We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marigna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Marigna
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Vienne, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I am a bit embarrassed about writing a review of this hotel. I am not quite sure what to think of it. Had I stayed with a boyfriend or a friend I would probably review it very differently. The room are very simple to say the least. There was a leak in the toilet, mentionned it to the front desk and it was fixed.For 83€ a night for a single room I find it a bit pricy but it is high season. The staff was ok, I found the Spanish waiter very friendly. The breakfast was ok. Never went to the roof terrace so cannot comment, had a drink at the bar only once and did not find it very welcoming. A lot of Germans were there and they kept to themselves. Would I go back to the Marigna hotel ? Probably but only if I am not alone.


Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jean-yves c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    59
    37
    19
    30
See reviews for
5
90
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We got an early season deal last week and have just got back - if i had have read these other reviews... we would not have gone! Glad i have only read them now... that I post this…

We booked 6 days before we arrived. The price was very reasonable and we knew where the hotel was from earlier stays at The Cenit.

We arrived at the hotel at 10:00 am and were told that the room was not ready - the owner explained that the current occupant of our room had been clubbing and only arrived at 06:00…if he had not vacated by 12:00 housekeeping would eject him and clean the room... could we come back. We knew we would not be able to check in at that time so it was ok. But they dealt with our case and hand luggage separately putting it behind the desk (I appreciated that).

This is a small(ish) hotel in an excellent location, 5 minute walk to Figurettas Beach and about a 15 minute walk to Ibiza town.

The hotel is one star - basic and that was reflected in the price. However, having said that, the housekeeping was exceptional!

Yes, this is german owned and run, but ALL of the staff had excellent customer recognition, some times approaching the front desk they were there with our room key having seen us walking up to the hotel.

There were no issues with any staff regarding attitude or the other concerns raised in the other reviews so I cannot comment on those - other than to say that was not our experience.

The hotel has a roof terrace for nude sunbathing (or just to oggle some German Sausage!) There is a sauna apparently - didn't get/go there.

The continental breakfast is... as you would imagine…continental!
so expect :

powdered juice
cereal and chilled-milk in a jug
breads (most of which we don't understand)
an extensive cheese / ham / melon / tomato / pate / yogurt / salami option
hot options (Im vegetarian so only got to the pure-scrambled eggs) there were sausage, scrambled egg with ham etc

the bar staff were attentive and had personalities! even in translation (we don't speak German!) which is also not reflected in the other reviews!!!

overall a good holiday

i think it may be noisy in high season which may also pose other complaints…or compliments!!!
;-)

this is a gay hotel which also enables the use of the Cenit Terrace!!!!
A must!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crtrwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Overpriced...do not go there unless you speak German otherwise you'll be treated very differently from the majority of German clients...and not a good way!!! Obnoxious staff,horrible beds,dated decoration....avoid at all cist. There are so many other places to stay in Ibiza for less

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richardka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ibiza Town hotels

london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I know this a one star hotel and was not expecting anything fancy - but even this star is entirely undeserved for the intolerable rudeness of the hotel proprietor.
On checking in, I was told I had not requested something in advance which I was supposed to - when I had specially called in advance two weeks before. I was told "you should email" and "I am the owner of this hotel, and I tell you have not done this" and "you have caused us much inconvenience". Utter rudeness, to which anyone would have launched into a fist fight - but I could not muster the strength to fight back.
I hear the same complaints from other readers - and I wonder how this hotel stays in business? But clearly they are not doing well - half empty in August.
The guests they do have seem to be all German - and the owners are German so I think the only excuse could be they do not like the English!
Shame - because it could be a great little place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiesoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Ok folks this hotel is 1 star but the service is 5 and the atmosphere is 10.
I read the reviews before i arrived and expected a dump "i don't get some people who write reviews sometimes" this place is very cool.
The Hotel Marigna is run by two great German guys Rene and Michael with an incredible polite and fun staff, a heavy German clientele(all very friendly)but quite a few other european people staying there myself from London.
Room was comfortable great beds super clean and a spotless bathroom view out too the mountains and apartments.
Breakfast was a good enough choice for most folks one Sunday we had salmon very posh.
Basically i had a great time here yes is predominately gay but straight folks are welcome the bar is open 24/7 and Nico and Neil are the most fantastic staff ever.
Easy to get into Ibiza town 15 min ,a short walk to tons of great restaurants beaches supermarkets bike moped hire ferry to Formentera this part of Ibiza has everything i did not touch a Big club or venture to San Antonio in my 12 days stay so if you are looking to chill and relax this is the place to do it.
I have stayed in some of the worlds top hotels(Claridges/Dorchester) and i can honestly say service is service 1 star or 6 star i will be returning to Hotel Marigna for their custom i miss them already and Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlparris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We didnt stay at this hotel but used the bar virtually every day! While the hotel was quiet as it wasnt quite in season in Ibiza, we found the staff really friendly and helpful, the terrace area is a really nice spot, the drinks are very reasonably priced espeically compared to some of the gay bars in Ibiza so couldnt really fault it to be honest. Didnt see the bedrooms but certainly enjoyed the service that we recevied.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPW2873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed here for 8 nights in early September. A time-warp me thinks, stuck in the 90's.
Very noisy, esp at 4am, with guests from other hotels sat drinking under our bedroom window.....no apologies just a "that's how it is" comment. Overwhelmingly German clients, extremely noisy and surly. At £1000 for the week..I expected more than I got....poor breakfast, nosiy air-con, shabby beds and linen..I could go on. Avoid it!

Room Tip: None on the front of the building as these are over the noist bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mfmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ibiza Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cenit
Hotel Cenit
#26 of 50 in Ibiza Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Figueretes
Hotel Figueretes
#36 of 50 in Ibiza Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lei Ibz Hotel
Lei Ibz Hotel
#19 of 50 in Ibiza Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibiza Playa
Hotel Ibiza Playa
#9 of 50 in Ibiza Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Playa
Hotel Central Playa
#29 of 50 in Ibiza Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Mar y Playa
Apartments Mar y Playa
#23 of 50 in Ibiza Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marigna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marigna

Property: Hotel Marigna
Address: Calle Sabini 18, 07800, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Marigna 1*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marigna is located in the city of Ibiza, 150 meters from Figueretas beach and 15 minutes walking distance from the lively city center. It is also located very close to the central bus station, which connect the hotel with the best beaches on the island, such as Es Cavallet or Salinas.This "gay-friendly" hotel is focused on LGBT segment but open to everyone. However, it is only for adults.It offers a roof terrace with jacuzzi and sauna. In addition, you can have free access to the outdoor pool at the neighbor hotel, located 50 meters.Rooms have tiled floors, TV, fan, safe and private bathroom with toiletries. Some rooms have a balcony. Comfort rooms also have air conditioning and flat- screen TV.Wi-Fi access in public areas is available for free.The hotel offers a bar with terrace where you can have a drink or snack during the day as well as a breakfast room where you can enjoy a delicious buffet every morning.The reception is open 24 hours and is available for any information or assistance may be needed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Marigna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marigna Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing