00pm.

There is a great bar in this hotel, small but cozy. It really does become the hub of the hotel as you end up meeting people there for a drink when you get back from the beach, on the way out for dinner or on your way back to the hotel after a night in the bars/clubs.

Michael, keep up the good work; we had a best time. See you next year !!

Graham

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

I did not say 'one of the worst hotels' but said 'worst hotel' because I am an easy going person and normally very easily satisfied and don't really remember staying any other bad hoptels.
Staffs are not helpful and very unfriendly. Rooms are dated and very expensive for what you get.
Do avoid this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pazuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

expensive hotel with old and dirty rooms
the receptionist was desagreable
no swimming pool
no air conditioner
no frigo
nothing

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxxxx66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

When we found this hotel during our web surfing in preparation of our holiday in Ibiza we were impressed by the very good room rates it offered. There are mainly two types of rooms: with balcony and without. The building and the room furnishing seem to belong the 70's Spanish hotel style, anyway everything was working fine and the cleaning of the room was made on a daily basis and there was nothing to complain about. Our room was very basic but comfortable and clean: TV set and a fan. On the roof floor there is a jacuzzi for the hotel guests and if you do not wish to go to the beach you can easily use the swimming pool of a bigger neighbouring hotel. Breakfast is served from 9am to 1pm which is very good for late sleepers and people like us who use to go to bed at 7am after a night at the disco... The hotel dominant position allows nice views of the sea and the beach of Es Figuerets is just 1 minute away. Whithin walking distance (10 to 15 minutes) is the centre of Ibiza. As we hired a car we have not had any difficulties to park it in the nearby streets. The hotel is run by a German gay couple and together with all the staff they make a big effort to make you feel at home. I will suggest this hotel mainly to gay people or their friends (no cruisy at all), no matter your age. Hotel Marigna is not a place for families (no services for children) and for those who look for an elegant and luxury accommodation.
Should I visit Ibiza once again Hotel Marigna will be my first choice; position, room rates, friendly staff, cleanliness are its strengths.
There is no evidence at all of cockroaches as stated in another review.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabio_m81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

I opted for a luxury room mainly because I knew in August I would need A/C and most of the standard rooms are without. Appart from the A/C balcony and a CD player there was nothing luxury about the room. A very basic 1970s style Spanish hotel room with a few al fresco repairs over the years.
Straff were good and efficient. The rooms were cleaned daily.
There is a roof terrace but it is very bare and austere with a tiny jacuzzi. While I was there only a couple of times did I see people use it. It is locked at night so there is no cruising.
The bar and terrace is nice and is open till late.
Quite location despite being close to Figuretas
Close to Figuretas Beech 2 mins from Deep the late night club. About 20 mins walk to Dalt Villa. Very handy for the bus to Salinas.
There is no pool but you can use the pool at the Cenit Hotel close by.
Breakfast was buffet style with same selection every day of basic hotel food which got very boring after a week..
The crowd was very mixed all types, nationalities and ages. Very respectable and certainly not cruisy!
A pleasant enough hotel but not the luxury hotel I was expecting and appart from the fact that it had a nice relaxed gayness about it it felt like a 2 star.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dabdoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ibiza Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Don Quijote Hotel
Don Quijote Hotel
#39 of 52 in Ibiza Town
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Playa
Hotel Central Playa
#31 of 52 in Ibiza Town
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playasol Lei Ibiza
Hotel Playasol Lei Ibiza
#17 of 52 in Ibiza Town
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playasol Maritimo
Hotel Playasol Maritimo
#29 of 52 in Ibiza Town
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Tropical Garden
Apartamentos Tropical Garden
#23 of 52 in Ibiza Town
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartahotel Lux Mar
Apartahotel Lux Mar
#26 of 52 in Ibiza Town
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marigna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marigna

Address: Calle Sabini 18, 07800, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Price Range: $73 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Marigna 1*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marigna is located in the city of Ibiza, 150 meters from Figueretas beach and 15 minutes walking distance from the lively city center. It is also located very close to the central bus station, which connect the hotel with the best beaches on the island, such as Es Cavallet or Salinas.This "gay-friendly" hotel is focused on LGBT segment but open to everyone. However, it is only for adults.It offers a roof terrace with jacuzzi and sauna. In addition, you can have free access to the outdoor pool at the neighbor hotel, located 50 meters.Rooms have tiled floors, TV, fan, safe and private bathroom with toiletries. Some rooms have a balcony. Comfort rooms also have air conditioning and flat- screen TV.Wi-Fi access in public areas is available for free.The hotel offers a bar with terrace where you can have a drink or snack during the day as well as a breakfast room where you can enjoy a delicious buffet every morning.The reception is open 24 hours and is available for any information or assistance may be needed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Marigna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marigna Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing