We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worthy of the Marriott AC criteria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AC Baqueira Ski Resort, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Baqueira
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not worthy of the Marriott AC criteria”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Marriott's Autograph Collection are supposed to be the creme de la creme of their portfolio, but this hotel is lacking in many areas that would give it that distinction. We are Gold Elite members and have never received such poor service in any Marriott in the US. Spanish customer service does not compare, so it is difficult to compare apples to apples. However, there were only two staff members who showed any respect. Juan in the spa and Sara at the front desk were excellent and friendly. The rest of the staff needs to learn how to smile and be welcoming.

When we first arrived, we were given a room that we were told was an upgrade. It's windows faced a rock wall below a street. After being in the room for ten minutes, we were so uncomfortably warm we felt claustrophobic. The windows were stationary and could not be opened, and no matter how low we turned the thermostat, the room would not cool down. We called the front desk and a maintenance man was sent. He advised us to turn it off. We left for dinner, and when we returned several hours later, the room was just as hot. We called the front desk and we were told that nothing could be done until the next day. With a room that cost $415 per night, this was not an acceptable response. I went down to the front desk, where I dealt with the same surly young man. When he realized I would not take no for an answer, he said that he would put us into another room which had windows that would open. It was now midnight, and there was not a single offer of helping us move our belongings.

Other problems, the wi-fi does not work in the rooms as promised, and many of the room features are more about design than function. I am not personally into the austere, dark, chic look that is now popular. The spa area looks like it could be the interior of a submarine it is so grim. The 'arab' bath was not functioning and we were told by another guest that it had been down for over a week.

I am glad that we were able to use our reward points to book this hotel because if I had spent money for this hotel, I would have been angry to have had the treatment and poor service that we have received. I asked three times to speak to the manager, and was told every time that she was unavailable, and she never made any attempt to contact us. I saw her in passing several times, and her demeanor, dress code and general aura was all very poor. I think her hand at running this hotel is the reason for the poor attitudes and lack of good customer service. Marriott should take note...the only reason I did not give this hotel only one star is because there were a few redeeming qualities...good location and good breakfast buffet. But not worthy of the high price tag that is being charged! Book elsewhere if you can!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LoungeLizard64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    38
    25
    13
    7
See reviews for
55
48
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
102 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Marriott should and do know better.... It's not all bad, but to be honest this was a real shame.

The Good

Great location 50 metres from the bottom of the lifts
Ski rental shop within hotel (and two others within 30 metres of the hotel door)
Good breakfast buffet each morning with wide selection and fresh pastries
Good design and modern feel to hotel


The Bad

Unfortunately, they outnumber the good and it means no going back....

Noise in rooms - Most seriously for an alleged 5 star property - there is awful noise cross over (in the duplex suites) from adjacent rooms- the worst I can remember since an awful MH Hotel in Holland about 2 years ago which was a third of the price. We could literally hear what the guy in the next room was saying to his wife in bed- and he was not shouting ! It's not just one room either because of the layout you get noise from at least 3 if not 4 rooms - so add the sweet whisperings in French to the shoot up movie, to some rowdy teenagers up until 3am on a Saturday morning and you get the picture. I raised this on checkout (we left early on Saturday am) and the nice young man shrugged helplessly and said they were full and people don't care about others - I persisted and said that was fine but there is zero acoustic insulation.... He said nothing and offered no apology or service recovery but proceeded to hit up my card for the full bill without making eye contact - I got the feeling this is a common complaint . ( our room was 415 - we'd requested a high floor room away from the lifts - 415 is next to the lifts...

Property maintenance - on our corridor floor tiles were curling up at the corners and on the restaurant floor the toilets were not cleaned or inspected regularly during our stay

Service standards are poor - its obvious that the restaurant staff hate their jobs - the managers first words on entry to the restaurant in Spanish (so not a 2nd language) were not Good morning or even Hello, but just a brusque "Room Number ?" (Reception were a lot more friendly)

Leisure access - we travelled with our 8 year old - only when we got there did we find that the pool is off limits to anyone under 16 - this is not on the AC or Marriott web sites, which was a big disappointment.

Parking - the hotel has an underground garage directly accessible by lift, but they charge you 15 euros per day to use it we arrived on Monday and left on Saturday and yes they charged us a full 5 days at 15 euros.... This is sharp to say the least, but when the rooms are priced as they are, and this parking fee is not made clear until arrival (in our case) then its an unnecessary gorging of tourist euros !

Après Ski - In the same vein the elevators advertise a cup of steaming chocolate and home made cakes to welcome you back from the slopes from 4pm until 7:30 each afternoon. Many ski hotels do the same including in Baqueira but AC have a funny twist I haven't seen before, which is an 8 Euro charge per person (including kids) that isn't on the adverts ! Honestly....

Summary - Baqueira is great and we will go back as soon as we can for the great skiing - this hotel could be great too but has structural and management flaws that are so great I couldn't recommend it to anyone.

We've stayed before at La Pleta (which I reviewed at the time) and that was older but way better, whilst I would try somewhere else next time because that's what we do, I can at least recommend La Pleta as a hotel.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere in Baqueira - this should be great but its not. If you do stay - do anything to NOT h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DepDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

Really nice hotel for those who like the contemporary look&feel. The people were friendly and try to make your stay a good one, even if nobody speaks English.
The downside of this type of city-hotel is that it lacked the cosy apres-ski holiday feeling. We travelled with a 10-year old who did really get bored in the hotel as there was not really anything to do, no nice place to hang-out or chill after coming back from the slopes. Although I normally like this type of hotel, I would not choose it again for a family ski-holiday as it lacked the athmosphere you would expect; which other hotels in Baqueira do offer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

We had the best snow, the best weather and not to many people as March fall in between holidays, the days are longer but snow still fell at the beginning of the week. The hotel is very comfortable and stylish. At nighttime , we choose to go to a raclette restaurant in Baqueira (very good) and a typical aranese restaurant 7km away, both adviced by the hotel. Staff was very helpful, and the location within walking distance of the skilifts is perfect; so is the ski-locker at the ski-lift.
We loved the sunny terrace for the after ski, the music was very nice. Maybe mojitos rae a bit over-priced in comparison to all the rest...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steffieBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

Excellent staff; super room; good food. Non-smoking policy in main areas of hotel especially welcome.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GibraltarWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

I loved the location and the fact that they took your skis and placed them in a locker at the ski lift for you. I thought the regular rooms were too small - it was difficult to pass the end of the bed and I didn't like walking into the bathroom as soon as you opened the door. The toilet was not very private (not ideal if planning a romantic weekend away with a new boyfriend as there is no privacy). The room was nice and quiet though. The treatments in the spa were well priced and the therapists were excellent. I did think the oversized plastic jacuzzi/circuit thing looked cheap and there was not enough seating room in the spa. Breakfast was good but I thought the snack lounge was overpriced and the cigar lounge lacked any atmosphere. Great location though!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

This winter, with some friends from Barcelona, I went for a ski journey to Baqueira. The hotel was chosen by one of my friends and in the begining I thought it was to expensive (more than 250 euros per night). Once there, I realize that the hotel was perfect and that the money was worth it. The hotel is a 5 star, and is truly located just off the chairlift that brings you to the ski station. You can stock all the ski equipment on a VIP wardrobe at the chairlift base. In the hotel you also have a ski shop, incase you forgot something at home. The room was perfect and big enough, but was couple oriented... and i was with a friend (a same sex friend hopefully as the bath was open).
Dont miss the spa nor the sun terrace to relax from a excellent day of skiing. I hightly recomend this hotel if you ever go to Baqueira.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieMParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baqueira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Val de Neu GL
Hotel Val de Neu GL
#3 of 10 in Baqueira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rafaelhoteles by La Pleta
Rafaelhoteles by La Pleta
#1 of 10 in Baqueira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Royal Tanau
Melia Royal Tanau
#2 of 10 in Baqueira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tuc Blanc
Hotel Tuc Blanc
#6 of 10 in Baqueira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Himalaia Baqueira
Hotel Himalaia Baqueira
#5 of 10 in Baqueira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deth Camin Reiau
Deth Camin Reiau
#10 of 10 in Baqueira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Baqueira Ski Resort, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Baqueira Ski Resort, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Baqueira Ski Resort, Autograph Collection
Address: Avda. Perimetral, s/n | Urb. Val de Ruda - Nucleo 1500, 25598 Baqueira, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Baqueira by Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Lleida > Val d'Aran > Baqueira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Baqueira
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Baqueira Ski Resort, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Baqueira Ski Resort, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing