We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Callao Salvaje
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good, nice place”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Nice Staff, with witch we got on very well, peaceful place, nice apartments, just not very tidy, short I think of cleaning staff, we were 3 people and child, not much from food for child, but it not children hotel :)
great value for money, no one was dissapointed we had all inclusive, but most of time we were traveling, had a car, Cicar was cheapest, dont go to Golden car, because you will pay like its golden

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jeyjey1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    270
    243
    121
    144
See reviews for
276
379
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes
Level Contributor
413 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I arrived here at 1230 pm only to be told that our room would not be available until 4pm. After a 4pm start this was very galling! We left our luggage in the luggage room and we were told that we could go to the pool bar for lunch and a drink. (which we would have to pay for as we were self catering). Only to be told on arrival at the bar that snack were not available until after 2.30 pm. Good start then! We eventually got our room at 15.45 hrs. The room, and we had booked a 1 bed room apartment was clean, spacious, with a well equipped kitchen and a large bathroom. Callao Gardens is situated on a steep hill and is not recommended for the disabled. We found that at times the women receptionist was surly and unhelpful. You have to pay for Wi Fi and for TV (other than local TV). There are 4 pools and we found no problems obtaining a sun bed. We did find that we were woken at times by the cleaners trolleys quite early in the morning, sometimes as early as 7am! On one occasion the cleaner required access at 0900 hrs to clean our room. The rooms were serviced every two days. There are plenty of restaurants close by and the local bus stop is within 2 mins walking distance. We went into Los Christianos and Las Americas by bus. We also went to Los Gigantes, where we went on a two hour boat trip to see the dolphins, which we did! Overall, we would come again.

Room Tip: You need to be aware that there are some steep climbs to get to the hotel and many stairs within the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mohawk1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We have just arrived back after having a great week holiday at Callao Gardens.
After some research we selected this hotel for a value for money all inclusive break. Most of the reviews had been positive, with the biggest grumble being the food selection.
We found the hotel to be very good overall. The Rooms were spacious and clean, serviced two or three times in the week. Whilst there is no air conditioning, there is a fan in the main living room. To be honest it would make more sense for the fan to be in the bedroom as it got very hot in the night. Incidentally we later found out that you could hire a portable air con unit for 60 Euros.
The grounds and pool area are very good . There is plenty of space, and there are 4 different pools to choose from .
There was only one bar open whilst we were there at the Lanzarote restaurant. This wasn't much of a problem for most of the week but come Friday and Saturday the hotel was about two thirds full, another bar would have been more sensible.
The restaurant was adequate with every day providing a variety of options. However a couple of days we found a little samey.. We weren't surprised because we had read trip advisor reviews which eluded to this. Functionally it does what you would expect for the money, provides you with well prepared / cooked food. However over the week it's hard to recall a special meal, and it never gives you the feeling of a night out at a nice buffet restaurant.
The hotel staff are very nice, always helpful. I can't recall any disappointment in terms of customer service.
The drinks at the bar are fine, for all inclusive it's plastic cups for pool side or proper glasses inside the restaurant area. The only lager is San Miguel, and local labels for other drinks.
Callao Salvaje is a nice up and coming area with a newly landscaped beach and a number of shops bars and restaurants. It's about a 20 to 30 minute bus ride to las Americas etc, which can be a blessing, it will cost about 2 euros each way.
For a value for money all inclusive week, I would certainly have no problem coming back. But there is some work to do to make this a great place to stay.
It appears to have recently changed hands to Blue sea Callao Gardens, so it will be interesting to see what the future holds.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
12 Thank PhilLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights all inclusive from 17th until 21st September 2013 with a friend. The hotel itself was ok - we had a fairly large apartment with a nice big balcony overlooking a pool. Although it was quite clean, one night we did notice that there were some small bugs on our beds... I told reception and they said the cleaner would spray and disinfect when they cleaned. We didn't see anymore after that so I guess that solved the problem. The food was very samey and I found it quite difficult to eat healthily (not that I was trying but the vegetables and the fruit was all very unappetising), so I ended up eating a whole lot of carbs! Having said that, I still enjoyed the food but more variety would have been nice. As you would expect (I still feel it is important to mention though), the entertainment is very children-oriented and so as it was just my friend and I we found that a little boring but that was our fault - we weren't expecting anything else. There really is nothing to do in the area at all, but again I was expecting for that to be the case. This hotel is perfect for families who want to take their young children and remain in the grounds of the hotel for the majority of their time in Tenerife.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view and if you want a double bed you need to be explicit about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed Aug/Sep for 1 month on Self Catering basis.

Rooms : Large 1 bedroom apartments. Ok for self catering except no microwave in our apartment, but friends we met had one in theirs but they were all inclusive! A bit of a con there as they did not need it but as S/C we could of done with it (35 euro to hire for 2 weeks though). Clean sheets/towels every other day, but cleaning is pot luck depending on which housekeeping member you get (they will not move anything so make sure to put the bed up if you want it cleaned underneath). Had to move from 1st floor to 2nd floor (top) after a few days due to ants, and even then we still had them. Ceiling fan in living room, no air con.

Pools : 3 pools. In our opinion very good. Bottom pool (activities all around this one) very lively with music playing all day. Foam party and bouncy slide was put up on a couple of days, great fun, but if you want a bed around this one then its a 7am job during peak season. Middle pool quieter and is split over 2 levels, not quite so early for a bed. Top pool is a little smaller and seems like the quietest of all, but children around all 3 pools. Only 1 lifeguard for all pools and not always to be seen when on duty.

Animation team : 2 people. Diego and Laura. Again in our opinion very good. Activities throughout the day including water polo, darts, pool, beach volleyball but Diego did not always visit the middle pool to say when these were happening, other times he would come up and shout it around! Mini club ran from 11:00 to 13:30 for the little ones which has their own room in the old restaurant next to the middle pool, and Laura ran that one, who was very quiet but I thought was great with our 2 kids (7yr old and 3yr old). Mini-club was also supposed to be in the afternoon from 15:00 to 17:00 but this was in the bottom pool when it was on (only a couple of occasions it ran). Evening entertainment was average at best. A flamenco show (not the best) parrot demo, south american dancing (very good) and bingo/karaoke/quiz ran by Diego and Laura. Entertainment/all inclusive ends at 23:00 on the dot!

Front desk : Very poor. Could go into a rant and rave, but no point really. All you need to know is that do not have any genuine complaints, however reasonable you think they are, because if the hotel manageress hears you she will go straight on the defensive and make out its your fault and take no responsibility whatsover. When checking out we never even received a thankyou, or did you enjoy your stay, after 27 nights!

Weekends : The Hotel gets over run by locals on Saturday and Sunday. They are not guests, or even friends of guests. This is because the Vime callao garden and the perle dise hotels/apartments are the only hotels in Callao Salvaje to allow non-residents. This appears to be widely unknown, but is FACT, although again according to hotel management this is the existing guest's fault!

Food : Cannot comment personally, but everyone we met who were A/I said they would go somewhere else next time, but was edible, although repetitive. Most people still felt the need to eat out on occasion just for a change, although only a limited amount of Restaurants are available in resort.

Callao Salvaje : Quiet and small. A few british bars as well as a few Spanish Restaurants. Nearest supermarket (Coviran) at bottom of hill. Recommend Buzzin Bar for proper brekky, and the BOW LOCKS for a decent pint and all your sports programs! Restaurant Sorpresa Sorpresa is a nice spot for evening meal, food top notch but service lacking. A small natural beach (black shingle) that has sunbeds for hire, but if you do use this make sure you have wet shoes for walking to/from/in the sea!

If a quiet no-frills holiday is what you are after, and the prospect of staying by the pool for the duration appeals, then this may well be the place to go, but there are better resorts (Los Cristianos, Costa Adeje) and better places to stay than here. Safes are available to hire, and we always do, which I would recommend you take it. A few robberies have taken place.There are no security staff and due to the heat/humidity balcony doors/bedroom shutters/windows are left open on many apartments so it is bound to attract the wrong element.

Try your best to get a top floor apartment (2nd floor), as you really do get a nice breeze and an excellent view. You also have no one above you which is a real god-send!!

Any further details/questions then feel free to ask.

Room Tip: Top floor a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank the_driver_6660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

After reading some bad reviews we were very worried about our first trip to Tenerife. Never should have worried at all. Here is main points.

Location yes a bit steep but not too bad I have had 13 operations on my leg and never had too much trouble. Insects yes there are some but your in Tenerife!! Spoke to guests who had had a problem was fixed within a day!

Rooms - Spotless with big tv toaster kettle oven and decent fridge. Bathroom good and the maids were there every two days clean towels etc

Food- Cant imagine people were there the same time as me ! Salad bar was great hot dishes too and they served different meals every day! I eat there every day/night and I have to say was 100% every time!

Staff- Friendly helpful and always smiling ! Animation team were good and always looked after kids.

Pools - Yet again spotless and lifeguard friendly , parasols and loungers plentiful. Lifeguard even picked up empty drinks from poolside.

All in all two weeks of sun by the pool with good food good drinks and great staff. We made lots of friends and would have no problem going back again.
I was intrigued to read the posts of people that were there the same time as me. Go and see for yourself best holiday for a long time.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview we were in 233 camelas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WAUGHBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

was at this hotel for 18 days and it was a night mare i just wanted to come home . the apartment was ok but we wear over run with little ants they are every wear even running around the pool area . there is 3 pools in grounds off this hotel one restaurant and bar area the lower pool is near the bar and for food middle pool and top pool , so if you wanted a drink you had to trail down stairs and back up there are no life guards at 2 off the pools only at the one near the bar . the tables and chairs that surround the pool never get cleaned and we wear there for 15 night before they put a clay pot on the tables for cigarette ends as people wear using plastic cups with water to there cig out , i thought that was a disgrace . the food was terrible one day i had chicken and it was raw i just stopped eating in there and went out for dinner breakfast is ok but lunch and dinner was shocking it was slops you would feed to a pig . the entertainment was crap the kids got 6 songs a night same songs every night and music quiz and karaoke don't get me wrong the the 2 animation team did there best .all in all i had the crap time off my life and i would never go back to Europe if a win a free holiday .for the last 12 yrs i have been going to Egypt Morocco and Tunisia i was booked up to go to Egypt 9 night stay and nights Cruise and changed because off the trouble the holiday coast me a fortune and and they moved it to vime callao and i could not get my money back so i paid out meg and familys were there for buttons i just feel i was ripped off . never again

Room Tip: i you have walking problems this place is not for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Callao Salvaje hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callao Salvaje
11.4 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,026 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
#10 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
697 reviews
24.7 mi away
Interpalace by Blue Sea
Interpalace by Blue Sea
#69 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#54 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,882 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Callao
Hotel Grand Callao
#3 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
597 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Tenerife
Hotel Perla Tenerife
#43 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Callao Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Callao Garden

Property: Blue Sea Callao Garden
Address: Avda. El Jable 39, 38678 Callao Salvaje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Vime Callao Garden)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Callao Salvaje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Callao Salvaje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sea Callao Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the southeast of the island of Tenerife, in the Callao Salvaje residential area, the Blue Sea Apartamentos Callao Garden complex offers a mixture of nature, a holiday atmosphere and all important relaxation. At the main restaurant our visitors can enjoy a daily changing buffet featuring local cuisine depending on the season. The restaurant is located around our three main central swimming pools. We also have another pool with a solarium, separate from the common areas of the complex, for guests who prefer to enjoy the sun in a more private setting. The apartments are fully equipped with all kinds of kitchenware for those who want to take culinary matters into their own hands. A deposit of 60€ will have to be paid on arrival, and will be returned on departure. The complex is not recommended for persons with reduced mobility(PRM). Pets up to 6 kg are allowed. A deposit of €30 will be charged on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Blue Sea Callao Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vime Callao Garden Hotel Callao Salvaje
Vime Callao Garden Salvaje
Callao Garden Tenerife
Blue Sea Callao Garden Tenerife/Callao Salvaje, Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing