We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS ONCE AGAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Val de Neu GL
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Baqueira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our second visit, two January ski trips in a row and this time we brought some friends. Again this hotel delivers at a high level for this price bracket. The fireplace chill out zone remains a gorgeous place for evening drinks, the service is good, contrary to a previous review we find the breakfast service to be efficient and capable of delivering good coffee (similar to a double flat white which is our preference being from down under, and we are particular when it comes to coffee....). We age inhouse a couple of times as there was a complete snow storm which left us hotel bound. On our previous trip we ate in the valley but this time even Ticolet was difficult to navigate to without falling over. The hotel restaurant (not the fondue one) is high quality, beautifully executed, well presented at a higher cost than other places in the village or valley but still it's Spain so the cost isn't high for the standard if you compare with other parts of the world especially taking into account this is a ski hotel which are normally pretty average when it comes to food. Ah the bliss of being in Spain, this hotel as with the country takes food and wine seriously. We are returning next year. I kind of want to do the best for the community of the Aran and get the word out but selfishly I'd also like it to remain one of Spains little secrets. A fabulous ski hotel. My only wish is that the spa was included. We will not be paying 25Euros or so per person for a hot dip at the end of the day. I tried to negotiate an all up price for our stay but no joy....that's my only teeny gripe but not enough for me to be put off coming again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MataiDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Val de Neu GL
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 288 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

folks, for a truly unique skiing experience, with the vastness of Vail and the charm of rural europe, the Val de Aron region is unsurpassed. If you go, I urge you to stay at the Val de Neu hotel, where old world charm meet new world capabilities. Simply excellent in every way.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the Baqueret mountain
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimb0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

not ski in ski out , but good food , service is OK , 250 m ski lift , not expensive , great jamon , wine , and one of the best cheese fondues in my life , 4 hour from Barcelona , SPA is great.music ambience is terrible but is little detail.fitness is medium

Room Tip: basic room is great.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alvesjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I usually review hotels which have notably under- or over-performed their price bracket. In this case the accommodation delivers for the 5* price (cool, dark, moody but family-friendly: how do they achieve that?) but the food and service are well below par. A family holiday in February in adjoining rooms - we requested a move from our suite because, contra the website, the sleeping areas in the suite are essentially open plan (separated by a short staircase) so no sound proofing or privacy. Management handled our complaint well although did try to scalp us for €400 per night to upgrade to a royal suite. Got interconnecting rooms instead - best choice for a family. Top class quality although stuffy mid-winter as they turn the air con off it seems.

Food is another issue. Most staff speak no or little English, so don't come expecting sympathy for little Johnny's allergy. In 6 days I have yet to be asked if I would like a coffee with my breakfast - I suggest a firm rugby tackle accompanied by 'cafe solo por favor' which delivers you a cup full of robusta's (not arabica's) best. When it comes it is a single cup, so bring a newspaper if you want two. Dinner is pedestrian and the prices - particularly in the fondue restaurant - are gougingly expensive relative to quality or quantity. Forget about ordering a meat-based fondue unless you enjoy quantities of meat appropriate for a vegetarian. We witnessed tables around us pleading for more meat or even portions of chips to bulk up the meal. Wine list however is decent value - until you compare it with Ticolet. See below.

The advice: by all means stay at the Val de Neu. But go B&B and eat at Ticolet or its sister raclette and fondue restaurants (next door) which cost the same as VDN's lacklustre offerings and are in a wholly different league. Only 5m walk and the hotel will book for you. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid the open-plan suites. Top floors best.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgeGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice hotel with good service and excellent location next to fantastic ski area of Baqueira.

Breakfast and room also very good but price level in general too high and some noiring issues like € 16 pizza (similar as frozen from supermarket with € 2), spa cost extra € 27 and kids under 16 years have to go to kids Club small pool to swim and eg food quality not always high (fish partly raw) why 5 star hotel questionable.


  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas. Everything was top notch at this hotel: decent size room (standard room), comfortable, great service from all staff we interacted with, excellent location. The service was the best we experienced during our trip to Spain which included stops in Madrid and Barcelona. Front desk was so friendly and helpful with tips and recommendations. The restaurant host at breakfast even let us in early so we could grab a bite since we had to leave town first thing in the morning. The only downside is that they charge to use the spa area; which is the only way to access the outdoor jacuzzi which is so enjoyable after a day on the slopes.

Room Tip: Rooms on the floor (3rd floor?) above the restaurant level floor have a nice patio.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hersin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel offers everything you would imagine and a bit more.
+ Wonderful rooms, clean and confortable.
+ Excellent breakfast
+ 1 Fondue restaurant and 1 a la carte restaurant.
+ Bathroom kits are prepared for men, women and children, these are usually always male oriented in other hotels (you will find everything you need for your vacation even sun block, after sun and lip balm).
+ Supervised children's corner with children's swimmingpool. Supervised children's dinner (free of charge and of course optional)
+ Ski lockers (free of charge) with Ski boot's dryers!
+ Staff available in the ski locker room to help children put their boots on!
+ Relaxed lobby room on the first floor where you can read, play board games, have an after ski drink, cup of tea etc.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good I have stayed in fourth and sixth floor, both are excellent.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbarpappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baqueira
0.5 mi away
Melia Royal Tanau
Melia Royal Tanau
#2 of 10 in Baqueira
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rafaelhoteles by La Pleta
Rafaelhoteles by La Pleta
#1 of 10 in Baqueira
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
AC Baqueira Ski Resort, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Himalaia Baqueira
Hotel Himalaia Baqueira
#5 of 10 in Baqueira
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montarto
Hotel Montarto
#9 of 10 in Baqueira
166 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Acevi Val d'Aran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Val de Neu GL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Val de Neu GL

Address: C/ Perimetrau S/N, 25598 Baqueira, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Lleida > Val d'Aran > Baqueira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Baqueira
Price Range: $225 - $879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Val de Neu GL 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Hotel Val de Neu es ideal para la práctica del esquí. Está situado a tan solo 50metros del telecabina de la estación de esquí de Baqueira-Beret y para mayor comodidad, nuestros clientes disponen de un servicio de guardaesquís gratuito anexo al acceso del telecabina. Ya en el hotel, los clientes pueden relajarse en el SPA, con los diferentes masajes, tratamientos de belleza, o simplemente con el circuito termal y el jacuzzi exterior. El Hotel Val de Neu cuenta con una amplia y variada oferta gastronómica. El Restaurante la Fondue, de cocina típica de montaña. Restaurante el Bosque, con platos de mercado y cocina internacional y Restaurante el Bistro, con una carta más desenfada durante todo el día. Además el hotel dispone de la zona Chill Out, con una chimenea central y cómodos sofás que invitan a degustar cualquiera de nuestros combinados. Los niños pueden disfrutar en el hotel con una piscina climatizada para ellos, un miniclub supervisado por una animadora y dotado con videojuegos, piscina de bolas, etc. Asimismo tiene un restaurante infantil pensado solo para ellos, con la asistencia de una cuidadora para que los padres puedan estar tranquilos y disfrutar de un merecido descanso. El hotel dispone de varios tipos de habitaciones, desde habitación Neu Classic a las sofisticadas Neu Suite Real. Todas las habitaciones tienen WIFI gratuito, cafetera de cápsulas, carta de almohadas, etc ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Val de Neu GL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing